## Preface

This volume contains all papers presented at SSPR 2002 and SPR 2002 hosted by the University of Windsor, Windsor, Ontario, Canada, August 6-9, 2002.

This was the third time these two workshops were held back-to-back. SSPR was the ninth International Workshop on Structural and Syntactic Pattern Recognition and the SPR was the fourth International Workshop on Statistical Techniques in Pattern Recognition. These workshops have traditionally been held in conjunction with ICPR (International Conference on Pattern Recognition), and are the major events for technical committees TC2 and TC1, respectively, of the International Association of Pattern Recognition (IAPR).

The workshops were held in parallel and closely coordinated. This was an attempt to resolve the dilemma of how to deal, in the light of the progressive specialization of pattern recognition, with the need for narrow-focus workshops without further fragmenting the field and introducing yet another conference that would compete for the time and resources of potential participants.

A total of 116 papers were received from many countries with the submission and reviewing processes being carried out separately for each workshop. A total of 45 papers were accepted for oral presentation and 35 for posters. In addition four invited speakers presented informative talks and overviews of their research. They were:

Tom Dietterich, Oregon State University, USA Sven Dickinson, the University of Toronto, Canada Edwin Hancock, University of York, UK Anil Jain, Michigan State University, USA

 $\operatorname{SSPR} 2002$  and  $\operatorname{SPR} 2002$  were sponsored by the IAPR and the University of Windsor.

We would like to thank our sponsors and, in particular, the members of the program committees of both workshops for performing the hard work of reviewing the many submissions which led to a selection of high quality papers.

Special thanks to our host, Majid Ahmadi, and his colleagues, for running the event smoothly. Moreover, special thanks to Sue Wu for helping prepare the proceedings.

We also appreciate the help of the editorial staff at Springer-Verlag and, in particular, Alfred Hofmann, for supporting this publication in the LNCS series.

August 2002

Terry Caelli Adnan Amin Bob Duin Mohamed Kamel Dick de Ridder

# SSPR and SPR 2002

## General Chairman

Terry Caelli Dept. of Computing Science University of Alberta Alberta, Canada tcaelli@ualberta.ca

### Local Chairman

Majid Ahmadi Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering University of Windsor, Canada ahmadi@uwindsor.ca

## Conference Information Technology Manager

Dick de Ridder Faculty of Applied Sciences Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands dick@ph.tn.tudelft.nl

#### Supported by

International Association of Pattern Recognition

## SSPR Committee

#### **Co-chairmen**

Adnan Amin

School of Computer Science and Engineering University of New South Wales Sydney, Australia amin@cse.unsw.edu.au Terry Caelli

Dept. of Computing Science University of Alberta Alberta, Canada tcaelli@ualberta.ca

#### Program Committee

K. Abe (Japan)
W. Bischof (Canada)
K. Boyer (USA)
H. Bunke (Switzerland)
F. Casacuberta (Spain)
S. Dickinson (Canada)
I. Dinstein (Israel)
A. Fred (Portugal)
G. Gimel'farb (N.Zealand)
E. Hancock (UK)
R. Haralick (USA)

J. I nesta (Spain)
J. Jolion (France)
W. Kropatsch (Austria)
B. Lovell (Australia)
J. Oommen (Canada)
P. Perner (Germany)
A. Sanfeliu (Spain)
G. Sanniti di Baja (Italy)
K. Tombre (France)
S. Venkatesh (Australia)

## **SPR** Committee

#### **Co-chairmen**

Robert P.W. Duin	Mohamed Kamel
Faculty of Applied Sciences	Dept. of Systems Design Engineering
Delft University of Technology	University of Waterloo
Delft, The Netherlands	Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
duin@ph.tn.tudelft.nl	mkamel@uwaterloo.ca

#### **Program Committee**

V. Brailovsky (Israel)	T. K. Ho (USA)
L. P. Cordella (Italy)	A. K. Jain (USA)
B. V. Dasarathy (USA)	J. Kittler (UK)
F. J. Ferri (Spain)	M. Kudo (Japan)
J. Ghosh (USA)	L. Kuncheva (UK)
M. Gilloux (France)	L. Lam (Hong Kong)
T. M. Ha (Switzerland)	J. Novovicova
J-P. Haton (France)	(Czech Rep.)

- E. Nyssen (Belgium) P. Pudil (Czech Rep.) S. Raudys (Lithuania) P. Rocket (UK) F. Roli (Italy) S. Singh (UK)
- C. Y. Suen (Canada)

#### Reviewers

The program committees for both SSPR and SPR were kindly assisted by the following reviewers:

- R. Alquezar (Spain)
  A. Belaid (France)
  M. Berger (France)
  G. Boccignone (Italy)
  F. Corato (Spain)
  K. Daoudi (France)
  C. de la Higuera (Spain)
  D. de Ridder (The Netherlands)
  C. De Stefano (Italy)
  D. Deugo (Spain)
  P. Fieguth (Canada)
  P. Foggia (Italy)
  J. Grim (Czech Rep.)
  P. Juszczak (The Netherlands)
  B. Miner (Canada)
- F. Palmieri (Italy)
- E. Pekalska (The Netherlands)
- S. Rajan (USA)
- P. Rockett (UK)
- L. Rueda (Canada)
- F. Serratosa (Spain)
- M. Skurichina (The Netherlands)
- P. Somol (UK)
- A. Strehl (USA)
- F. Tortorella (Italy)
- N. Wanas (Canada)
- S. Wesolkowski (USA)
- A. Whitehead (Canada)
- S. Zhong (USA)