Preface

This volume contains papers presented at the joint 16th Annual Conference on Learning Theory (COLT) and the 7th Annual Workshop on Kernel Machines, held in Washington, DC, USA, during August 24–27, 2003. COLT, which recently merged with EuroCOLT, has traditionally been a meeting place for learning theorists. We hope that COLT will benefit from the collocation with the annual workshop on kernel machines, formerly held as a NIPS postconference workshop.

The technical program contained 47 papers selected from 92 submissions. All 47 papers were presented as posters; 22 of the papers were additionally presented as talks. There were also two target areas with invited contributions. In *computational game theory*, a tutorial entitled "Learning Topics in Game-Theoretic Decision Making" was given by Michael Littman, and an invited paper on "A General Class of No-Regret Learning Algorithms and Game-Theoretic Equilibria" was contributed by Amy Greenwald. In *natural language processing*, a tutorial on "Machine Learning Methods in Natural Language Processing" was presented by Michael Collins, followed by two invited talks, "Learning from Uncertain Data" by Mehryar Mohri and "Learning and Parsing Stochastic Unification-Based Grammars" by Mark Johnson.

In addition to the accepted papers and invited presentations, we solicited short open problems that were reviewed and included in the proceedings. We hope that reviewed open problems might become a new tradition for COLT. Our goal was to select simple signature problems whose solutions are likely to inspire further research. For some of the problems the authors offered monetary rewards. Yoav Freund acted as the open problem area chair. The open problems were presented as posters at the conference.

The Mark Fulk award is presented annually for the best paper contributed by a student. This year's award was won by Ulrike von Luxburg for the paper "Distance-Based Classification with Lipschitz Functions" (co-authored with Olivier Bousquet). Owing to generous support from the Journal of Machine Learning, we were able to award two second prizes for the best student paper. They went to Gilles Stoltz, "Internal Regret in On-line Portfolio Selection" (coauthored with Gabor Lugosi), and Petra Philips, "Random Subclass Bounds" (co-authored with Shahar Mendelson).

We thank all the people and organizations who helped make this conference successful. We are especially grateful to the program committee for their efforts in evaluating and selecting the papers in this volume:

| Kristin Bennett | Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute | |
|-----------------------|--|--|
| Avrim Blum | Carnegie Mellon University | |
| Nicolò Cesa-Bianchi | University of Milan | |
| Nello Cristianini | University of California at Davis | |
| Yoav Freund | Banter Inc. | |
| Michael Kearns | University of Pennsylvania | |
| Efim Kinber | Sacred Heart University, Fairfield, CT | |
| Vladimir Koltchinskii | The University of New Mexico | |
| Yishay Mansour | Tel Aviv University | |
| Rob Schapire | Princeton University | |
| | | |

The program committee solicited the help of the following reviewers. We obtained at least two independent reviews for each paper in addition to the reviews and discussions carried out by the program committee:

| Naoki Abe | Rusins Freivalds | Wolfgang Merkle |
|--------------------|--------------------|--------------------|
| Dana Angluin | Nir Friedman | Jochen Nessel |
| Peter Auer | Bill Gasarch | Kamal Nigam |
| Peter Bartlett | Claudio Gentile | Noam Nisan |
| Satinder Baveja | Sally Goldman | Bill Noble |
| Jonathan Baxter | Geoff Gordon | Luis Ortiz |
| Amos Beimel | Thore Graepel | Dmitry Panchenko |
| Shai Ben-David | Peter Grunwald | Relu Patrascu |
| Yoshua Bengio | Patrick Haffner | John Platt |
| Gilles Blanchard | Lisa Hellerstein | Gunnar Rätsch |
| Stephane Boucheron | Jeff Jackson | Vijay Raghavan |
| Olivier Bousquet | Thorsten Joachims | Dana Ron |
| Nader Bshouty | Adam Kalai | Roman Rosipal |
| Chris Burges | Jaz Kandola | Dale Schuurmans |
| Colin Campbell | Balazs Kegl | Rocco Servedio |
| Rafael Carrasco | Jyrki Kivinen | John Shawe-Taylor |
| John Case | John Lafferty | Yoram Singer |
| Moses Charikar | Gert Lanckriet | Bob Sloan |
| Alex Conconi | John Langford | Frank Stephan |
| Sanjoy Dasgupta | Christina Leslie | Christino Tamon |
| Tijl DeBie | Chi-jen Lin | Koji Tsuda |
| Nigel Duffy | Philip Long | Alexandre Tsybakov |
| Pierre Dupont | Fernando Lozano | Nicolas Vayatis |
| Ran El-Yaniv | Gabor Lugosi | Jean-Philippe Vert |
| Andre Ellisseef | Ulrike von Luxburg | Volodya Vovk |
| Eyal Even-Dar | Olvi Mangasarian | Grace Wahba |
| Theodoros Evgeniou | Shie Mannor | Osamu Watanabe |
| Amos Fiat | David McAllester | Rolf Wiehagen |
| Karim Filali | Ron Meir | Tong Zhang |
| Peter Flach | Shahar Mendelson | Sandra Zilles |
| | | |

Special thanks go to our local conference chairs: to Carl Smith, whose health problems would not let him finish the job (Carl, get better soon!), and to John Case, who thankfully agreed to take over this job. Together with the invaluable help of Cecilia Kullman, John saved us when things were gradually getting into a state of emergency. We would also like to thank Richard van de Stadt, Karin Bierig, and Sabrina Nielebock for help with the paper submissions and with the preparation of the proceedings, and Stephen Kwek for maintaining the conference Web site. Finally, we thank the National ICT Australia (www.nicta.com.au), the University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies, and the Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics for their generous sponsorship and administrative help.

June 2003 Bernhard Schölkopf (Max Planck Institute Tübingen) Manfred K. Warmuth (University of California at Santa Cruz) Program Chairs

Sponsors





