Preface

Welcome to the second IEEE Pacific-Rim Conference on Multimedia (IEEE-PCM 2001) held in Zhongguanchun, Beijing, China, October 22-24, 2001. Building upon the success of the inaugural IEEE-PCM 2000 in Sydney in December 2000, the second PCM again brought together the researchers, developers, practitioners, and educators of multimedia in the Pacific area. Theoretical breakthroughs and practical systems were presented at this conference, thanks to the sponsorship by the IEEE Circuit and Systems Society, IEEE Signal Processing Society, China Computer Foundation, China Society of Image and Graphics, National Natural Science Foundation of China, Tsinghua University, and Microsoft Research, China.

IEEE-PCM 2001 featured a comprehensive program including keynote talks, regular paper presentations, posters, demos, and special sessions. We received 244 papers and accepted only 104 of them as regular papers, and 53 as poster papers. Our special session chairs, Shin'ichi Satoh and Mohan Kankanhalli, organized 6 special sessions. We acknowledge the great contribution from our program committee members and paper reviewers who spent many hours reviewing submitted papers and providing valuable comments for the authors.

The conference would not have been successful without the help of so many people. We greatly appreciated the support of our honorary chairs: Prof. Sun-Yuan Kung of Princeton University, Dr. Ya-Qin Zhang of Microsoft Research China, and Prof. Chao-huan Hou of the National Science Foundation of China. A number of people deserve special thanks for helping with the logistics. Yuan-chun Shi smoothly handled publication of these proceedings with Springer-Verlag. Feng Wu and Zhong Su did a wonderful job as web masters. Timely help from Le Guo and Ling Huang was tremendous. Financial sponsorships from industrial research and development labs (Intel, GE, Legend, and Microsoft) in China are gratefully acknowledged.

July 2001

Heung-Yeung Shum Mark Liao Shih-Fu Chang

> Hong-Jiang Zhang P.C. Ching Xing-Gang Lin

The Second IEEE Pacific-Rim Conference



on Multimedia

Advisory Committee Chairs:

Chao-Huan Hou	National Science Foundation, China
Sun-Yuan Kung	Princeton University, USA
Ya-Qin Zhang	Microsoft Research, China

General Co-chairs:

P.C. Ching	Chinese University of Hong Kong, China
Xing-Gang Lin	Tsinghua University, China
Hong-Jiang Zhang	Microsoft Research, China

Program Co-chairs:

Shih-Fu Chang	Columbia University, USA
Mark Liao	Academy Sinica, China
Heung-Yeung Shum	Microsoft Research, China

Poster Chair:

Yu-Jin Zhang

Tsinghua University, China

Tutorial and Special Session Chairs:

Mohan Kankanhalli Shin'ichi Satoh	National University of Singapore, Singapore Japan National Institute of Informatics, Japan	
Demo Chair:		
Yun He	Tsinghua University, China	
Publicity Chair:		
Ching-Yung Lin	IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, USA	
Proceedings Chair:		
Yuanchun Shi	Tsinghua University, China	
Local Arrangement Chair:		
Shipeng Li	Microsoft Research, China	
Japan Liaison:		
Kiyoharu Aizawa	University of Tokyo, Japan	
Australia Liaison:	-	
Svetha Venkatesh	Curtin University of Technology, Australia	
Treasurer:		
Wen-Yin Liu	Microsoft Research, China	
Web Masters:		
Feng Wu/Zhong Su	Microsoft Research, China	

Reviewers:

Kivo Aizawa Mahesh Balakrishnan Eric Chang Chang Wen Chen **Jinlin Chen** Xiangrong Chen Zheng Chen Ti-hao Chiang L.F. Chien Tat-Seng Chua Wen Gao Lie Gu Guodong Guo Hsueh-Ming Hang Yuwen He Yo Sung Ho J.W. Hsieh Xiansheng Hua Chao Huang Qiang Huo Horace Ip Yunde Jia Jesse Jin Mohan Kankanhalli C.-C. Jay Kuo **Chuen-Chien Lee** Sang Wan Lee Chung-Sheng Li Jiang Li Mingjing Li Shipena Li Stan Li Zevu Li Zhen Li Steve Lin Wenvin Liu Alexander C Loui C.S. Lu Le Lu Lie Lu Daniel Lun Weiying Ma

Yufei Ma Antonio Ortega Shinii Ozawa Jong Beom Ra Takahiro Saito Yoichi Sato Shin'ichi Satoh Jackv Shen Timothy Shih Peter-Pike Sloan Uma Srinivasan Zhong Su Sang Hoon Sull Huifang Sun Xiaoyan Sun Qi Tian Xin Tona Svetha Venkatesh Guijin Wang Hao Wang Minghui Wang Tianshu Wang Chi Sun Won Hong Wu Lide Wu Ze Xiang Guangyou Xu Jizhena Xu Yingging Xu Rong Yan Jie Yang Shiqiang Yang Hong You Bing Zeng Aidong Zhang Dong Zhang Hongjiang Zhang Qian Zhang Hua Zhong Jianlai Zhou Wenwu Zhu Yueting Zhuang

Organized by Microsoft Research, China Tsinghua University, China National Natural Science Foundation of China

Sponsored by IEEE Circuits and Systems Society IEEE Signal Processing Society China Computer Foundation China Society of Image and Graphics





intel