Preface

With advances in the Internet and technologies around the World-Wide Web, research on design, implementation, and management of Internet and Web-based information systems has become increasingly important. As more and more information of diverse types becomes available on the Internet and Web, the management and the manipulation of information over the Internet become more complex and extremely difficult. Novel approaches to developing and managing Internet and Web information systems are in high demand. Following the successful conferences in 2000 and 2001, WAIM 2002 continued to provide a forum for researchers, professionals, and industrial practitioners from around the world to share their rapidly evolving knowledge and to report on new advances in Web-based information systems.

WAIM 2002 received an overwhelming 169 submissions from Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Korea, Norway, Portugal, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, UK, and USA. Through a careful review process by the program committee, 26 papers were selected as regular papers and 14 as short papers for presentation at the conference. As indicated by these numbers, WAIM 2002 is extremely selective: 15% for regular papers, and 24% overall. The technical program covers a wide range of research areas including XML and web, spatio-temporal data, high dimensional data, data mining and learning, workflow and E-services, bioinformatics, views, OLAP, query optimization, and updates, etc. Two invited talks by Richard Hull (Bell Labs., USA) and Alberto Mendelzon (University of Toronto, Canada) were on XML and E-services. Two tutorials were given by Minos Garofalakis, Johannes Gehrke, and Rajeev Rastogi on stream data processing, and by Jian Yang on web services. In addition, systems were also chosen to be demonstrated at the conference. Regular and short papers and a brief summary of demos are included in these proceedings.

We are grateful to the program committee members who helped tremendously in reviewing the large number of submissions. We appreciate the work by Yujun Wang in setting up the software for submissions, and members of the WAIM 2002 organization committees. Finally, we would like to thank the Renmin University of China and the Tsinghua University for organizing the conference.

August 2002

Xiaofeng Meng and Jianwen Su

Organization

General Chair:

Wei Li Beijing University of Aero/Astro, China

Conference Co-chairs:

Masaru Kitsuregawa University of Tokyo, Japan Lizhu Zhou Tsinghua University, China

Program Co-chairs:

Xiaofeng Meng Renmin University of China, China

Jianwen Su University of California at Santa Barbara, USA

Publicity Chair:

Xiong Wang California State University at Fullerton, USA

Proceedings Chair:

Yujun Wang University of California at Santa Barbara, USA

Tutorial/Panel Chair:

Guozhu Dong Wright State University, USA

Demo/Industry Chair:

Chen Li University of California at Irvine, USA

Local Organization Chair:

Jianhua Feng Tsinghua University, China

WAIM Steering Committee:

Jianzhong Li Harbing Institute of Technology, China

Hongjun Lu Hong Kong University of Science & Technology,

China

Baile Shi Fudan University, China

Jianwen Su University of California at Santa Barabara, USA

Shan Wang
X. Sean Wang
George Mason University, USA
Northeastern University, China

Aoying Zhou Fudan University, China

The Third International Conference on Web-Age Information Management was organized by

Renmin University of China, China

Tsing Hua University, China

in cooperation with

Database Society of China Computer Federation

and sponsored by

National Science Foundation of China

Microsoft Research in Asia

Oracle(China)
IBM DB2(China)

Program Committee

Paolo Atzeni University "Roma Tre", Italy Sang Kyun Cha Seoul National University, Korea

Edward Chang University of California, Santa Barbara, USA

Guozhu Dong Wright State University, USA Xiaoyong Du Renmin University of China, China

Amr El Abbadi University of California, Santa Barbara, USA

Ming Fan Zhengzhou University, China

Wenfei Fan Bell Labs, USA

Ning Gu Fudan University, China

Dimitrios Gunopulos University of California, Riverside, USA Yan Jia National University of Defence Technology,

China

Chen Li University of California, Irvine, USA Qing Li City University of Hong Kong, China

Tianzhu Li

Xiaoming Li

Hebei University, China
Peking University, China

Zhanhuai Li Northwestern Polytechnical University, China Xuemin Lin University of New South Wales, Australia

Weiyi Liu
Yunnan University, China
Weiying Ma
Microsoft Research Asia, China
Xiaoyang Mao
Yamanashi University, Japan
University of Toronto, Canada
Zhiyong Peng
Wuhan University, China
Sunil Prabhakar
Purdue University, USA

Beng Chin Ooi National University of Singapore, Singapore

Arnaud Sahuguet Bell Labs, USA

Junyi Shen Xi'an Jiaotong University, China

Kyuseok Shim KAIST, Korea

Changjie Tang Sichuan University, China
David Toman University of Waterloo, Canada
Guoren Wang Northeastern University, China

Jason T.L. Wang New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA

Ke Wang Simon Fraser University, Canada

Min Wang IBM T. J. Watson, USA

Xiong Wang California State University at Fullerton, USA

Gerhard Weikum University of Saarland, Germany Zhaohui Wu Zhejiang University, China Dongqing Yang Peking University, China

Jian Yang Tilburg University, The Netherlands Clement Yu University of Illinois at Chicago, USA

External Referees

Terumasa Aoki Yongguang Bao Boualem Benatallah Luca Cabibbo Coorgo Chang

George Chang Zheng Chen

Srikanth Chikkanna-Naik Dickson K.W. Chiu

Yu Cui Rui Ding Xiaomei Dong

Vladimir Estivill-Castro

Wei Fan

Maria Christine Fauvet

Xiang Fu Yu Ge

James Geller Motonobu Hattori

Yinjie He

Katherine G. Herbert

Jingyu Hou Sangyong Hwang Oscar Ibarra Yoshihiko Ichikawa Koji Iwanuma Greg Janee

Ravi Kanth V Kothuri Keun Joo Kwon Yong-sik Kwon DongHun Lee Juchang Lee Cuiping Li

Shenen Li
Chang Liu
Fang Liu
Huan Liu
Jianghui Liu

Wenyin Liu Lie Lu Daofeng Luo

Daofeng Luo Yufei Ma

Yoshifumi Masunaga

Paolo Merialdo George Mihaila Prasenjit Mitra Hoda Mohktar Takuo Mori Shigeo Morishima Tsukasa Noma Helen Paik Jang Ho Park

Prasan Roy
Tae-Wan Ryu
Huiyuan Shan
Junyi Shen
Giuseppe Sindoni
John R. Smith
Daling Wang

Daling Wang Dan Wang Jing Wang Haixun Wang Haiyan Wang Xiaoyang Wang Yu Wang

Jirong Wen Raymond Wong Kazutaka Yamasaki Cheng (Calvin) Yang

Jun Yang Shuqian Yang Lei Zhang Sen Zhang Xiaofang Zhou Hongjun Zhu