Preface

Artificial Intelligence has failed to accomplish at least two highly significant predictions as we enter the new millennium. The English mathematician Alan Mathison Turing predicted that by the year 2000 we would have a machine that could pass the Turing test. The film "2001: A Space Odyssey", portrayed an intelligent computer named HAL which, among other things, was able to speak and understand English, and even read the lips of humans having a conversation. Such a machine would be created, according to Arthur C. Clarke, by the year 1997. We have reached the year 2002 and neither of these two predictions have been fulfilled. However, there have been many significant achievements in artificial intelligence and several new challenges are now on the horizon.

Two years ago, we held the first Mexican International Conference on Artificial Intelligence, MICAI 2000, which took place on April 11–14, 2000, in the city of Acapulco, México. After a first highly successful conference, we are pleased to introduce the second Mexican International Conference on Artificial Intelligence, MICAI 2002, which took place on April 22–26 in Mérida, Yucatán, México. The main aim of the conference was to promote research in AI, and cooperation among Mexican researchers and their peers worldwide.

As a historical note, it is worth mentioning that MICAI originated from the union of the Mexican National AI Conference (RNIA) and the International AI Symposium (ISA), organized annually by the Mexican Society for AI (SMIA, since 1984) and by the Monterrey Institute of Technology (ITESM, since 1988), respectively.

Over 85 papers (in English) from 17 different countries were submitted for consideration to MICAI 2002. After a thorough review process, MICAI's program committee and the program chairs accepted 56 high-quality papers which are included in these proceedings.

We would like to acknowledge the support of the American Association for Artificial Intelligence (AAAI), and the International Joint Conference on Artificial Intelligence (IJCAI). We are especially grateful for the warm hospitality and generosity offered by the Universidad Autónoma de Yucatán (UADY) and the Universidad Mesoamericana de San Agustín (UMSA).

A special word of thanks goes to the members of the advisory board, the members of the program committee, our sponsors, and our support staff.

Last but not least, we warmly thank all of the attendants to the conference for their participation.

April 2002

Carlos A. Coello Coello Alvaro de Albornoz Luis Enrique Sucar Succar Osvaldo Cairo

Organization

MICAI 2002 was organized by the Mexican Society for Artificial Intelligence and the Universidad Autónoma de Yucatán (UADY), and the Universidad Mesoamericana de San Agustín (UMSA).

Conference Committee

| Conference Chair: | L. Enrique Sucar (ITESM-Cuernavaca, Mexico) | |
|---------------------|---|--|
| | Osvaldo Cairo (ITAM, Mexico) | |
| Program Chair: | Carlos A. Coello (CINVESTAV-IPN, Mexico) | |
| | Alvaro de Albornoz (ITESM-CCM, Mexico) | |
| Tutorials: | Gustavo Arroyo Figueroa (IIE, Mexico) | |
| Workshops: | Humberto Sossa Azuela (CIC-IPN, Mexico) | |
| Local Arrangements: | Francisco Madera (UADY, Mexico) | |
| | Fernando Curi Quintal (UADY, Mexico) | |
| | Pilar García Santos (UMSA, Mexico) | |
| | | |

Advisory Committee

| Felipe Bracho | Robert de Hoog | Pablo Noriega |
|------------------|--------------------|-------------------|
| Alan Bundy | Felipe Lara | Judea Pearl |
| Ofelia Cervantes | Christian Lemaître | Antonio Sánchez |
| Anthony Cohn | Jay Liebowitz | Xindong Wu |
| Francisco Garijo | Cristina Loyo | Wolfgang Wahlster |
| Randy Goebel | Donald Michie | Carlos Zozaya |
| Adolfo Guzmán | José Negrete | |

Program Committee

David W. Aha Juan M. Ahuactzin Enrique Alba Matías Alvarado Alvaro de Albornoz James Allen Ronald Arkin Gustavo Arroyo Gerardo Ayala Antonio Bahamonde Ricardo Beausoleil Ivan Bratko

Carlos Brizuela Paul Brna Bill P. Buckles Osvaldo Cairó Francisco Cantú François E. Cellier Jesús Cardeñosa Gabriela Cembrano Carolina Chang Carlos A. Coello Coello Ulises Cortés Carlos Cotta-Porras André de Carvalho Argelio de la Cruz Rivera Antonio D'Angelo Thomas G. Dietterich Francisco J. Diez Jürgen Dix Bruce Draper Wlodizislaw Duch Vladimir Estivill Castro Jesús Favela Joaquín Fdez-Valdivia Robert Fisher Juan J. Flores **Olac** Fuentes Pedro L. Galindo Riaño José Antonio Gámez Michael Gelfond Alexander Gelbukh Eduardo Gómez Ramírez José Luis Gordillo Silvia Guardati Adolfo Guzmán Arenas Arturo Hernández Rafael M. Huber Fernando Jiménez Leo Joskowicz Natalia Juristo Henry Kautz Nicolás Kemper Valverde Ingrid Kirchsning Mario Köppen Angel Kuri Morales Gerhard Lakemever Pedro Larrañaga Mugica Jean-Paul Laumond Christian Lemaître Bing Liu R. López de Mántaras Jacek Malec Ana Ma. Martínez

Horacio Martínez René V. Mavorga Julian F. Miller Maria Carolina Monard Raúl Monrov Guillermo Morales Eduardo Morales Francisco Mugica **Rafael** Murrieta Alexander Nari'yani Juan A. Nolazco Flores Gustavo Núñez Esquer Konstantine M. Nyunkin Gabriela Ochoa Alberto Ochoa Felipe Padilla Díaz Andrés Pérez-Uribe David Poole Alessandro Provetti María Cristina Riff Carlos Ramírez Patricia Ravón Villela Jordi Riera Colomer Katva Rodríguez Raúl Rojas Carlos Mariano Romero Luis Alberto Pineda Roger Z. Ríos

H. Rodríguez Hontoria C. Rodríguez Lucatero Alberto Sanfeliú Cortés Eugene Santos Jr. Leonid Sheremetov Carles Sierra Wolfgang Slanv Humberto Sossa Rogelio Soto Libor Spacek Thomas Stützle Enrique Sucar Succar Ricardo Swain Oropeza Demetri Terzopoulos Miguel Tomasena Carme Torras I Genis Juan M. Torres Moreno Edgar Vallejo Clemente Johan van Horebeek Maarten van Someren Rineke Verbrugge Felisa Verdejo Toby Walsh Alfredo Weitzenfeld Franz Wotawa Fritz Wysotzki Shlomo Zilberstein Carlos Zozava

Collocated Conferences

TAINA – Workshops on AI

Sponsoring Institutions

The American Association for Artificial Intelligence International Joint Conference on Artificial Intelligence The Mexican Society for Computer Science

Supporting Institutions

CINVESTAV-IPN, UADY, UMSA, ITESM, ITAM, CIC-IPN, IIE, Universidad del Mayab, Estratel, FT Software.

We would like to thank Alberto Pastrana, Raúl Godoy Montañez, Luis Rodríguez Carvajal, Orlando Piña, the ACM student chapter at UADY, the Student Association at UADY, and the Student Council at UADY for their excellent organizational support. Special thanks go to Nareli Cruz Cortés and the Springer-Verlag staff for editing this volume.