Preface

This volume contains the proceedings of the Fifth International Conference on Coordination Models and Languages (Coordination 2002), held in York, UK, 8–11 April 2002. Coordination models and languages close the conceptual gap between the cooperation model used by the constituent parts of an application and the lower-level communication model used in its implementation. Coordination-based methods provide a clean separation between individual software components and their interactions within their overall software organization. This separation, together with the higher-level abstractions offered by coordination models and languages, improve software productivity, enhance maintainability, advocate modularity, promote reusability, and lead to software organizations and architectures that are more tractable and more amenable to verification and global analysis.

Coordination is relevant in design, development, debugging, maintenance, and reuse of all complex concurrent and distributed systems. Specifically, coordination becomes paramount in the context of open systems, systems with mobile entities, and dynamically re-configurable evolving systems. Moreover, coordination models and languages focus on such key issues in Component Based Software Engineering as specification, interaction, and dynamic composition of components.

A total of 55 papers were submitted to this conference. Following the high quality standards of review and selection in this conference series, each submission was read by at least one of the two program co-chairs and carefully reviewed by at least three anonymous referees. All review results were then considered and extensively discussed in the program committee for the final selection. A total of 18 submissions were accepted as regular papers and 14 others as short papers. We were fortunate to have Perdita Stevens, Edinburgh University, Jim Waldo, Sun Microsystems, Inc., and Michael Wooldridge, University of Liverpool as invited speakers.

The conference was organized in cooperation with the ACM Special Interest Group on Software Engineering (SIGSOFT). This volume and the conference would not have been possible without the contributions of all authors, the evaluation work of the program committee, and the careful review of the anonymous referees. We are grateful to them all for their intellectual contributions. Special thanks to Freek Burger for his help in managing our electronic submission and evaluation process and in preparation of these proceedings. Last but not least, we acknowledge the support of the University of York, and especially thank Alan Wood for chairing the local organization of this conference.

February 2002

Farhad Arbab Carolyn Talcott

Steering Committee

Farhad Arbab Paolo Ciancarini Chris Hankin George Papadopoulos

António Porto

Gruia-Catalin Roman Robert Tolksdorf

Alexander Wolf

CWI, The Netherlands U. Bologna, Italy

Imperial College, London, UK

U. Cyprus, Cyprus

New U. Lisbon, Portugal

Washington U. Saint Luis, USA

T.U. Berlin, Germany U. Colorado, Bolder, USA

Program Committee

Farhad Arbab

Carolyn Talcott

CWI, Amsterdam, The Netherlands,

co-chair

SRI Int., Menlo Park, CA, USA,

co-chair

Gul Agha Lubomir Bic

Marcello Bonsangue Rocco De Nicola

GianLuigi Ferrari José Luiz Fiadeiro Roberto Gorrieri

Tom Henzinger Paola Inverardi

Jean-Marie Jacquet Shmuel Katz

Joost Kok Naftaly Minsky Oscar Nierstrasz

Rick Schlichting Katia Sycara

Alan Wood

U. Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA

U. California, Irvine, USA

U. Leiden. The Netherlands

U. Firenze, Italy U. Pisa, Italy

U. Lisbon, Portugal U. Bologna, Italy

U. California, Berkeley, USA

U. l'Aquila, Italy U. Namur, Belgium The Technion, Israel

U. Leiden, The Netherlands

Rutgers U., USA U. Berne, Switzerland AT&T Labs-Research, USA Carnegie Mellon U., USA

U. York, UK

Organizing Chair

Alan Wood

University of York, UK

Referees

Xuhui Ao Paolo Baldan Lorenzo Bettini Maurizio Bonuccelli Andrea Bracciali Michele Bugliesi Po-Hao Chang Michel Chaudron Claudio Sacerdoti Coen

Ciaudio Sacerdoti Coer Dario Colazzo Pierpaolo Degano Michael B. Dillencourt Yevgeniy Gendelman Joseph Giampapa Marcelo Glusman Yukun Gou

Luuk Groenewegen
Juan Guillen Scholten

Matti Hiltunen Mihail Ionescu Nadeem Jamali Myeong-Wuk Jang

Amalia Katz

Hairong Kuang Nirman Kumar Charles Lakos Brent Langley Antóia Lopes Michele Loreti R. Lucchi

R. Lucchi
Kirill Mechitov
A. Montresor
Henry Muccini
Koji Noguchi
Susanna Pelagatti
Luigia Petre
Rosario Pugliese
Iris Reinhartz-Berger
Giovanni Russello
Assaf Schuster
Laura Semini

Constantine Serban Michel Wermelinger

G. Zavattaro Reza Ziaei

Koushik Sen