Preface

SAC 2002 was the Ninth Annual Workshop on Selected Areas in Cryptography. Previous workshops have been held at Queen's University in Kingston (1994, 1996, 1998, and 1999), Carleton University in Ottawa (1995 and 1997), University of Waterloo (2000), and the Fields Institute in Toronto (2001). The intent of the workshop is to provide a relaxed atmosphere in which researchers in cryptography can present and discuss new work on selected areas of current interest. The traditional themes for SAC workshops are:

- Design and analysis of symmetric key cryptosystems.
- Primitives for private-key cryptography, including block and stream ciphers, hash functions, and MACs.
- Efficient implementation of cryptographic systems in public- and private-key cryptography.

The special theme for SAC 2002 was:

Cryptographic solutions for mobile and wireless network security.

The local historic connections can be described in three words: communications, transatlantic, and wireless. After John Cabot discovered Newfoundland at the end of the 15th century, sea communication was established between that eastern outpost of the Western Hemisphere and Europe. Also in Newfoundland is Hearts Content where the first successful transatlantic cable was landed in 1866. Most remarkably, on December 12, 1901, Guglielmo Marconi reported from Signal Hill near St. John's that he successfully received the first transatlantic wireless signals, three dots, the Morse coding of letter "S," sent from Cornwall, UK.

Communication, transatlantic, and wireless were also to become the keywords of the SAC 2002 workshop held at Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John's. There were two invited talks given by two leading cryptographers from different sides of the Atlantic Ocean presenting their views on the security of mobile and wireless communications. The invited talks were: "Security Algorithms for Mobile Telephony" by Steve Babbage from Vodafone, UK, and "Cellphone Security" by David Wagner from University of California, Berkeley.

A total of 90 papers were submitted for consideration to the program committee and after an extensive review process, 25 were accepted for presentation. We would like to thank the authors of all submitted papers, including both those that were accepted and those which, unfortunately, could not be accommodated.

We appreciate the hard work of the SAC 2002 Program Committee. We are also very grateful to the many others that participated in the review process: Jee Hea An, Kazumaro Aoki, N. Asokan, Anne Canteaut, Paolo D'Arco, Jean-François Dhem, Yael Gertner, Shai Halevi, Martin Hirt, Tetsuya Ichikawa,

VI Preface

Yuval Ishai, Stanislaw Jarecki, Shaoquan Jiang, Thomas Johansson, Don Johnson, Pascal Junod, Mike Just, Charanjit Jutla, Jonathan Katz, Khoongming Kho, Hugo Krawczyk, Frederic Legare, Moses Liskov, Barbara Masucci, Luke McAven, David M'Raïhi, Valtteri Niemi, Christian Paquin, Béatrice Peirani, Benny Pinkas, Omer Reingold, Ari Renvall, Phil Rogaway, Markku-Juhani Saarinen, Hong-Yeop Song, Anton Stiglic, Dong To, Eric Verheul, Johan Wallén, Rebecca Wright, and Huapeng Wu.

The local arrangements for the conference was managed by a committee consisting of Howard Heys, Paul Gillard, David Pike, Nabil Shalaby, and Lu Xiao. In particular, we would like to thank Yvonne Raymond for her help with local arrangements and registration.

Lastly, we are very grateful for the financial support that the workshop has received from Entrust Technologies, Queen's University, and the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science of Memorial University of Newfoundland.

On behalf of all those involved in organizing the workshop, we thank all the workshop participants for making SAC 2002 a success!

December 2002

Kaisa Nyberg and Howard Heys

Organization

Program Committee

Stefan Brands Credentica Inc., Canada Henri Gilbert France Telecom, France

Guang Gong University of Waterloo, Canada

Helena Handschuh Gemplus, France

Howard Heys (Co-chair) Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada Helger Lipmaa Helsinki University of Technology, Finland

Tal Malkin AT&T Research, USA
Mitsuru Matsui Mitsubishi Electric, Japan
Kaisa Nyberg (Co-chair) Nokia Research Center, Finland
Reihaneh Safavi-Naini University of Wollongong, Australia
Douglas Stinson University of Waterloo, Canada
Stafford Tavares Queen's University, Canada

Serge Vaudenay École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne,

Switzerland

Michael Wiener Ottawa, Canada Robert Zuccherato Entrust, Inc., Canada

Local Arrangements Committee

Howard Heys, Paul Gillard, David Pike, Yvonne Raymond, Nabil Shalaby, Lu Xiao

Sponsoring Institutions

Entrust, Inc.
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Queen's University