Preface

The present volume contains the proceedings of the international conference Foundations of Software Science and Computation Structures (FOSSACS 2001), held in Genova, Italy, April 2-4, 2001. FOSSACS is a constituent event of the Joint European Conferences on Theory and Practice of Software (ETAPS). This was the fourth meeting of ETAPS. The previous three meetings took place in Lisbon (1998), Amsterdam (1999), and Berlin (2000).

FOSSACS seeks papers which offer progress in foundational research with a clear significance to Software Sciences. Central objects of interest are the algebraic, categorical, logical, and geometric theories, models, and methods which support the specification, synthesis, verification, analysis, and transformation of sequential, concurrent, distributed, and mobile programs and software systems. This volume deals with a wide spectrum of topics within this scope, many of which are motivated by recent trends and problems in the practice of software and information technology.

There are 27 papers in these Proceedings. The first one accompanies the invited lecture Adequacy for algebraic effects, delivered by Gordon Plotkin (Edinburgh University) at FOSSACS 2001. The last one concerns a tool presentation. The other 25 are contributed papers, selected out of a total of 63 submissions. Each paper was thoroughly evaluated by the PC members. The selection procedure ended with a virtual meeting of the Program Committee which lasted over a week. I would like to sincerely thank all of the PC members for the excellent work they did during this difficult process. The tool presentation was selected by a special committee appointed by Donald Sannella the ETAPS Chairman.

Very special thanks go to the co-editor of these Proceedings Marino Miculan, whose assistance has been invaluable in organizing the conference web-page, the electronic submission, reviewing, and notification processes as well as in preparing the files for the Publisher. Thanks to Richard van de Stadt for producing and allowing us to utilize the *CyberChair* software. And thanks also to all the members of the Organizing Committee, chaired by Egidio Astesiano, Eugenio Moggi, and Gianna Reggio. Finally I would like to thank the Steering Committee of ETAPS, and especially its Chairman Donald Sannella, for the precious advice and excellent coordination in all the various activities leading up to this FOSSACS Conference.

Udine, January 2001

Furio Honsell FOSSACS'01 Programme Committee Chair

FOSSACS 2001 Program Committee

Luca Cardelli (Cambridge, UK)
Philippe Darondeau (Rennes, France)
Mariangiola Dezani (Torino, Italy)
Abbas Edalat (London, UK)

Javier Esparza (München, Germany) Bart Jacobs (Nijmegen, The Netherlands)

Matthew Hennessy (Sussex, UK) Martin Hofmann (Edinburgh, UK) Furio Honsell (Udine, Italy, chair)
Pierre Lescanne (Lyon, France)
Ugo Montanari (Pisa, Italy)
Mogens Nielsen (Århus, Denmark)
Mitsu Okada (Tokyo, Japan)
Carolyn Talcott (Stanford, USA)
Pawel Urzyczyn (Warsaw, Poland)
Igor Walukiewicz (Warsaw, Poland)

List of Referees

Fabio Alessi Roberto Amadio Andre Arnold Paolo Baldan Stefano Berardi Marco Bernardo Richard Blute Chiara Bodei Mikolaj Bojanczyk Marcello Bonsangue Ahmed Bouajjani Jérémie Bourdon Julian Bradfield Roberto Bruni Nadia Busi Benoit Caillaud Olivier Carton Paul Caspi Ilaria Castellani Jan Cederquist Jacek Chrzaszcz

Adriana Compagnoni

Paolo Ciancarini

Hubert Comon

David Clark

Mario Coppo Andrea Corradini Rocco De Nicola Philippe Devienne Fer-Jan de Vries Pietro Di Gianantonio Krzysztof Diks Catalin Dima Dan Dougherty Gilles Dowek Hartmut Ehrig Thomas Engel Alessandro Fantechi Maribel Fernandez Paolo Ferragina Andrzej Filinski Marcelo Fiore Cedric Fournet Massimo Franceschet Carsten Führmann Maurizio Gabbrielli Philippa Gardner Paul Gastin Stephane Gaubert Paola Giannini

Paul Gastin
Stephane Gaubert
Paola Giannini
Juergen Giesl
Stefania Gnesi
Andrew D. Gordon
Bernd Grobauer
Josef Gruska
Stefano Guerrini

Jesper Gulmann Henriksen

Vineet Gupta Masahito Hasegawa Reiko Heckel Reinhold Heckmann Keijo Heljanko

Hugo Herbelin Holger Hermanns

X Program Committee

Daniel Hirschkoff
Ian Hodkinson
Markus Holzer
Thomas Hune
Graham Hutton
Katsushi Inoue
Radha Jagadeesan
David Janin

Marcin Jurdzinski Richard Kennaway

Delia Kesner Astrid Kiehn Dilsun Kirli Teodor Knapik Barbara Koenig Antonin Kucera Ralf Kuesters Alexander Kurz Dietrich Kuske

Alexander Kurz Dietrich Kuske Marta Kwiatkowska Slawomir Lasota Marina Lenisa Francesca Levi Luigi Liquori Gerald Luettgen Angelika Mader Pasquale Malacaria Narciso Marti-Oliet

Michael Marz
Richard Mayr
Guy McCusker
Massimo Merro
Marino Miculan
Angelo Montanari
César A. Muñoz H.
Anca Muscholl
Margherita Napoli
Mirabelle Nebut
Mitsuhiro Okada

Christine Paulin-Mohring

Larry C. Paulson Wieslaw Pawlowski Adriano Peron Carla Piazza Sophie Pinchinat

Joachim Parrow

Erik Poll
John Power
K. V. S. Prasad
Rosario Pugliese
R. Ramanujam
Jean-Xavier Rampon

Julian Rathke Bernhard Reus Eike Ritter

Simona Ronchi Della Rocca

Francesca Rossi Luca Roversi Ivano Salvo Don Sannella Luigi Santocanale Vladimiro Sassone Ivan Scagnetto Aleksy Schubert Francesca Scozzari Peter Selinger Paula Severi Jiří Srba Alin Stefanescu

Alin Stefanescu
Perdita Stevens
Makoto Takeyama
Francis Tang
Hendrik Tews
Wolfgang Thomas
Simone Tini
Yoshihito Toyama
Daniele Turi
Tomasz Urbanski
Frank Valencia
Andrea Valente
Daniele Varacca
Betti Venneri

Marisa Venturini Zilli Rene Vestergaard Alicia Villanueva Daria Walukiewicz Freek Wiedijk Nobuko Yoshida Hans Zantema Pascal Zimmer

Jan Zwanenburg