Preface

The PaCT-2001 (Parallel Computing Technologies) conference was a four-day conference held in Akademgorodok (Novosibirsk), September 3–7, 2001. This was the sixth international conference in the PaCT series, organized in Russia every odd year.

The first conference, PaCT-91, was held in Novosibirsk (Academgorodok), September 7–11, 1991. The next PaCT conferences were held in Obninsk (near Moscow), August 30 – September 4, 1993; in St.Petersburg, September 12–15, 1995; in Yaroslavl September 9–12, 1997; and in Pushkin (near St.Petersburg) from September 6–10, 1999. The PaCT proceedings are published by Springer-Verlag in the LNCS series.

PaCT-2001 was jointly organized by the Institute of Computational Mathematics and Mathematical Geophysics of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Novosibirsk), the State University, and the State Technical University of Novosibirsk.

The purpose of the conference was to bring together scientists working with theory, architecture, software, hardware, and solution of large-scale problems in order to provide integrated discussions on parallel computing technologies. The conference attracted about 100 participants from around the world. Authors from 17 countries submitted 81 papers. Of those submitted, 36 papers were selected for the conference as regular ones; there were also 4 invited papers. In addition there were a number of posters presented. All the papers were internationally reviewed by at least three referees. As usual a demo session was organized for the participants.

Many thanks to our sponsors: the Russian Academy of Sciences, the Russian Fund for Basic Research, the Russian State Committee of Higher Education, the European Commission (Future and Emerging Technologies, Directorate General—Information Society) for their financial support. Organizers highly appreciated the help of the Association Antenne-Provence (France).

June 2001

Victor Malyshkin Novosibirsk, Academgorodok

Organization

PaCT 2001 was organized by the Supercomputer Software Department of the Institute of Computational Mathematics and Mathematical Geophysics SB RAS in cooperation with the State University of Novosibirsk and the State Technical University of Novosibirsk.

Program Committee

V. Malyshkin Program Chair (Russian Academy of Sciences)

F. Arbab (Centre for MCS, The Netherlands)
O. Bandman (Russian Academy of Sciences)

A. Bode (Technical University of Munich, Germany)

T. Casavant
P. Ciancarini
P. Degano
A. Doroshenko
D. Etiemble
(University of Iowa, USA)
(University of Bologna, Italy)
(State University of Pisa, Italy)
(Academy of Sciences, Ukraine)
(University of Toronto, Canada)

B. Goossens (University Paris 7 Denis Diderot, France)
S. Gorlatch (Technical University of Berlin, Germany)
A. Hurson (Pennsylvania State University, USA)

V. Ivannikov (Russian Academy of Sciences)

Y. Karpov (State Technical University, St.Petersburg)
B. Lecussan (State University of Toulouse, France)

J. Li (University of Tsukuba, Japan)

T. Ludwig (Technical University of Munich, Germany)

G. Mauri (University of Milan, Italy)
N. Mirenkov (The University of Aizu, Japan)
I. Pottosin (Russian Academy of Sciences)

M. Raynal (IRISA, Rennes, France)

B. Roux (Institut de Mecanique des Fluides de Mar-

seilles, France)

G. Silberman (IBM TJ Watson Research Center, USA)
P. Sloot (University of Amsterdam. The Netherlands)

V. Vshivkov (Russian Academy of Sciences)

Organizing Committee

- N. Dikansky
- V. Malyshkin
- B. Mikhailenko
- G. Shvedenkov
- A. Vostrikov
- S. Achasova
- O. Bandman
- A. Selikhov
- N. Kuchin
- S. Piskunov
- S. Pudov
- A. Usov
- I. Virbitskaite

Financial Director Publication Chair

Secretariat

A. Hameurlain

J.-M. Helary

R. Hoffmann

T. Herault

A. Hurson

Referees

S. Achasova F. Arbab P. Baldan O. Bandman D. Beletkov A. Bernasconi O. Bessonov A. Bode H. Cai T. Casavant J. Cazin P. Ciancarini M. Danelutto P. Degano A. Doroshenko D. Etiemble K. Everaars E. Fleury P. Fraigniaud F. Gartner C. Germain

B. Goossens

S. Gorlatch

J. Guillen-Scholten

R. Gori

V. Il'in H.A. Jacobsen N. Kalinina M. Kandemir Yu. Karpov V. Korneev N. Kuchin M. Kutrib Sh. Kutten R. Lechtchinsky B. Lecussan J. Li T. Ludwig T. Lvubimova V. Markova G. Mauri N. Mirenkov V. Morozov A. Mostefaoui V. Narayanan

V. Nepomniaschy M. Ostapkevich S. Pallotino S. Pelagatti B. Philippe S. Piskunov T. Plaks I. Pottosin P. Raghavan M. Raynal S. Rogazinsky B. Roux S. Sharvi G. Silberman P. Sloot A. Vasilache A. Vazhenin I. Virbitskaite V. Vshivkov A. Zavanella E. Zehendner V. Zissimopoulos

A. Nepomniaschaya