#### **Preface**

PKC 2003 was the Sixth International Workshop on Practice and Theory in Public Key Cryptography and was sponsored by IACR, the International Association for Cryptologic Research (www.iacr.org). This year the workshop was organized in cooperation with the Department of Computer Science, Florida State University. The General Chair, Mike Burmester was responsible for local organization, registration, etc.

There were 105 submitted papers which were considered by the Program Committee. This is an increase of 52% compared to PKC 2002, which took place in Paris, France, February 2002, and which was incorrectly identified on the cover of the proceedings as being the fourth workshop. Due to the large number of submissions, some papers that contained new ideas had to be rejected. Priority was given to novel papers. Of the 105 submissions, 26 were selected for the proceedings. These contain the revised versions of the accepted papers. Each paper was sent to at least 3 members of the program committee for comments. Revisions were not checked for correctness of their scientific aspects and the authors bear full responsibility for the contents of their papers. Some authors will write final versions of their papers for publication in refereed journals.

I am very grateful to the members of the Program Committee for their hard work in the difficult task of selecting roughly 1 out of 4 of the submitted papers. Submissions to PKC 2003 were required to be anonymous. A Program Committee member could only present one accepted paper, or co-author at most two accepted papers without being allowed to present these. Papers submitted by members of the Program Committee were sent to at least 4 referees (and, of course, no Program Committee member reviewed his or her own paper).

The following external referees helped the Program Committee in reaching its decisions: Mehdi-Laurent Akkar, Joonsang Baek, Endre Bangerter, Régis Bevan, Daniel Bleichenbacher, Emmanuel Bresson, Eric Brier, Jan Camenisch, Matthew Campagna, Dario Catalano, Benoit Chevallier-Mames, Koji Chida, Nicolas Courtois, Annalisa De Bonis, Yevgeniy Dodis, Thomas Dübendorfer, Jacques Fournier, Atsushi Fujioka, Jun Furukawa, Clemente Galdi, Rosario Gennaro, Christophe Giraud, Louis Granboulan, Louis Goubin, Stuart Haber, Thomas Holenstein, Nick Howgrave-Graham, Stanislaw Jarecki, Antoine Joux, Jonathan Katz, Wataru Kishimoto, Erik Woodward Knudsen, Takeshi Koshiba, Hugo Krawczyk, Ben Lynn, Anna Lysyanskaya, Kazuto Matsuo, Patrick McDaniel, Phong Nguyen, Jesper Buus Nielsen, Satoshi Obana, Benny Pinkas, David Pointcheval, Bartosz Przydatek, Hervé Sibert, Francesco Sica, Nigel Smart, Markus Stadler, Martijn Stam, Reto Strobl, Koutarou Suzuki, Mike Szydlo, Tsuyoshi Takagi, Katsuyuki Takashima, Eran Tromer, Christophe Tymen, Salil Vadhan, Stefan Wolf, Jürg Wullschleger, and Akihiro Yamamura. (I apologize for any possible omission.) The Program Committee appreciates their efforts.

#### VI Preface

Thanks to Hoang Ha, Haizhi Chen, and Wayman E. Luy for secretarial work and for partially maintaining the WWW page of the conference, and to Wayne Sprague for setting up the e-mail addresses for PKC. Several people helped the General Chair with sending out the call for papers, registration, registration at the conference, etc.

Finally, I would like to thank everyone who submitted to PKC 2003, and IACR for its sponsorship.

October 2002 Yvo Desmedt

# **PKC 2003**

# Sixth International Workshop on Practice and Theory in Public Key Cryptography

Miami Convention Center, Miami, Florida, USA January 6–8, 2003

Sponsored by the

International Association for Cryptologic Research in cooperation with the Department of Computer Science, Florida State University

### General Chair

Mike Burmester, Florida State University, USA

## **Program Chair**

Yvo Desmedt, Florida State University, USA

# Program Committee

Masayuki Abe	NTT Laboratories, Japan
Feng Bao Laboratories	for Information Technology, Singapore
Giovanni Di Crescenzo	Telcordia, USA
Marc Joye	Gemplus, France
Kaoru Kurosawa	Ibaraki University, Japan
Arjen Lenstra	Citicorp, USA
Tal Malkin	AT&T Research, USA
Ueli Maurer	ETH, Zurich, Switzerland
Moni Naor	Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
Tatsuaki Okamoto	NTT Laboratories, Japan
Jacques Patarin	Université de Versailles, France
Tal Rabin	IBM Research Lab., USA
Kazue Sako	NEC, Japan
Jacques Stern	École Normale Supérieure, France
Serge Vaudenay	ETH, Lausanne, Switzerland
Yongge Wang	University of North Carolina, USA
Michael Wiener	Canada
Moti Yung	Columbia University, USA

University of North Carolina, USA

Yuliang Zheng