Preface

This proceedings volume includes papers presented at DGCI 2003 in Naples, Italy, November 19–21, 2003. DGCI 2003 was the 11th conference in a series of international conferences on Discrete Geometry for Computer Imagery. The conference was organized by the Italian Institute for Philosophical Studies, Naples and the Institute of Cybernetics "E. Caianiello," National Research Council of Italy, Pozzuoli (Naples). DGCI 2003 was sponsored by the International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR).

This is the second time the conference took place outside France. The number of researchers active in the field of discrete geometry and computer imagery is increasing. Both these factors contribute to the increased international recognition of the conference. The DGCI conferences attract more and more academic and research institutions in different countries. In fact, 68 papers were submitted to DGCI 2003. The contributions focus on discrete geometry and topology, surfaces and volumes, morphology, shape representation, and shape analysis. After careful reviewing by an international board of reviewers, 23 papers were selected for oral presentation and 26 for poster presentation. All contributions were scheduled in plenary sessions. In addition, the program was enriched by three lectures, presented by internationally well-known invited speakers: Isabelle Bloch (École Nationale Supérieure des Télécommunications, France), Longin Jan Latecki (Temple University, USA), and Ralph Kopperman (City College of New York, USA).

In 2002, a technical committee of the IAPR, TC18, was established with the intention to promote interactions and collaboration between researchers working on discrete geometry. The first TC18 meeting was planned to be held in conjunction with DGCI 2003, to allow the members to discuss the activity of the technical committee. The outcome from this meeting will help the ongoing research and communication for researchers active within the field during the 18 months between the conferences.

We hope that we made DGCI 2003 an unforgettable event where researchers gathered for fruitful discussions and enjoyable social activities, both categories providing stimuli for researchers.

Hereby, we would like to thank the contributors who responded to the call for papers in a very positive manner, the invited speakers, all reviewers and members of the steering, program, and local organizing committees, as well as DGCI participants. We are also grateful to Regione Campania for the financial help, indispensable to guarantee a successful conference.

September 2003

Ingela Nyström Gabriella Sanniti di Baja Stina Svensson

Organization

DGCI 2003 was organized by the Institute of Cybernetics "E. Caianiello" of the National Research Council of Italy and by the Italian Institute for Philosophical Studies. The conference venue was the Italian Institute for Philosophical Studies. The conference was sponsored by the International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR).

Conference Chairs

General Chair	Gabriella Sanniti di Baja
	Institute of Cybernetics "E. Caianiello," National
	Research Council of Italy, Pozzuoli (Naples), Italy
Program Chair	Stina Svensson
	Centre for Image Analysis, Swedish University of
	Agricultural Sciences, Uppsala, Sweden
Publications Chair	Ingela Nyström
	Centre for Image Analysis, Uppsala University,
	Uppsala, Sweden

Steering Committee

Gilles Bertrand	France
Gunilla Borgefors	Sweden
Achille Braquelaire	France
Jean-Marc Chassery	France
Annick Montanvert	France
Gabor Szekely	Switzer land

Program Committee

Eric Andrès	France
Bidyut Baran Chaudhuri	India
Michel Couprie	France
Leila De Floriani	Italy
Ulrich Eckhardt	Germany
Bianca Falcidieno	Italy
Christophe Fiorio	France
Richard W. Hall	USA
Atsushi Imiya	Japan
Pieter Jonker	The Netherlands
Ron Kimmel	Israel
Nahum Kiryati	Israel
Christer O. Kiselman	Sweden
Reinhard Klette	New Zealand
Walter Kropatsch	Austria
Jacques-Olivier Lachaud	France
Gregoire Malandain	France
Rémy Malgouyres	France
Serge Miguet	France
Punam K. Saha	USA
Pierre Soille	Italy
Edouard Thiel	France
Jayaram K. Udupa	USA

Local Organizing Committee

Publicity Scientific Secretariat Web Managers Publications Salvatore Piantedosi Silvia Rossi Luca Serino, Henrik Boström Ida-Maria Sintorn

Referees

Michal Aharon Eric Andres Mario Bertero Gilles Bertrand Ilya Blayvas **Gunilla Borgefors** Achille Braquelaire Alexander Bronstein Michael Bronstein Jasmine Burguet Jean Marc Chassery Bidyut Baran Chaudhuri David Coeurjolly Michel Couprie Leila De Floriani Ulrich Eckhardt Bianca Falcidieno Fabien Feschet Christophe Fiorio

Richard Hall Omer Hevmann Atsushi Imiya Pieter Jonker Ron Kimmel Nahum Kirvati Christer Kiselman Reinhard Klette Walter Kropatsch Jacques-Olivier Lachaud Pascal Lienhardt Michael Lindenbaum Cris L. Luengo Hendriks Gregoire Malandain Rémy Malgouvres Erik Melin Serge Miguet Annick Montanvert Dipti Prasad Mukherjee

Jan Neumann Ingela Nyström Francesca Odone Punam K. Saha Gabriella Sanniti di Baja Pierre Soille Stina Svensson Gabor Szekely Benjamin Taton Edouard Thiel Laure Tougne Jayaram K. Udupa Avi Vardi Anne Vialard **Ola Weistrand** Yaser Yacoob