Preface

The message passing paradigm is considered the most effective way to develop efficient parallel applications. PVM (Parallel Virtual Machine) and MPI (Message Passing Interface) are the most frequently used tools for programming message passing applications.

This volume includes the selected contributions presented at the 10th European PVM/MPI Users' Group Meeting (Euro PVM/MPI 2003), which was held in Venice, Italy, September 29–October 2, 2003. The conference was jointly organized by the Department of Computer Science of the Ca' Foscari University of Venice, Italy and the Information Science and Technologies Institute of the National Research Council (ISTI-CNR), Pisa, Italy.

The conference was previously held in Linz, Austria (2002), Santorini, Greece (2001), Balatonfüred, Hungary (2000), Barcelona, Spain (1999), Liverpool, UK (1998), and Krakow, Poland (1997). The first three conferences were devoted to PVM and were held in Munich, Germany (1996), Lyon, France (1995), and Rome, Italy (1994).

The conference has become a forum for users and developers of PVM, MPI, and other message passing environments. Interactions between these groups has proved to be very useful for developing new ideas in parallel computing, and for applying some of those already existent to new practical fields. The main topics of the meeting were evaluation and performance of PVM and MPI, extensions, implementations and improvements of PVM and MPI, parallel algorithms using the message passing paradigm, and parallel applications in science and engineering. In addition, the topics of the conference were extended to include Grid computing, in order to reflect the importance of this area for the high-performance computing community.

This year we received 115 submissions, and the Program Committee finally selected 64 regular papers, and 16 short papers. Besides the main track of contributed papers, the conference featured the second edition of the special session "ParSim 03 – Current Trends in Numerical Simulation for Parallel Engineering Environments." This volume also includes six short papers presented during the ParSim 03 session.

Two tutorials were presented during the meeting: "High-Level Programming in MPI" by William Gropp and Ewing Lusk, and "Programming Environments for Grids and Distributed Computing Systems" by Vaidy Sunderam. Finally, six invited talks were presented at the conference: the invited speakers were Geoffrey Fox, Al Geist, William Gropp, Ewing Lusk, Thierry Priol, and Marco Vanneschi. The contributions relating to the invited talks and tutorials are also included in this volume.

We would like to express our gratitude for the kind support of our sponsors (see below). We are also indebted to all the members of the Program Committee and the additional reviewers, who ensured the high quality of Euro PVM/MPI

VI Preface

2003 with their careful and timely work. Finally, we would like to express our gratitude to our colleagues in the ISTI-CNR and the University of Venice for their help and support during the conference organization. In particular, we would like to thank Tiziano Fagni, Paolo Palmerini, Raffaele Perego, Claudio Silvestri, Fabrizio Silvestri and Nicola Tonellotto.

September 2003

Jack Dongarra Domenico Laforenza Salvatore Orlando

Program Committee

General Chair

Jack Dongarra University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA

Program Chairs

Domenico Laforenza ISTI CNR, Pisa, Italy

Salvatore Orlando Ca' Foscari University of Venice, Italy

Program Committee Members

Vassil Alexandrov University of Reading, UK

Ranieri Baraglia ISTI CNR, Italy

Arndt Bode Technical Univ. of Munich, Germany

Marian Bubak AGH, Cracow, Poland

Jacques Chassin

de Kergommeaux LSR-IMAG, France Yiannis Cotronis Univ. of Athens, Greece

Jose C. Cunha New University of Lisbon, Portugal Erik D'Hollander University of Ghent, Belgium

Marco Danelutto Univ. of Pisa, Italy Frederic Desprez INRIA, France

Beniamino Di Martino 2nd Univ. of Naples, Italy

Graham Fagg University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA Al Geist Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA Michael Gerndt Technical Univ. of Munich, Germany

Andrzej Goscinski Deakin University, Australia

William Gropp Argonne National Laboratory, USA

Rolf Hempel DLR, Simulation Aerospace Center, Germany

Ladislav Hluchy Slovak Academy of Sciences, Slovakia

Peter Kacsuk MTA SZTAKI, Hungary

Dieter Kranzlmüller Joh. Kepler University, Linz, Austria
Jan Kwiatkowski Wrocław University of Technology, Poland

Laurent Lefevre INRIA/RESAM, France

Thomas Ludwig University of Heidelberg, Germany

Emilio Luque Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain

Ewing Lusk Argonne National Laboratory, USA

Tomas Margalef Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain Shirley Moore University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA Wolfgang Nagel Dresden University of Technology, Germany Benno J. Overeinder Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Raffaele Perego ISTI CNR, Italy

VIII Program Committee

Neil D. Pundit Rolf Rabenseifner Andrew Rau-Chaplin

Ralf Reussner Yves Robert

Casiano Rodriguez-Leon

Miquel Senar
Joao Gabriel Silva
Vaidy Sunderam
Francisco Tirado
Bernard Tourancheau

Jesper Larsson Träff Pavel Tvrdik Umberto Villano Jens Volkert Jerzy Wasniewski Roland Wismüller Sandia National Labs, USA University of Stuttgart, Germany Dalhousie University, Canada DSTC, Monash University, Australia

ENS Lyon, France

Universidad de La Laguna, Spain

Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain

University of Coimbra, Portugal

Emroy University, USA

Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain

SUN Labs Europe, France NEC Europe Ltd., Germany

Czech Technical University, Czech Republic

Università del Sannio, Italy

Joh. Kepler University, Linz, Austria Danish Computing Centre, Denmark Technical Univ. of Munich, Germany

Additional Reviewers

Alba, Enrique Almeida, Francisco Angskun, Thara Balis, Bartosz Balogh, Zoltan Baltzer, Oliver Bautista, Alfredo Beyls, Kristof Bönisch, Homas Bosilca, George Brandes, Thomas Caron, Eddy Cortes, Ana

Cronk, David De Sande, Francisco Dobruchy, Miroslav

Eavis, Todd Fagni, Tiziano Ferrini, Renato Franco, Daniel Funika, Wlodzimierz Fürlinger, Karl Gabriel, Edgar

Garcia, Carlos Gelas, Jean-Patrick Giang, Nguyen T.

Guérin-Lassous, Isabelle

Habala, Ondrej
Halada, Ladislav
Haubold, Sven
Hermann, Gerd
Hernández, Porfidio

Hetze, Bernd Heymann, Elisa Iacono, Mauro Keller, Ainer

Krämer-Fuhrmann, Ottmar

Legrand, Arnaud León, Coromoto L'Excellent, Jean-Yves

Luksch, Eter
Mairandres, Martin
Malawski, Maciej
Mancini, Emilio P.
Margalef, Tomas
Marques, Rui
Medeiros, Pedro
Mix, Hartmut
Moscato, Francesco
Müller-Pfefferkorn, Ralph

Nemeth, Zsolt Palmerini, Paolo Pedretti, Kevin Pflüger, Stefan Philippe, Laurent Prieto-Matias, Manuel

Puppin, Diego Rak, Massimiliano Rastello, Fabrice Rathmayer, Sabine Renard, Hélène Ripoll, Ana

Schaubschlaeger, Christian

Schmidt, Andreas Senar, Miquel A. Silvestri, Fabrizio Simo, Branislav

Stamatakis, Alexandros

Suppi, Remo Tonellotto, Nicola Tran, Viet D. Underwood, Keith Venticinque, Salvatore

Vivien, Frédéric Walter, Max Weidendorfer, Osef Worringen, Joachim Zajac, Katarzyna

X Program Committee

Sponsoring Institutions

(as of July 18th, 2002)

HP (Hewlett-Packard)

Sun Microsystems

Microsoft

ONRIFO (US Office of Naval Research – International Field Office)

Critical Software

DATAMAT SpA

Department of Computer Science, Ca' Foscari University of Venice Information Science and Technologies Institute, National Research Council (ISTI-CNR), Pisa