## **Preface**

We are rapidly heading towards a world in which the computing infrastructure will contain billions of devices, which will interact with other computing/communications devices that are carried or worn by users as they go through their daily routines. Such devices will provide data access to mobile users as they move within buildings, cities, or across the globe. This new infrastructure presents tremendous challenges for data management technology, including: huge scale; variable and intermittent connectivity; location and context-aware applications; bandwidth, power, and device-size limitations; and multimedia data delivery across hybrid networks and systems. Traditional data management technologies such as query processing, transaction management, workflow, business process management, and metadata management must all be reevaluated in this emerging environment. Furthermore, nontraditional issues such as the semantics of mobile data, location-dependent querying, broadcast and multicast delivery, and caching/prefetching techniques must all be addressed. The ability to track people as they move about their daily tasks raises serious issues of security and privacy.

This conference is the fourth in the Mobile Data Management series, focusing on the challenges and opportunities for the management of data in mobile, pervasive, and wearable computing. MDM 2000 and 2001 were in Hong Kong and MDM 2002 was in Singapore.

Eighty-seven papers were submitted to the conference from 23 countries and were subject to a rigorous review procedure. Every paper had three or four independent reviews. Twenty-one full papers and 15 short papers from both academia and industry were selected for publication in this volume of proceedings.

The papers in this volume discuss topics such as information and storage management, location management and tracking, location- and context-aware services, adaptation, and resource discovery.

We would like to thank the program committee and other reviewers for their efforts in helping to select a very high quality program and working within a very tight schedule. Jonathan Beaver and Mohamed Sharaf of University of Pittsburgh put in a tremendous amount of work in setting up the database and dealing with many of the submission problems. This was only possible with the help of the Conference Management Tool support people at Microsoft research, and in particular Jonathan Simon. We would also like to thank Surajit Chaudhuri of Microsoft research for providing us with the Conference Management software. We thank Alex Ng from University for helping with the conference www.csse.monash.edu.au/mdm2003/. We are also grateful for the support received from ACM SIGMOD and ACM SIGMOBILE as well as the Australian Computer Society. Finally, but not least, we would like to offer our many thanks to Monash University and the Distributed Systems Technology Center (DSTC Pty. Ltd.) for financial and organizational support of the conference.

January 2003

Ming-Syan Chen Panos K. Chrysanthis Morris Sloman Arkady Zaslavsky

## **Organization**

Conference Chair: Arkady Zaslavsky, Monash University, Australia

**Program Co-chairs:** Ming-Syan Chen, National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Panos K. Chrysanthis, University of Pittsburgh, USA

Morris Sloman, Imperial College London, UK

**Industry Co-chairs:** Johan Hjelm, Nippon Ericsson, Sweden

Zahir Tari, RMIT University, Australia

**Industry Demo Chair:** Phillip Steele, Monash University, Australia

**Publicity Chair:** Sujata Banerjee, HP Labs, USA

**Local Organizing Chair:** Michelle Ketchen, Monash University, Australia

**Program Committee:** Amr El Abbadi, UC Santa-Barbara, USA

Karl Aberer, EPFL-DSC, Lausanne, Switzerland

Swarup Acharya, Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies, USA

Badri Badrinath, Rutgers University, USA

Michael Beigl, University of Karlsruhe, Germany

Elisa Bertino, University of Milano, Italy Bharat Bhargava, Purdue University, USA Gordon Blair, Lancaster University, UK

Andy Bond, DSTC, Australia

Gavin Brebner, HP Labs, France

Barry L. Brumitt, Microsoft Research, USA
Omran Bukhres, Purdue University, USA
Dan Chalmers, Imperial College London, UK
Advan L. B. Cham, National Tains, Hand Univ. Tains

Arbee L.P. Chen, National Tsing Hua Univ., Taiwan

Ying Chen, IBM China Research Lab, China Mitch Cherniack, Brandies University, USA

Norman Cohen, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA

Anindya Datta, Georgia Tech, USA

Alex Delis, Polytechnic University, NY, USA David De Roure, Southampton University, UK Maggie Dunham, Southern Methodist Univ., USA

Mike Franklin, UC Berkeley, USA Adrian Friday, Lancaster University, UK Akira Fukuda, Kyushu University, Japan

Johannes Gehrke, Cornell University, USA

Valerie Issarny, INRIA, France Sridhar Iyer, IIT, Bombay, India Ravi Jain, Telcordia, USA

Christian S. Jensen, Aalborg University, Denmark

Anupam Joshi, Univ. of Maryland, USA Hyunchul Kang, Chung-Ang University, Korea Roger Kermode, Motorola Australia Research, Australia Fredrik Kilander, University of Stockholm, Sweden Myoung Ho Kim, KAIST, Korea Tim Kindberg, HP Labs, USA Masaru Kitsuregawa, Univ. of Tokyo, Japan George Kollios, Boston University, USA David Kotz, Dartmouth College, USA Vijay Kumar, Univ. of Missouri, Kansas City, USA Chiang Lee, National Cheng-Kung Univ., Taiwan Dik L. Lee, HK Univ. of Science and Technology, Hong Kong Guanling Lee, National Dong Hwa Univ., Taiwan Victor Lee, City University of HK, Hong Kong Wang-Chien Lee, Penn State University, USA Hui Lei, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA Hong-va Leong, HK Polytechnic Univ., Hong Kong Vincenzo Liberatore, Case Western Reserve Univ., USA Seng Wai Loke, RMIT University, Australia Sanjay Kumar Madria, Univ. of Missouri, Rolla, USA Ryusuke Masuoka, Fujitsu Labs of America, USA Mihhail Matskin, Norwegian Univ. of Science and Technology, Norway Sharad Mehrotra, University of California, Irvine, USA Eduardo Mena, University of Zaragoza, Spain Xiaofeng Meng, Renmin University, China Rebecca Montanari, University of Bologna, Italy Jignesh M. Patel, University of Michigan, USA Evaggelia Pitoura, University of Ioannina, Greece Wolfgang Prinz, Fraunhofer FIT, Germany Andry Rakotonirainy, DSTC, Australia Krithi Ramamritham, IIT Bombay, India George Samaras, University of Cyprus, Cyprus S. Sudarshan, IIT, Bombay, India Kian-Lee Tan, National Univ. of Singapore, Singapore Helen Thomas, Carnegie Mellon University, USA Masahiko Tsukamoto, Osaka University, Japan Jari Veijalainen, University of Jyväskylä, Finland Ouri Wolfson, University of Illinois, USA Cui Yu, National University of Singapore, Singapore Vladimir Zadorozhny, University of Pittsburgh, USA

## **Additional Reviewers**

Toshiyuki Amagasa Sasikanth Avancha

Yun Bai

Paolo Bellavista

Muhammad M. bin Tariq

Hu Cao Aslihan Celik

Dipanjan Chakraborty

Alvin Chan Chao-Chun Chen Hae-Don Chon Yon-Dohn Chung

Philippe Cudre-Mauroux

Amy Dalal

Anwitaman Datta

Rui Ding Kaushik Dutta Eric Faccer Rao Fangyan Eduardo Galvez Steve Gunn Abhishek Gupta Bhawna Gupta Lilian Harada

Manfred Hauswirth Xiaoning He Karen Henricksen Audun Josang Ben Juby Hassan Karimi Kvriakos Karenos

Teruaki Kitasuka

Prashant Krishnamurthy Anna Kyriakidou Alexandros Labrinidis

K.W. Lam Sung-Ju Lee Sun-Ho Lim Lienfa Lin Zhu Manli Archan Misra Miyuki Nakano Tadashi Ohmori

Christoforos Panaviotou Stavros Papastavrou Seung-Taek Park Filip Perich Nitin Prabhu

Anand Ranganathan Olga Ratsimor Kerry Raymond Pankai Risbood Ricky Robinson Simonas Saltenis Mohamed Sharaf Shahid Shoaib Xariklia Skoutelli Jin-Hyun Son Konstantinos Spyou Anurag Srivastava Chengyu Sun

Katsumi Takahashi Goce Traicevski Deb VanderMeer Chun-Chiang Wang

Xiaoyu Wang Yu Xiulan Bo Xu John Yesberg Huabei Yin Hailing Yu Bai Yun Baihua Zheng