Preface

This volume contains the proceedings of the 2002 symposium Formal Methods Europe (FME 2002). The symposium was the 11th in a series that began with a VDM Europe symposium in 1987. The symposia are traditionally held every 18 months. In 2002 the symposium was held at the University of Copenhagen, as part of the 2002 Federated Logic Conference (FLoC 2002), which brought together in one event seven major conferences related to logic in computer science, as well as their affiliated workshops, tutorials, and tools exhibitions.

Formal Methods Europe (www.fmeurope.org) is an independent association which aims to stimulate the use of, and research on, formal methods for software development. FME symposia have been notably successful in bringing together a community of users, researchers, and developers of precise mathematical methods for software development.

The theme of FME 2002 was "Formal Methods: Getting IT Right". The double meaning was intentional. On the one hand, the theme acknowledged the significant contribution formal methods can make to Information Technology, by enabling computer systems to be described precisely and reasoned about with rigour. On the other hand, it recognized that current formal methods are not perfect, and further research and practice are required to improve their foundations, applicability, and effectiveness.

FME 2002 covered many aspects of the use of formal methods for development of software in many different application areas. As with previous FME symposia, FME 2002 covered a wide range of activities, from development of fundamental theory of description and reasoning, to particulars of practice and experience.

A total of 31 papers were accepted out of 95 submissions from 30 countries, half of which are outside Europe, making this a truly international event. In addition to authors of submitted papers, Natarajan Shankar, Anthony Hall, and David Basin were invited to give keynote presentations at the symposium.

A symposium session on Semantics and Logic was dedicated to the memory of John Dawes, who was a founding member of VDM Europe and a long-time active contributor to FME.

May 2002

Lars-Henrik Eriksson, Peter Lindsay

Organization

FME 2002 was organized by Formal Methods Europe and the third Federated Logic Conference (FLoC 2002). It was hosted jointly by the IT University of Copenhagen, the Technical University of Denmark, and the University of Copenhagen. We would like to thank the FME Board (John Fitzgerald, Nico Plat, and Kees Pronk) for their support, and the FLoC Organizing Committee for making local arrangements. Moshe Vardi was FLoC General Chair and Neil Jones was FLoC Conference Chair. We particularly thank Henning Makholm, Andrzej Filinski, and Sebastian Skalberg of the FLoC Local Committee for their help in organizing the web pages, the printed program, and the tool demonstration facilities.

Organizing Committee

Organizing Chair: Dines Bjørner (Technical University of Denmark)
Program Co-chairs: Lars-Henrik Eriksson (Industrilogik, Sweden)

Peter Lindsay (University of Queensland, Australia)

Tool Demonstrations: Paul Mukherjee

(Systematic Software Engineering A/S, Denmark)

Program Committee

Bernhard Aichernig Graz University of Technology, Austria Juan Bicarregui Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK Ernie Cohen Microsoft Research, Cambridge, UK Ben Di Vito NASA Langley Research Center, USA Cindy Eisner IBM Haifa Research Laboratory, Israel

Lars-Henrik Eriksson (co-chair) Industrilogik, Sweden

John Fitzgerald Transitive Technologies Ltd, UK

Jim Grundy Intel Corporation, USA Yves Ledru IMAG Grenoble, France

Peter Lindsay (co-chair) University of Queensland, Australia Markus Montigel University of New Orleans, USA

Richard Moore IFAD, Denmark

Tobias Nipkow Technische Universität München, Germany

Colin O'Halloran QinetiQ, UK

Jose Oliveira Universidade do Minho, Portugal Nico Plat West Consulting, The Netherlands Jeannette Wing Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Jim Woodcock University of Kent, UK

Joakim von Wright Åbo Akademi University, Finland

Pamela Zave AT&T Laboratories, USA

External Referees

Parosh Aziz Abdulla

All submitted papers were peer reviewed by at least three referees. In addition to the Program Committee, the following people contributed reviews:

Alan Hartman

Referees

James M Armstrong Clemens Ballarin Luís S. Barbosa Sharon Barner Leonor Barroca Shoham Ben-David Pierre Berlioux Didier Bert Eerke Boiten Roland Bol Gregory Bond Michael Butler Martin Büchi Orieta Celiku Michel Chaudron David Clark Pieter Cuipers Anat Dahan John Derrick Jeremy Dick Theo Dimitrakos Lydie du Bousquet Steve Dunne Sophie Dupuy-Chessa Andy Evans João M. Fernandes Jean-Claude Fernandez Arnaud Fevrier Colin Fidge Daniel Geist

Anna Gerber

Stephen Gilmore

Stefan Gruner

Rob Gerth

David Hemer Dang Van Hung Tomasz Janowski He Jifeng Robert B. Jones Jan Jürjens Steve King Andre S. E. Koster Linas Laibinis K. Lano Johan Lilius Zhiming Liu Anthony MacDonald Ricardo J. Machado Brian Matthews C. A. Middelburg Anna Mikhailova Tim Miller N. Moffat Paul Mukherjee Markus Müller-Olm Marco Nijdam John O'Leary Jeff Z. Pan P. K. Pandva Joachim Parrow Stephen Paynter Paul Pettersson Sibylle Peuker Andrej Pietschker Ivan Porres Marie-Laure Potet Viorel Preoteasa Alex Pretschner

Kees Pronk Xu Qiwen S Riddle Brian Ritchie Ken Robinson Alexander Romanovsky Kaisa Sere W. Simmonds David Sinclair Graeme Smith M. A. Smith Baruch Sterin Martin Strecker Kim Sunesen Francis Tang Jan Tretmans John Turner Rachel Tzoref Shmuel Ur Gertjan van Oosten Marcel Verhoef Arjan Vermeij M. Voorhoeve Jos Vrancken Hagen Völzer Marina Waldén Heike Wehrheim Markus Wenzel Alan Cameron Wills Guido Wimmel Kirsten Winter Jin Yang

Emmanuel Zarpas