Preface

In defining the state of the art of E-Government, EGOV 2002 was aimed at breaking new ground in the development of innovative solutions in this important field of the emerging Information Society. To promote this aim, the EGOV conference brought together professionals from all over the globe. In order to obtain a rich picture of the state of the art, the subject matter was dealt with in various ways: drawing experiences from case studies, investigating the outcome from projects, and discussing frameworks and guidelines. The large number of contributions and their breadth testify to a particularly vivid discussion, in which many new and fascinating strands are only beginning to emerge. This begs the question where we are heading in the field of E-Government. It is the intention of the introduction provided by the editors to concentrate the wealth of expertise presented into some statements about the future development of E-Government.

The number of subject matters covered by the EGOV 2002 conference proceedings is best illustrated by listing some of them:

- Communication with citizens over the Net: One-Stop-Government, Single-Window-Access, and Seamless Government;
- Frameworks and guidelines for E-Government;
- International and regional projects, case studies, and international comparisons;
- Strategies, implementation policies, and best practice;
- Redesigning cooperation within and between agencies;
- Sustaining business processes, collaborative activities, legal interpretation, and administrative decision making;
- E-Democracy strategies, citizen participation in public affairs, and democratic deliberation;
- Technical implementation aspects (standards for information interchange and processes, digital signatures, platforms, security concepts, and provisions);
- Novel organizational answers and new forms of networks: adhoc cooperation and coalition between public agencies and public–private partnerships;
- Changing legal frameworks, and legal and social implications of new infrastructures and applications;
- Teaching of E-Government.

Many people cooperated over a long period of time to shape the conference and to prepare the program and the proceedings. Our thanks go to the members of the Program Committee (listed below) and to Gabriela Wagner, who heads the DEXA organization. The editors are particularly grateful to Ute Holler for her exceedingly engaged assistance in coordinating the preparation of the program and of the proceedings.

September 2002

Roland Traunmüller Klaus Lenk

Program Committee

General Chair

Roland Traunmüller, University of Linz, Austria Klaus Lenk, University of Oldenburg, Germany

Program Committee

Kim Viborg Andersen, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark Chris Bellamy, Nottingham Trent University, UK Trevor Bench-Capon, University of Liverpool, UK Daniéle Bourcier, University of Paris 10, France Jean-Loup Chappelet, IDHEAP Lausanne, Switzerland Wichian Chutimaskul, King Mongkut's University of Technology Thonburi, Thailand Nicolae Costake, Bucharest, Romania Arthur Csetenvi, Budapest Univ. of Economic Sciences, Hungary Christian S. Friis, Roskilde University, Denmark Fernando Galindo, Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain Michael Gisler, Bundesamt für Informatik und Telekommunikation (BIT), Switzerland Dimitris Gouscos, eGovLab, University of Athens, Greece Åke Grönlund, Umeå University, Sweden Michel Klein, HEC Graduate School of Management, France Sayeed Klewitz-Hommelsen, Fachhochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg, Germany Friedrich Lachmayer, Republik Österreich BKA-Verfassungsdienst, Austria Philippe Laluyaux, Clip Card, France Alan Lovell, UK Ann Macintosh, Napier University, Edinburgh, UK Gregoris Mentzas, National Technical University of Athens, Greece Thomas Menzel, University of Vienna, Austria Jeremy Millard, Danish Technological Institute, Denmark Javier Ossandon, Ancitel Spa, Italy Reinhard Posch, Chief Information Officer, Graz University of Technology, Austria Corien Prins, Tilburg University, The Netherlands Gerald Quirchmayr, University of South Australia, Australia Heinrich Reinermann, Deutsche Hochschule für Verwaltungswissenschaften Speyer, Germany Reinhard Riedl, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Rostock, Germany Giovanni Sartor, CIRSFID Bologna, Italy Erich Schweighofer, University of Vienna, Austria Ignace Snellen, Erasmus University of Rotterdam, The Netherlands Dieter Spahni, Institute for Business and Administration, Switzerland Efthemis Tambouris, Archetypon S.A., Athens, Greece Wim van de Donk, Tilburg University, The Netherlands Mirko Vintar, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia Francesco Virili, University of Cassino, Italy Maria Wimmer, University of Linz, Austria