Preface

The papers contained in this volume were presented at ICDT 2001, the 8th International Conference on Database Theory, held from 4 to 6 January 2001 in the Senate House of Birckbeck College, University of London, UK.

The series of ICDT conferences provides a biennial, international forum for the communication of research advances on the principles of database systems. ICDT is traditionally held in beautiful European locations: Rome in 1986, Bruges in 1988, Paris in 1990, Berlin in 1992, Prague in 1995, Delphi in 1997, and Jerusalem in 1999. Since 1992, ICDT has merged with the Symposium on Mathematical Fundamentals of Database Systems (MFDBS), initiated in Dresden in 1987, and continued in Visegrad in 1989 and Rostock in 1991.

This volume contains 26 papers describing original research on fundamental aspects of database systems, selected from 75 submissions. The paper by Chung Keung Poon was awarded as Best Newcomer to the field of database theory. In addition, this volume contains two invited papers by Leonid Libkin and Philip Wadler. A third invited talk was given by Andrei Broder.

We wish to thank all the authors who submitted papers, the members of the program committee, the external referees, the organizing committee, and the sponsors for their efforts and support.

> Jan Van den Bussche Victor Vianu

Organization

ICDT 2001 was organized by the Department of Computer Science, Birkbeck College, University of London, in cooperation with ACM SIGACT and SIGMOD.

Organizing Committee

George Loizou (chair) James Bailey Mark Levene Alex Poulovassilis Betty Walters

Sponsors

European Union European Research Consortium for Informatics and Mathematics

Program Committee

Michael Benedikt (Bell Labs) Nicole Bidoit (U Bordeaux) Surajit Chaudhuri (Microsoft Research) Thomas Eiter (TU Vienna) Martin Grohe (UI Chicago) Maurizio Lenzerini (U Rome La Sapienza) Mark Levene (UC London) Tova Milo (Tel Aviv U) Ken Ross (Columbia U) Thomas Schwentick (U Mainz) Luc Segoufin (INRIA) Timos Sellis (NTU Athens) Dan Suciu (U Washington) Val Tannen (U Pennsylvania) Jerzy Tyszkiewicz (U Warsaw) Jan Van den Bussche, co-chair (Limburg U) Dirk Van Gucht (Indiana U) Moshe Vardi (Rice U) Victor Vianu, co-chair (UC San Diego) Gottfried Vossen (U Muenster) Peter Widmayer (ETH Zurich) Limsoon Wong (Kent Ridge Digital Labs)

External Referees

Catriel Beeri Yuri Breitbart Francois Bry Gautam Das Anat Eval Chris Giannella Carmem Hara Georg Lausen Jens Lechtenboerger Jorge Lobo Sofian Maabout Holger Meuss Martin Otto Lucian Popa Torsten Schlieder Wang-Chiew Tan Dimitri Theodoratos Panos Vassiliadis Mathias Weske

Andreas Behrend Nicolas Bruno Diego Calvanese Alin Deutsch Joerg Flum Georg Gottlob Hans-Joachim Klein Clemens Lautemann Leonid Libkin Thomas Lukasiewicz Alberto Mendelzon Mohamed Mosbah HweeHwa Pang Arnaud Sahuguet Nicole Schweikardt Avi Telvas Denis Therien Michalis Vazirgiannis Graham Wills