Preface

ESORICS, the European Symposium On Research In Computer Security, is the leading research-oriented conference on the theory and practice of computer security in Europe. The aim of ESORICS is to further the progress of research in computer security by establishing a European forum for bringing together researchers in this area, by promoting the exchange of ideas with system developers and by encouraging links with researchers in related areas.

ESORICS is coordinated by an independent steering committee. In the past it took place every two years at various locations throughout Europe. Starting this year, it will take place annually.

ESORICS 2003 was organized by Gjøvik University College, and took place in Gjøvik, Norway, October 13–15, 2003.

The program committee received 114 submissions, originating from 26 countries on all continents. Half the papers originated in Europe (57). The most dominant countries were: UK (16), USA (14), Germany (6), South Korea (6), Sweden (6), Italy (5), France (4) and Poland (4). Each submission was reviewed by at least three program committee members or other experts. The program committee chair and co-chair were not allowed to submit papers. The final selection of papers was made at a program committee meeting followed by a week of e-mail discussions. Out of the 114 papers received, only 19 got accepted (17%). In comparison, ESORICS 2000 and 2002 received 75 and 83 papers and accepted 19% and 16%, respectively.

The program reflected the full range of security research, including access control, cryptographic protocols, privacy enhancing technologies, security models, authentication, and intrusion detection.

The program committee gratefully acknowledges all authors who submitted papers for their efforts in maintaining the standards of this conference.

It is also my pleasure to thank the members of the program committee, the additional reviewers, and the members of the organization committee for their work and support.

Gjøvik, October 2003

Einar Snekkenes

General Chair

Jørn Wroldsen (Gjøvik University College)

Program Committee

Tuomas Aura Microsoft Research, UK

Joachim Biskup University of Dortmund, Germany

Tønnes Brekne Telenor, Norway

Frédéric Cuppens ENST-Bretagne, France

Marc Dacier Eurecom, France

Sabrina De Captani di Vimercati University of Milan, Italy Hervé Debar France Telecom R&D, France

Yves Deswarte LAAS-CNRS, France

Simon Foley University College Cork, Ireland

Dieter Gollmann Microsoft Research, UK
Trent Jaeger IBM Research, USA
Kaoru Kurosawa Ibaraki University, Japan

Heiko Mantel DFKI, Germany John McHugh CERT, USA

Ken Moody University of Cambridge, UK

Stefano Paraboschi University of Bergamo, Italy Birgit Pfitzmann IBM Research, Switzerland Avi Rubin Johns Hopkins University, USA

Peter Ryan University of Newcastle, UK
Pierangela Samarati (co-chair) University of Milan, Italy

Tomas Sander Hewlett-Packard, USA Einar Snekkenes (chair) Gjøvik University College, Norway

Michael Steiner IBM Research, USA

Paul Syverson NRL, USA

Michael Waidner IBM Research, Switzerland

Additional Reviewers

Anas Abou El Kalam, Carlos Aguilar, Michael Backes, Jeremy Bryans, Laurent Bussard, Christian Cachin, Pau-chen Cheng, Jason Crampton, Roger Dingledine, Ulrich Flegel, Cédric Fournet, Tetsu Iwata, Klaus Julisch, Jan Jürjens, Yücel Karabulut, Wataru Kishimoto, Thomas Leineweber, Shinichiro Matsuo, Ralf Menzel, Refik Molva, Ira Moskowitz, Vincent Nicomette, Yasuhiro Ohtaki, Jörg Parthe, Benny Pinkas, Gerhard Popp, Fabien Pouget, Michael Roe, Ayda Saïdane, Pasha Shabalin, Ron Steinfeld, Morton Swimmer, Vu Dong Tô, Sandra Wortmann, Yuliang Zheng, Alf Zugenmaier

Organizing Committee

Birgith Børthus (chair) Hilding Sponberg (co-chair) Øivind Kolloen Rigmor Øvstetun Fred Johansen Svein Pettersen

Steering Committee

Elisa Bertino (University of Milan, Italy)

Joachim Biskup (University of Dortmund, Germany)

Frédéric Cuppens (ENST-Bretagne, France)

Marc Dacier (Eurecom, France)

Yves Deswarte (LAAS-CNRS, France)

Gérard Eizenberg (ONERA, France)

Simon Foley (University College Cork, Ireland)

Dieter Gollmann (Microsoft Research, UK)

Franz-Peter Heider (debis IT Security Services, Germany)

Jeremy Jacob (University of York, UK)

Sokratis Katsikas (University of the Aegean, Greece)

Helmut Kurth (atsec, Germany)

Peter Landrock (Cryptomathic, UK)

Jean-Jacques Quisquater (UCL, Belgium)

Peter Ryan (University of Newcastle, UK; Steering Committee Chair)

Pierangela Samarati (University of Milan, Italy)

Einar Snekkenes (Gjøvik University College, Norway)

Michael Waidner (IBM Research, Switzerland)