Preface

This book contains all of the papers presented at the 11th International Conference on Field Programmable Logic and Applications (FPL 2001), hosted by The Queen's University of Belfast, Northern Ireland, 27–29 August 2001. The annual FPL event is the longest-standing international conference covering programmable logic, reconfigurable computing, and related matters. It was founded in 1991, and has been held in Darmstadt, Glasgow, London, Oxford (thrice), Prague, Tallinn, Vienna, and Villach. FPL brings together experts, users, and newcomers from industry and academia, in an informal and convivial atmosphere that encourages stimulating and productive interaction between participants.

The size of the FPL conference has been growing rapidly, the number of participants increasing from 144 in 1999 to 240 in 2000. The number of papers submitted in 2001 was in line with the previous year, and our goal for 2001 was to sustain the growth in participation. The 117 submitted papers came from 24 different countries: USA (26), UK (24), Germany (14), Spain (12), Japan (7), France (4), Greece and Ireland (3 each), Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, Italy, The Netherlands, Poland, and Switzerland (2 each), and Austria, Belarus, Brazil, Iran, Mexico, Portugal, South Africa, and Sweden (1 each). This illustrates the position of FPL as a genuinely international event, with by far the largest number of submissions of any conference in this field. As in previous years, each submitted paper was subjected to thorough reviewing. As a result, 56 regular papers and 15 posters were accepted for presentation. Another three keynote papers were invited.

We thank all the authors who submitted papers, and also thank the members of the program committee and the additional referees who carefully reviewed the submissions. We thank Reiner Hartenstein for publicizing the event, Axel Sikora for coordinating the industrial input, Thomas Hoffmann and Ulrich Nageldinger for their assistance with the software for the reviewing process and the general handover from the previous year. We also acknowledge the cooperation given by Alfred Hofmann of Springer-Verlag, which has now been the official publisher for eight consecutive years. Financial support is vital to the organization of any conference, and we acknowledge considerable assistance from the Industrial Development Board for Northern Ireland, which sponsored the conference banquet, Amphion Semiconductor, which sponsored the industry night, and Quicksilver Technology, which supported the Michal Servit award. Finally, we thank the many staff who have assisted at Queen's University of Belfast, particularly Sakir Sezer and Victoria Stewart for their help in local organization, Richard Turner and Tim Courtney for their general assistance, and Paula Matthews for her considerable effort on all aspects of administration.

June 2001 Gordon Brebner
Roger Woods

Organization Committee

General Chair: Roger Woods, Queen's University of Belfast, UK Program Chair: Gordon Brebner, University of Edinburgh, UK

Publicity Chair: Reiner Hartenstein, Univ. of Kaiserslautern, Germany

Local publicity: Sakir Sezer, Queen's University of Belfast, UK

Industrial liaison: Axel Sikora, BA Lörrach, Germany

Spouse programme: Victoria Stewart, Queen's University of Belfast, UK

Programme Committee

Peter Athanas, Virginia Tech, USA

Neil Bergmann, University of Queensland, Australia

Gordon Brebner, University of Edinburgh, UK

Michael Butts, Cadence Design Systems, USA

Andre DeHon, California Institute of Technology, USA

Carl Ebeling, University of Washington, USA

Hossam ElGindy, University of New South Wales, Australia

Manfred Glesner, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany

John Gray, Independent Consultant, UK

Herbert Gruenbacher, Carinthia Tech Institute, Austria

Stephen Guccione, Xilinx Inc, USA

Yoshiaki Hagiwara, SONY Corporation, Japan

Reiner Hartenstein, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany

Brad Hutchings, Brigham Young University, USA

Tom Kean, Algotronix Consulting, UK

Andreas Koch, Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany

Dominique Lavenier, IRISA, France

Wayne Luk, Imperial College, London, UK

Patrick Lysaght, University of Strathclyde, UK

George Milne, University of Western Australia, Australia

Toshiaki Miyazaki, NTT Laboratories, Japan

Kiyoshi Oguri, Nagasaki University, Japan

Michel Renovell, LIRMM, Montpellier, France

Jonathan Rose, University of Toronto, Canada

Zoran Salcic, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Hartmut Schmeck, University of Karlsruhe, Germany

John Schewel, Virtual Computer Corporation, USA

Stephen Smith, Quicksilver Technology, USA

Lothar Thiele, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Kjell Torkelson, Celoxica Ltd, UK

Stephen Trimberger, Xilinx Inc, USA

Ranga Vemuri, University of Cincinnati, USA

Roger Woods, Queen's University of Belfast, UK

Additional Referees

Alfred Blaickner, Carinthia Tech Institute, Austria

Karam Chatha, University of Cincinnati, USA

George Constantinides, Imperial College, UK

Tim Courtney, Queen's University of Belfast, UK

Colin Cowan, Queen's University of Belfast, UK

Oliver Diessel, University of New South Wales, Australia

Rolf Enzler, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Alberto Garcia-Ortiz, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany

Thomas Hoffmann, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany

Thomas Hollstein, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany

Leandro Soares Indrusiak, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany

Philip James-Roxby, Xilinx Inc, USA

Wen-Ben Jone, University of Cincinnati, USA

Lukusa Didier Kabulepa, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany

Sang-Seol Lee, Wonkwang University, South Korea

Ralf Ludewig, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany

Maire McLoone, Queen's University of Belfast, UK

Oskar Mencer, Imperial College, UK

Madhubanti Mukherjee, University of Cincinnati, USA

Takahiro Murooka, NTT, Japan

Kouichi Nagami, NTT, Japan

Brent Nelson, Brigham Young University, USA

Abdulfattah Obeid, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany

Erwin Ofner, Carinthia Tech Institute, Austria

Ivad Ouaiss, University of Cincinnati, USA

Cameron Patterson, Xilinx Inc, USA

Christian Plessl, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Thilo Pionteck, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany

Marco Platzner, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Philip Power, Queen's University of Belfast, UK

Tanguy Risset, IRISA, Rennes, France

Michel Robert, LIRMM, Montpellier, France

Bernd Scheuermann, University of Karlsruhe, Germany

Sakir Sezer, Queen's University of Belfast, UK

Yuichiro Shibata, Nagasaki University, Japan

Tsunemichi Shiozawa, NTT, Japan

Noriyuki Takahashi, NTT, Japan

Lok Kee Ting, Queen's University of Belfast, UK

Lionel Torres, LIRMM, Montpellier, France

Herbert Walder, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Mike Wirthlin, Brigham Young University, USA

Peter Zipf, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany

VIII

Michal Servit Award Committee

Wayne Luk, Imperial College, London, UK Reiner Hartenstein, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany Gordon Brebner, University of Edinburgh, UK (chair) Stephen Smith, Quicksilver Technology, USA (sponsor) Roger Woods, Queen's University of Belfast, UK

Steering Committee

Manfred Glesner, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany John Gray, Independent Consultant, UK Herbert Gruenbacher, Carinthia Tech Institute, Austria Reiner Hartenstein, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany Andreas Keevalik, University of Tallin, Estonia Wayne Luk, Imperial College, London, UK Patrick Lysaght, University of Strathclyde, UK Roger Woods, Queen's University of Belfast, UK