Preface

This volume consists of articles contributed to the Proceedings of the International Conference on Modules and Comodules, held in Portugal from September 6 to September 8, 2006, and dedicated to Robert Wisbauer, on the occasion of his 65th birthday. The conference was attended by 70 mathematicians from 26 countries representing 6 continents, and was hosted by the University of Porto.

The first article in this volume is by John Clark, in which he reflects on Robert's career and his influence on Modern Algebra, in particular Module Theory. The articles that follow reflect Robert's wide interests. These include topics in the formal Theory of Modules bordering on Category Theory, in Ring Theory, in Hopf Algebras and Quantum Groups, and in Corings and Comodules. Some of these fields have a long established tradition, whereas others have emerged in recent years. To all of them Robert has made significant contributions and proved to be their untiring ambassador.

Many of the contributing articles have been written by Robert's students and collaborators. The enthusiasm with which they embraced the idea of organising a conference for Robert and wrote articles dedicated specially to him, bears testimony to Robert's role in the development of Modern Algebra. They also testify to Robert's extreme friendliness, openness and helpfulness to all.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank all the local organisers of the meeting, who created such a stimulating working atmosphere and an exciting social programme in the beautiful surroundings of Porto. Special thanks go to Christian Lomp for his personal involvement in organising the conference and in editing the current volume. Without his enthusiasm, hard work and dedication, the conference and this volume would not have been possible.

Finally we would like to wish Robert many happy returns. We hope he will derive great pleasure in reading the articles contained in this volume and dedicated to him.

Editors:

Tomasz Brzeziński (Swansea) José Luis Gómez Pardo (Santiago de Compostela) Ivan Shestakov (São Paulo) Patrick Smith (Glasgow)