Preface

Infrastructure Security Conference 2002 (InfraSec 2002) was created to promote security research and the development of practical solutions in the security of infrastructures – both government and commercial – such as the effective prevention of, detection of, reporting of, response to and recovery from security incidents. The conference, sponsored by the Datacard Group and Hewlett-Packard Laboratories, was held on October 1–3, 2002. Organizational support was provided by the Center for Cryptography, Computer and Network Security Center at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Organizing a conference is a major undertaking requiring the efforts of many individuals. The Conference President, Graham Higgins (Datacard Group), oversaw all arrangements for the conference, and the General Chair, Susan Thompson (Datacard Group), oversaw the local organization and registration. Local arrangements were directed by Jan Ward (Hewlett-Packard Laboratories) and Jamie Wilson (Datacard Group). Financial arrangements were managed by Natalie Churchill (Hewlett-Packard Laboratories). We wish to thank the organizers, without whose support this conference would not have been possible.

This conference program included two keynote speakers: Bob Evans (Office of the e-Envoy) and Vic Maconachy (Department of Defense). The program committee considered 44 submissions of which 23 papers were accepted. Each submitted paper was reviewed by a minimum of three referees. These proceedings contain revised versions of the accepted papers. Revisions were not checked and the authors bear full responsibility for the content of their papers.

We thank all the authors who submitted to the conference, without which it would not have been successful. Our thanks to the program committee and all reviewers.

July 2002

George Davida, Yair Frankel, Owen Rees

Infrastructure Security 2002

October 1-3, Bristol, UK

Sponsored by

Datacard Group Hewlett-Packard Laboratories

Conference President

Graham Higgins, Datacard Group

General Chair

Susan Thompson, Datacard Group

Program Chair

George Davida, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Program Co-chairs

Yair Frankel, TechTegrity LLC Owen Rees, Hewlett-Packard Laboratories

Program Committee

Alan Borrett	CESG
Don Beaver	Seagate Research
Elisa Bertino	Universita' di Milano
	IBM
	AT&T
Giovanni DiCrescenzo	Telcordia
David Everett	Microexpert
	GMD
	Naval Postgraduate School
	University of Malaga
	Tohoku University
Wembo Mao	Hewlett-Packard Laboratories
Rene Peralta	Yale University
	Royal Holloway, University of London
	NEC