#### **Preface**

The Artificial Intelligence and Cognitive Science Conference has taken place annually since 1988. It provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and the presentation of results relating to work conducted both in Ireland and worldwide.

The conference spans a large number of fields including case-based reasoning, cognitive modeling, constraint processing, data mining, evolutionary computation, intelligent agents, intelligent information retrieval, knowledge representation and reasoning, learning, natural language processing, neural networks, perception and planning, robotics, and scheduling.

AICS 2002 was the thirteenth conference in the series and took place at University of Limerick on 12–13 September. In addition to the 16 regular papers and 17 concise papers accepted for presentation, we were delighted to welcome two prestigious keynote speakers both fitting in with the conference theme 'Towards Bio-inspired Computing'. They were David Goldberg of University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and Dario Floreano of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank our sponsors QAD Ireland and University of Limerick, as well as all those who were involved in the organisation of the conference including the Co-chairs, Programme Committee members, and Conference Administrators.

June 2002

Richard F. E. Sutcliffe

# Organisation

AICS 2002 was organized by the Department of Computer Science and Information Systems, University of Limerick, in association with the Artificial Intelligence Association of Ireland.

## Organising Committee

General Chair: Richard F.E. Sutcliffe
Publication Chair: Michael O'Neill
Program Co-chair: Conor Ryan
Local Arrangements Chair: Malachy Eaton
Program Co-chair: Niall Griffth

Conference Administrators: Maeve Gleeson, Bianca Pluk

## Programme Committee

Liam Bannon, University of Limerick

David Bell, University of Ulster at Jordanstown

Anthony Brabazon, University College Dublin

Derek Bridge, University College Cork

Jim Buckley, University of Limerick

Ruth Byrne, The University of Dublin, Trinity College

Arthur Cater, University College Dublin

J.J. Collins, University of Limerick

Ernesto Costa, University of Coimbra

Fintan Costello, Dublin City University

Roddy Cowie, Queen's University Belfast

Norman Creaney, University of Ulster at Coleraine

Fred Cummins, University College Dublin

Pádraig Cunningham, The University of Dublin, Trinity College

John Dunnion, University College Dublin

Jim Eales, University of Limerick

Malachy Eaton, University of Limerick

José Luis Fernández-Villacañas, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid

Dario Floreano, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology

Antony Galton, University of Exeter

Paul Gibson, National University of Ireland, Maynooth

David Goldberg, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Josephine Griffith, National University of Ireland, Galway

Niall Griffith, University of Limerick

Jane Grimson, The University of Dublin, Trinity College

#### VIII Organisation

Patrick Healy, University of Limerick Michael Herdy, INPRO Gareth Jones, University of Exeter Mark Keane, University College Dublin Maarten Keijzer, Vrije University, Amsterdam Nick Kushmerick, University College Dublin Michael Luck, University of Southampton Annette McElligott, University of Limerick Paul Mc Kevitt, University of Ulster at Magee David McSherry, University of Ulster at Coleraine Mike McTear, University of Ulster at Jordanstown Juan Julián Merelo, University of Granada Liam Murray, University of Limerick Fionn Murtagh, Queen's University Belfast Ajit Narayanan, University of Exeter Diarmuid O'Donoghue, National University of Ireland, Maynooth Greg O'Hare, University College Dublin Donncha Ó Maidín, University of Limerick Michael O'Neill, University of Limerick Colm O'Riordan, National University of Ireland, Galway Riccardo Poli, University of Essex Ronan Reilly, National University of Ireland, Maynooth Conor Ryan, University of Limerick Reinhard Schaeler, University of Limerick Jonathan Shapiro, University of Manchester Noel Sharkey, University of Sheffield Barry Smyth, University College Dublin Humphrey Sorensen, University College Cork Richard F. E. Sutcliffe, University of Limerick Adrian Trenaman, Iona Technologies Josef van Genabith, Dublin City University Carl Vogel, The University of Dublin, Trinity College Andy Way, Dublin City University

Adam Winstanley, National University of Ireland, Maynooth

## **Sponsors**

QAD Ireland University of Limerick