Preface

We welcome you to the Second International Conference on E-commerce and Web Technology (ECWEB 2001) held in conjunction with DEXA 2001 in Munich, Germany. This conference, now in its second year, is a forum to bring together researchers from academia and commercial developers from industry to discuss the state of the art in E-commerce and web technology and explore new ideas.

We thank you all for coming to Munich to participate and debate the new emerging advances in this area. The research presentation and discussion during the conference will help to exchange new ideas among the researchers, developers, and practitioners.

The conference program consists of an invited talk by Hannes Werthner, University of Trento, Italy, as well as the technical sessions. The regular sessions cover topics from XML Transformations and Web Development to User Behavior and Case Studies. The workshop has attracted more than 80 papers and each paper has been reviewed by at least 3 program committee members for its merit. The program committee have selected 31 papers for presentation.

We would like to express our thanks to the people who helped put together the technical program: the program committee members and external reviewers for their timely and rigorous reviews of the papers, the DEXA organizing committee for their help in administrative work and support, and special thanks to Gabriela Wagner for always responding promptly.

Finally, we would like to thank all the authors who submitted papers, those presenting papers, and the attendees who make this workshop an intellectually stimulating event.

We hope you will enjoy this conference and make it a success.

September 2001

Sanjay Kumar Madria Günther Pernul

Conference Organization

General Chair

Kurt Bauknecht, Switzerland University of Zurich

Program Chair

Electronic Commerce Günther Pernul, Germany University of Essen **Web Technologies** Sanjay Kumar Madria, USA University of Missouri-Rolla

Program Committee Members

Karl Aberer, EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland Antonio Badia, University of Louisville, USA Chaitan Baru, University of California San Diego, USA Bharat Bhargava, Purdue University, USA Anjali Bhargava, TRW, USA Sourav Saha Bhowmick, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Martin Bichler, Vienna University of Economics and BA, Austria Walter Brenner, University of Essen, Germany Stephane Bressan, National University of Singapore, Singapore Mike Burmester, Royal Holloway University of London, UK Wojciech Cellary, The Poznan University of Economics, Poland Roger Clarke, The Australian National University, Australia Asuman Dogac, Middle East Technical University, Turkey Eduardo Fernandez, Florida Atlantic University, USA Elena Ferrari, University of Milan, Italy Farshad Fotouhi, Wayne State University, USA Yongjian, Fu, University of Missouri-Rolla, USA Rüdiger Grimm, Technical University Ilmenau, Germany Kamalakar Karlapalem, HKUST, China Hiroyuki Kitagawa, University of Tsukuba, Japan Stefan Klein, University of Münster, Germany Matthias Klusch, DFKI German AI Research Center, Germany Wolfgang Koenig, University of Frankfurt, Germany Vijay Kumar, University of Missouri-Kansas City, USA Karl Kurbel, Europe University Frankfurt (Oder), Germany Winfried Lamersdorf, University of Hamburg, Germany George Lausen, University of Freiburg, Germany Alberto Laender, Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil Ronald M. Lee, Erasmus University, The Netherlands Tan Kian Lee, National University of Singapore, Singapore Wang-Chien Lee, Verizon Communications, USA

Qing Li, City University of Hong Kong, China

Ee Peng Lim, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Huan Liu, Arizona State University, USA

Heinrich C. Mayr, University of Klagenfurt, Austria

Michael Merz, Ponton GmbH, Germany

Bamshad Mobasher, DePaul University, USA

Mukesh Mohania, Western Michigan University, USA

Gustaf Neumann, Vienna University of Economics and BA, Austria

Wee-Keong Ng, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Shojiro Nishio, Osaka University, Japan

Rolf Oppliger, eSECURITY Technologies, Switzerland

Stefano Paraboschi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Oscar Pastor, Universidad Politecnica de Valencia, Spain

Evangelia Pitoura, University of Ionia, Greece

Gerald Quirchmayr, University of Vienna, Austria

Kai Rannenberg, Microsoft Research Cambridge, UK

P. Krishna Reddy, University of Tokyo, Japan

Alexander Roehm, University of Essen, Germany

Elke A. Rudensteiner, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA

Tomas Sabol, University of Technology Kosice, Slovakia

N. L. Sarda, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India

Peter Scheuermann, Northwestern University, USA

Stephanie Teufel, Université de Fribourg, Switzerland

Paul Timmers, European Commission DG XIII, Belgium

A Min Tjoa, Vienna Technical University, Austria

Aphrodite Tsalgatidou, University of Athens, Greece

Krishnamurthy Vidyasankar, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada

Hans Weigand, Tilburg University, The Netherlands

Richard J. Welke, Georgia State University, USA

Hannes Werthner, University of Trento, Italy

Andrew B. Whinston, University of Texas, USA

Vladimir Zwass, Fairleigh Dickinson University, USA

Additional Reviewers

Fredj Dridi, Yoshiharu Ishikawa, Jouni Markkula, Torsten Priebe, Jahn Rentmeister, Torsten Schlichting, Bernd Schneider, Anya Sotiropoulou, Dimitrios Theotokis