### **Preface**

This volume contains the proceedings of the conference on Computer Aided Verification (CAV 2002), held in Copenhagen, Denmark on July 27-31, 2002. CAV 2002 was the 14th in a series of conferences dedicated to the advancement of the theory and practice of computer-assisted formal analysis methods for software and hardware systems. The conference covers the spectrum from theoretical results to concrete applications, with an emphasis on practical verification tools, including algorithms and techniques needed for their implementation. The conference has traditionally drawn contributions from researchers as well as practitioners in both academia and industry.

This year we received 94 regular paper submissions out of which 35 were selected. Each submission received an average of 4 referee reviews. In addition, the CAV program contained 11 tool presentations selected from 16 submissions. For each tool presentation, a demo was given at the conference. The large number of tool submissions and presentations testifies to the liveliness of the field and its applied flavor.

The CAV 2002 program included a tutorial day with three invited tutorials by Wolfgang Thomas (Aachen) on Infinite Games and Verification, Patrick Cousot (ENS Paris) on Abstraction in Software Verification and Thomas A. Henzinger (Berkeley) on The Symbolic Approach to Hybrid Systems. The conference also included two invited talks by Sharad Malik (Princeton) on The Quest for Efficient Boolean Satisfiability Solvers and Gerard J. Holzmann (Bell Labs) on Software Analysis and Model Checking. In addition, there were three workshops associated with CAV 2002:

- PAPM-PROBMIV: Process Algebras and Performance Modeling/Probabilistic Methods in Verification.
- RT-TOOLS: Workshop on Real-Time Tools.
- RV: Run-Time Verification.

The publication of these workshop proceedings was managed by their respective chairs, independently of the present proceedings.

We would like to thank all the Program Committee members and the subreferees who assisted in their work. Our thanks also go to the Steering Committee members and last year's organizers for their helpful advice. The Local Organization Chair, Jens Christian Godskesen, deserves our gratitude for his contributions throughout the preparations. We would also like to thank the invited speakers and invited tutorial speakers, the authors of submitted papers, and all the participants of the conference. Special thanks go to Brian Nielsen for installing and managing the START Conference system and to Ole Høgh Jensen for the production of the final proceedings.

This year, CAV was part of the Federated Logic Conference (FLoC 2002), and was organized jointly with CADE (Conference on Automated Deduction),

#### VI Preface

FME (Formal Methods Europe), ICL (International Conference on Logic Programming), LICS (Logic in Computer Science), RTA (Rewriting Techniques and Applications), and TABLEAUX (Automated Reasoning with Analytic Tableaux and Related Methods). In particular, the invited talk given by Sharad Malik was joint with CADE 2002, and the paper also appears, in identical form, in the proceedings of CADE 2002. In addition, FLoC included 31 workshops associated with the different conferences. We would like to acknowledge the help of the FLoC 2002 steering committee Moshe Y. Vardi (General Chair), Neil D. Jones (Conference Chair), Ulrich Firbach (CADE), Edmund M. Clarke (CAV), Dines Bjørner (CAV), Catuscia Palamidessi (ICLP), Samson Abramsky (LICS), Nachum Dershowitz (RTA), Reiner Hähnle (TABLEAUX), Harald Ganzinger (Associate General Chair), and Dana Scott (IFCOLOG).

Finally, we gratefully acknowledge support from IBM, Esterel Technologies, IT-U of Copenhagen, the Department of Computer Science at Aalborg University, Twente University, and BRICS.

May 2002

Ed Brinksma and Kim Guldstrand Larsen

### Program Committee

Thomas Ball (Microsoft Research)

David Basin (Freiburg) Armin Biere (ETH Zürich) Ed Brinksma (Twente, co-chair) Werner Damm (Oldenburg) E. Allen Emerson (Austin) Alain Finkel (Cachan)

Nicolas Halbwachs (IMAG Grenoble)

John Hatcliff (Kansas State) Klaus Havelund (NASA)

Thomas A. Henzinger (Berkeley) Andreas Kuehlmann (Cadence)

Orna Kupferman (Jerusalem)

Kim G. Larsen (Aalborg, co-chair)

Tim Leonard (Compaq) Ken McMillan (Cadence) Kedar Namjoshi (Bell Labs) Doron A. Peled (Austin) Amir Pnueli (Weizmann Inst.) Natarajan Shankar (SRI)

Joseph Sifakis (IMAG Grenoble)

Fabio Somenzi (Boulder) Bernhard Steffen (Dortmund) Yaron Wolfsthal (IBM) Wang Yi (Uppsala)

# Steering Committee

Edmund M. Clarke (CMU) Robert Kurshan (Cadence) Amir Pnueli (Weizmann Inst.) Joseph Sifakis (IMAG Grenoble)

# Local Organizer

Jens Christian Godskesen (IT-U of Copenhagen)

# Sponsors

**IBM** Dept. of CS, Aalborg University

Esterel Technologies Twente University

IT-U of Copenhagen BRICS

#### Referees

Parosh Abdulla Gerd Behrmann Ionut Buricea Nina Amla Shoham Ben-David Franck Cassez Pavol Cerny Pablo Argon Johan Bengtsson Hana Chockler Tamarah Arons Sergev Berezin Thomas Colcombet Cyrille Artho Roderick Bloem Evgueni Asarin Bernard Boigelot Dennis Dams Michele Boreale Alexandre David Gadiel Auerbach Abdelwaheb Ayari Ahmed Bouajjani Xiaoqun Du Kamel Barkaoui M. Duflot Patricia Bouyer Sharon Barner Marius Bozga Bruno Dutertre

#### VIII Organization

Matthew Dwyer Niklas Een Cindy Eisner Kousha Etessami Monica Farkash Jean-Claude Fernandez D. Fink Dana Fisman **Emmanuel Fleury** Martin Fränzle Carl Chr. Frederiksen L. Fribourg Dimitra Giannakopoulou Patrice Godefroid Jean Goubault-Larrecq Susanne Graf Claudia Gsottberger Elsa Gunter Alan Hartman Frederic Herbreteau Holger Hermanns Gerard Holzmann Hardi Hungar Radu Iosif S. Iyer Damir Jamsek Somesh Jha Ranjit Jhala HoonSang Jin Damien Joly Bengt Jonsson Bernhard Josko Marcin Jurszinski Vineet Kahlon M. Kaltenbach

Joost-Pieter Katoen

Olga Kouchnarenko

Felix Klaedtke

Nils Klarlund

Jens Knoop

Hillel Kugler

Robert P. Kurshan Yassine Lakhnech Rom Langerak Jim Larus Jerome Leroux Xavier Leroy Bing Li Angelika Mader Monika Maidl Rupak Majumdar Oded Maler Freddy Mang Panagiotis Manolios Nicolas Markey Ken McMillan Jon Millen Mark Minas Sebastian Moedersheim Oliver Möller In-Ho Moon Remi Morin Laurent Mounier Leonardo de Moura Markus Müller-Olm Uwe Nestmann Juergen Niehaus Oliver Niese Thomas Noll Abelardo Pardo Corina Pasareanu Charles Pecheur Wojciech Penczek Paul Pettersson Claudine Picaronny Nir Piterman Shaz Qadeer Sriram K. Rajamani Kavita Ravi S. Ray E. Reeber Iris Reuveni

Grigore Rosu Sitvanit Ruah Harald Ruess John Rushby Oliver Rüthing Theo Ruys Hassen Saidi Jun Sawada Viktor Schuppan Helmut Seidl Ohad Shaham Elad Shahar Gil Shurek Maria Sorea Robert Staerk Christian Stehno M. Sustik Gregoire Sutre Ashish Tiwari Richard J. Trefler Jan Tretmans Stavros Tripakis Tomas Uribe Moshe Vardi Miroslav Velev Luca Vigano S. Vinod Willem Visser T. Wahl Chao Wang Farn Wang Ingo Wegener Jon Whittle Thomas Wilke Harro Wimmel Burkhart Wolff Heisung Yoo Emmanuel Zarpas Wenhui Zhang C. Zhou Lenore Zuck