# Preface

Welcome to IWQoS 2001 in Karlsruhe!

Quality of Service is a very active research field, especially in the networking community. Research in this area has been going on for some time, with results getting into development and finally reaching the stage of products. Trends in research as well as a reality check will be the purpose of this Ninth International Workshop on Quality of Service.

IWQoS is a very successful series of workshops and has established itself as one of the premier forums for the presentation and discussion of new research and ideas on QoS. The importance of this workshop series is also reflected in the large number of excellent submissions. Nearly 150 papers from all continents were submitted to the workshop, about a fifth of these being short papers. The program committee were very pleased with the quality of the submissions and had the difficult task of selecting the relatively small number of papers which could be accepted for IWQoS 2001. Due to the tough competition, many very good papers had to be rejected.

The accepted papers included in these proceedings can be neatly structured into sessions and we have a very interesting workshop program which covers the following areas: Provisioning and Pricing; Systems QoS; Routing; TCP Related; Aggregation and Active Networks Based QoS; Wireless and Mobile; Scheduling and Dropping; and Scheduling and Admission Control. Finally, we have a session in which the accepted short papers will be presented. The contributed workshop program is complemented by a strong invited program with presentations on "Quality of Service – 20 years old and ready to get a job?" and "Automated, dynamic traffic engineering in multi-service IP networks", and by a panel discussion on "How will media distribution work in the Internet?".

While IWQoS is now a very well established event, we nevertheless want it to be a lively workshop with lots of interesting discussions. Thus, we would like to encourage all participants to take an active part during the discussions of the presented work as well as during the breaks and social events.

Here we would also like to thank our sponsors and patrons, namely SAP AG / CEC Karlsruhe – Corporate Research, Enterasys Networks, Ericsson Eurolab, Siemens, IBM, NENTEC, and Gunther-Schroff-Stiftung, who helped to make the workshop possible. Moreover, IWQoS 2001 is supported by technical co-sponsorship in-cooperation with the IEEE Communications Society, ACM SIGCOMM, and IFIP WG 6.1.

We heartily thank the program committee, and also all the expert reviewers, for their efforts and hard work especially in the reviewing and selection process - a large number of reviews had to be prepared in a very short time!

Finally, many thanks to the local organizers, especially Klaus Wehrle and Marc Bechler, but also all the other people helping with the workshop organization.

June 2001

Lars Wolf, David Hutchison, and Ralf Steinmetz

## Workshop Co-chairs

Lars Wolf	University of Karlsruhe
David Hutchison	Lancaster University
Ralf Steinmetz	GMD IPSI and Darmstadt University of Technology

## **IWQoS Steering Committee**

Jon Crowcroft	University College London
Rich Friedrich	HP Labs
Edward Knightly	Rice University
Peter Steenkiste	Carnegie Mellon University
Hui Zhang	Carnegie Mellon University

# **Program Committee**

Nina Bhatti Gordon Blair Jose Brustoloni Andrew Campbell Georg Carle Jon Crowcroft Bruce Davie Hermann de Meer Jan de Meer Jan de Meer Serge Fdida Rich Friedrich David Hutchison Kevin Jeffay Edward Knightly Jim Kurose Jorg Liebeherr Qingming Ma	Nokia Lancaster University Bell Labs Columbia University GMD FOKUS University College London Cisco University College London GMD FOKUS University Paris 6 – LIP6 HP Labs Lancaster University University of North Carolina Rice University University of Massachusetts University of Virginia Cisco
Klara Nahrstedt Andrew Odlyzko	University of Illinois AT&T Research
Jim Roberts	France Telecom
Jens Schmitt Yuval Shavitt	Darmstadt University Tel Aviv University
Cormac Sreenan	University College Cork
Peter Steenkiste	Carnegie Mellon University
Ralf Steinmetz Burkhard Stiller	GMD IPSI and Darmstadt University of Technology ETH Zurich
Ion Stoica	Carnegie Mellon University
Lars Wolf	University of Karlsruhe
John Wrocławski	MIT

### **Local Organization**

Lars Wolf	University of Karlsruhe
Klaus Wehrle	University of Karlsruhe
Marc Bechler	University of Karlsruhe

#### Reviewers

Ralf Ackermann, Darmstadt Univ. Pascal Anelli, Univ. Paris 6 Marc Bechler, Univ. of Karlsruhe Nabil Benameur, France Telecom Nicole Berier, Darmstadt Univ. Nina Bhatti, Nokia Gordon Blair, Lancaster Univ. Roland Bless, Univ. of Karlsruhe Thomas Bonald, France Telecom Jose Brustoloni, Bell Labs Andrew Campbell, Columbia Univ. Roberto Canonico, Univ. Napoli Georg Carle, GMD FOKUS Coskun Cetinkaya, Rice Univ. Anna Charny, Cisco Nicolas Christin, Univ. of Virginia Luis Costa, Univ. Paris 6 Jon Crowcroft, Univ. College London Vasilios Darlagiannis, Darmstadt Univ. Bruce Davie, Cisco Hermann de Meer, Univ. College London Jan de Meer, GMD FOKUS Martin Dunmore, Lancaster Univ. Larry Dunn, Cisco Hasan, ETH Zurich Christopher Edwards, Lancaster Univ. Thomas Erlebach, ETH Zurich Serge Fdida, Univ. Paris 6 Ulrich Fiedler, ETH Zurich Clarence Filsfils, Cisco Anne Fladenmuller, Univ. Paris 6 Placi Flury, ETH Zurich Rich Friedrich, HP Labs Huirong Fu, Rice Univ. Violeta Gambiroza, Rice Univ. Carsten Griwodz, Univ. of Oslo Stefan Gruhl, Rice Univ. Robert Haas, IBM Zurich Oliver Heckmann, Darmstadt Univ. Andreas Hoffmann, GMD FOKUS Polly Huang, ETH Zurich David Hutchison, Lancaster Univ. Kevin Jeffay, Univ. of North Carolina Verena Kahmann, Univ. of Karlsruhe Vikram Kanodia, Rice Univ. Martin Karsten, Darmstadt Univ. Edward Knightly, Rice Univ. Jim Kurose, Univ. of Massachusetts

Aleksandar Kuzmanovic, Rice Univ. Gwendal Le Grand, Univ. Paris 6 Chengzhi Li, Rice Univ. Yuhong Li, Univ. of Karlsruhe Jorg Liebeherr, Univ. of Virginia Yonghe Liu, Rice Univ. Oingming Ma, Cisco Laurent Mathy, Lancaster Univ. Klara Nahrstedt, Univ. of Illinois Andrew Odlyzko, AT&T Research Philippe Olivier, France Telecom Sara Oueslati-Boulahia, France Telecom Philippe Owezarski, LAAS-CNRS Dimitris Pezaros, Lancaster Univ. Roman Pletka, IBM Zurich Alexandre Proutiere, France Telecom Supranamaya Ranjan, Rice Univ. Christoph Reichert, GMD FOKUS Axel Rennoch, GMD FOKUS Hartmut Ritter, Univ. of Karlsruhe James Roberts, France Telecom Rudolf Roth, GMD FOKUS Bahareh Sadeghi, Rice Univ. Kave Salamatian, Univ. Paris 6 Henning Sanneck, Siemens AG Susana Sargento, Rice Univ. Jens Schmitt, Darmstadt Univ. Yuval Shavitt, Tel Aviv Univ. Promethee Spathis, Univ. Paris 6 Cormac Sreenan, Univ. College Cork Peter Steenkiste, Carnegie Mellon Univ. Ralf Steinmetz, GMD IPSI & Darmstadt U. Burkhard Stiller, ETH Zurich Ion Stoica, Carnegie Mellon Univ. Kim Thai, Univ. Paris 6 Rolland Vida, Univ. Paris 6 Klaus Wehrle, Univ. of Karlsruhe Dorota Witaszek, GMD FOKUS Lars Wolf, Univ. of Karlsruhe Thomas Wolfram, GMD FOKUS John Wroclawski, MIT Ping Yuan, Rice Univ. Sebastian Zander, GMD FOKUS Remi Zara, Univ. Paris 6 Michael Zink, Darmstadt Univ. Artur Ziviani, Univ. Paris 6 Tanja Zseby, GMD FOKUS

VIII Preface

### Supporting/Sponsoring Societies

IEEE Communications Society

Technical Committees on Computer Communications (TCCC) and Internet (ITC) ACM SIGCOMM IFIP WG6.1

### Supporting/Sponsoring Companies and Foundations



CEC Karlsruhe - Corporate Research







	 _		
		6 B	
		-	
		10	

**Gunther-Schroff-Stiftung** 

