Preface

This volume contains the papers presented at the Seventh International Conference on Logic for Programming and Automated Reasoning (LPAR 2000) held on Reunion Island, France, 6–10 November 2000, followed by the Reunion Workshop on Implementation of Logic.

Sixty-five papers were submitted to LPAR 2000 of which twenty-six papers were accepted. Submissions by the program committee members were not allowed. There was a special category of experimental papers intended to describe implementations of systems, to report experiments with implemented systems, or to compare implemented systems. Each of the submissions was reviewed by at least three program committee members and an electronic program committee meeting was held via the Internet.

In addition to the refereed papers, this volume contains full papers by two of the four invited speakers, Georg Gottlob and Michaël Rusinowitch, along with an extended abstract of Bruno Courcelle's invited lecture and an abstract of Erich Grädel's invited lecture.

We would like to thank the many people who have made LPAR 2000 possible. We are grateful to the following groups and individuals: the program and organizing committees; the additional referees; the local arrangements chair Teodor Knapik; Pascal Manoury, who was in charge of accommodation; Konstantin Korovin, who maintained the program committee Web page; and Bill McCune, who implemented the program committee management software.

September 2000

Michel Parigot Andrei Voronkov

Conference Organization

Program Chairs

Michel Parigot (University of Paris VII) Andrei Voronkov (University of Manchester)

Assistant to Program Chairs

Konstantin Korovin

Program Committee

Stefano Berardi (Università di Torino)

Manfred Broy (Technische Universität München)

Maurice Bruynooghe (Catholic University of Leuven)

Hubert Comon (Ecole Normale Supérieure de Cachan)

Gilles Dowek (INRIA Rocquencourt)

Harald Ganzinger (Max-Planck Institut, Saarbrücken)

Mike Gordon (University of Cambridge)

Yuri Gurevich (Microsoft Research)

Pascal van Hentenryck (Brown University)

Neil Jones (DIKU University of Copenhagen)

Teodor Knapik (Université de la Réunion)

Yves Lafont (Université de la Méditerrannée)

Daniel Leivant (Indiana University)

Maurizio Lenzerini (Universitè di Roma)

Giorgio Levi (Pisa University)

Leonid Libkin (Bell Laboratories)

Patrick Lincoln (SRI International)

David McAllester (AT&T Labs Research)

Robert Nieuwenhuis (Technical University of Catalonia)

Mitsuhiro Okada (Keio University)

Leszek Pacholski (University of Wroclaw)

Catuscia Palamidessi (Pennsylvania State University)

Frank Pfenning (Carnegie Mellon University)

Helmut Schwichtenberg (Ludwig-Maximilian Universität)

Jan Smith (Chalmers University)

Wolfgang Thomas (RWTH Aachen)

Local Organization

Teodor Knapik (Université de la Réunion)

Pascal Manoury (University of Paris VI)

List of Referees

Klaus Aehlig Ofer Arieli

Philippe Audebaud Roberto Bagnara Mike Barnett Chantal Berline Michel Bidoit

Thierry Boy de la Tour

Max Breitling
Francisco Bueno
Diego Calvanese
Felice Cardone
Roberto di Cosmo
Ferruccio Damiani
Norman Danner
Juergen Dix

Juergen Dix Norbert Eisinger Sandro Etalle Gianluigi Ferrari Michael Gelfond Paola Giannini Roberta Gori

Jean Goubault-Larrecq

Colin Hirsch Steffen Hölldobler Ullrich Hustadt Felix Joachimski Emanuel Kieronski Claude Kirchner Konstantin Korovin Ingolf Krüger Ugo de'Liguoro

Denis Lugiez
Ian Mackie
Pascal Manoury

Wiktor Marek Dale Miller

Marcin Mlotkowski

Christophe Morvan Hans de Nivelle Damian Niwinski David von Oheimb Etienne Payet Olivier Ridoux Riccardo Rosati Dean Rosenzweig Francesca Rossi Albert Rubio Thomas Rudlof Paul Ruet

Salvatore Ruggieri Pawel Rychlikowski Bernhard Schätz Philippe Schnoebelen Francesca Scozzari Jens Peter Secher Alexander Serebrenik Natarajan Shankar Katharina Spies Robert Staerk Ralf Steinbrüggen Karl Stroetmann Peter Stuckey David Toman Tomasz Truderung Moshe Vardi

Moshe Vardi Margus Veanes Klaus Weich Emil Weydert Enea Zaffanella

Conferences preceding LPAR 2000

RCLP'90, Irkutsk, Soviet Union, 1990

RCLP'91, Leningrad, Soviet Union, aboard the ship "Michail Lomonosov", 1991

LPAR'92, St. Petersburg, Russia, aboard the ship "Michail Lomonosov", 1992

LPAR'93, St. Petersburg, Russia, 1993

LPAR'94, Kiev, Ukraine, aboard the ship "Marshal Koshevoi", 1994

LPAR'99, Tbilisi, Republic of Georgia, 1999