Preface

On behalf of the Organizing Committee for this event, I was glad to welcome the participants to CRIWG 2002, the 8th International Workshop on Groupware. I hope they enjoyed the traditional Chilean hospitality.

The CRIWG workshops are rooted in the Ibero-American community of researchers, but the latest versions have evolved to become truly open and international forums for researchers working in CSCW, CSCL and their applications. This has occurred thanks to the vision and work of the members of the CRIWG Steering Committee, notably Pedro Antunes, Marcos R. S. Borges, Jesús Favela, Jörg M. Haake, and Ana C. Salgado.

The Program Committee prepared a rich scientific schedule of activities. I wish to thank this Committee for its excellent work and especially its Chairman, Jörg Haake, who dedicated many valuable hours to ensure the success of the workshop. We added several social activities to the schedule, opportunities for informal discussion, establishing new research contacts, or simply getting to know new colleagues.

Several other people worked in the preparation of the event. I would like to thank Margarita García, Luis Guerrero and Sergio Ochoa for their enthusiastic support and hard work as members of the Organizing Committee. Also, I am grateful to Alejandro Fernández, who organized the Doctoral Consortium. The student volunteers helped with many details. I wish to mention three institutions and a company which helped to make this event possible: The institutions are Conicyt (the Chilean Government Science and Technology Office), the Universidad de Chile (which provided support), and the Universidad de La Serena (which provided local support). The company is Codelco, which sponsored the event.

September 2002

José A. Pino

Foreword

Welcome to the 8th International Workshop on Groupware (CRIWG 2002)! The previous workshops took place in Lisbon, Portugal (1995), Puerto Varas, Chile (1996), El Escorial, Spain (1997), Búzios, Brazil (1998), Cancun, Mexico (1999), Madeira, Portugal (2000), and Darmstadt, Germany (2001). CRIWG workshops follow a simple recipe for success: good papers, a small number of participants, extensive time for lively and constructive discussions, and a high level of cooperation both within and between paper sessions. CRIWG 2002 continued this tradition.

CRIWG 2002 attracted 36 submissions from 13 countries, nine of them outside Ibero-America. Each of the 36 articles submitted was reviewed by at least three members of an internationally renowned Program Committee. This year we used a double-blind reviewing process, i.e., the reviewers did not know who the authors of the papers were. In addition, the reviewers were chosen based on their expertise and we also ensured that they came from countries and institutions not related to those of the paper's authors. This reviewer assignment worked remarkably well, as indicated by the high average confidence value the reviewers gave their own reviews. This means that papers were usually reviewed by experts in the paper's topic. As a consequence, reviews were usually quite extensive and contained many suggestions for improvements. I would like to thank all the members of the Program Committee for their hard work, which I am sure contributed to improving the quality of the final articles.

As a result of this rigorous reviewing process, 18 papers were accepted: nine long papers and nine work-in-progress papers. This year's program grouped these papers into six sessions on CSCL, meeting support, design and development support, awareness, evaluation and tailoring, and infrastructure. Enjoy!

Finally, many thanks to all authors who submitted articles and helped to make CRIWG 2002 a success. I would also like to thank the members of the Organizing Committee, chaired by José A. Pino, for their smooth organization of this workshop.

September 2002

Jörg M. Haake

Conference Organization

Program Committee Chair

Jörg M. Haake, FernUniversität Hagen, Germany

Program Committee Members

Pedro Antunes, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal Beatriz Barros Blanco, UNED, Spain Karin Becker, PUCRS, Brazil Marcos Borges, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Dominique Decouchant, LSR-IMAG, France Yannis Dimitriadis, Universidad de Valladolid, Spain Henrique Domingos, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal Oswald Drobnik, University of Frankfurt, Germany Jesus Favela, CICESE, Mexico Alejandro Fernández, Fraunhofer IPSI, Germany Jutta Fleschutz, Fraunhofer IPSI, Germany Hugo Fuks, PUC/RJ, Brazil Renee Gedge, Monash University, Australia Steve Poltrock, Boeing, USA Luis Guerrero, Universidad de Chile, Chile Jörg M. Haake, FernUniversität Hagen, Germany H. Ulrich Hoppe, University of Duisburg, Germany Marcelo Milrad, Framkom and Växjö University, Sweden Christine M. Neuwirth, CMU, USA Gary Olson, University of Michigan, USA Jose Alberto Pino, Universidad de Chile, Chile Atul Prakash, University of Michigan, USA Wolfgang Prinz, Fraunhofer FIT, Germany Mike Robinson, University of Jvvaskvla, Finland Manuel Romero-Salcedo, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico Ana Carolina Salgado, Federal University of Pernambuco, Brazil J. Alfredo Sánchez, Universidad de las Américas-Puebla, Mexico Gerry Stahl, Fraunhofer FIT, Germany Ivan Tomek, Acadia University, Canada Gert-Jan de Vreede, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands Martin Wessner, Fraunhofer IPSI, Germany Weigang Wang, Fraunhofer IPSI, Germany

Conference Chair

José A. Pino, Universidad de Chile, Chile

Reviewers

Pedro Antunes Beatriz Barros Blanco Karin Becker Marcos Borges Dominique Decouchant Yannis Dimitriadis Henrique Domingos Oswald Drobnik Jesus Favela Alejandro Fernández Jutta Fleschutz Hugo Fuks Renee Gedge Steve Poltrock Luis Guerrero Jörg M. Haake H. Ulrich Hoppe Marcelo Milrad Christine M. Neuwirth Sergio F. Ochoa Gary Olson José Alberto Pino Atul Prakash Wolfgang Prinz Timothy Read Mike Robinson Jessica Rubart Manuel Romero-Salcedo Ana Carolina Salgado J. Alfredo Sánchez Gerry Stahl Ivan Tomek Gert-Jan de Vreede Martin Wessner Weigang Wang