Preface

This volume contains papers presented at the Fifteenth Annual Conference on Computational Learning Theory (COLT 2002) held on the main campus of the University of New South Wales in Sydney, Australia from July 8 to 10, 2002. Naturally, these are papers in the field of computational learning theory, a research field devoted to studying the design and analysis of algorithms for making predictions about the future based on past experiences, with an emphasis on rigorous mathematical analysis.

COLT 2002 was co-located with the Nineteenth International Conference on Machine Learning (ICML 2002) and with the Twelfth International Conference on Inductive Logic Programming (ILP 2002).

Note that COLT 2002 was the first conference to take place after the full merger of the Annual Conference on Computational Learning Theory with the European Conference on Computational Learning Theory. (In 2001 a joint conference consisting of the 5th European Conference on Computational Learning Theory and the 14th Annual Conference on Computational Learning Theory was held; the last independent European Conference on Computational Learning Theory was held in 1999.)

The technical program of COLT 2002 contained 26 papers selected from 55 submissions. In addition, Christos Papadimitriou (University of California at Berkeley) was invited to give a keynote lecture and to contribute an abstract of his lecture to these proceedings.

The Mark Fulk Award is presented annually for the best paper coauthored by a student. This year's award was won by Sandra Zilles for the paper "Merging Uniform Inductive Learners."

April 2002

Jyrki Kivinen Robert H. Sloan

Thanks and Acknowledgments

We gratefully thank all the individuals and organizations responsible for the success of the conference.

Program Committee

We especially want to thank the program committee: Dana Angluin (Yale), Javed Aslam (Dartmouth), Peter Bartlett (BIOwulf Technologies), Shai Ben-David (Technion), John Case (Univ. of Delaware), Peter Grünwald (CWI), Ralf Herbrich (Microsoft Research), Mark Herbster (University College London), Gábor Lugosi (Pompeu Fabra University), Ron Meir (Technion), Shahar Mendelson (Australian National Univ.), Michael Schmitt (Ruhr-Universität Bochum), Rocco Servedio (Harvard), and Santosh Vempala (MIT).

We also acknowledge the creators of the CyberChair software for making a software package that helped the committee do its work.

Local Arrangements, Co-located Conferences Support

Special thanks go to our conference chair Arun Sharma and local arrangements chair Eric Martin (both at Univ. of New South Wales) for setting up COLT 2002 in Sydney. Rochelle McDonald and Sue Lewis provided administrative support. Claude Sammut in his role as conference chair of ICML and program co-chair of ILP ensured smooth coordination with the two co-located conferences.

COLT Community

For keeping the COLT series going, we thank the COLT steering committee, and especially Chair John Shawe-Taylor and Treasurer John Case for all their hard work. We also thank Stephen Kwek for maintaining the COLT web site at http://www.learningtheory.org.

Sponsoring Institution

School of Computer Science and Engineering, University of New South Wales, Australia

Referees

Peter Auer
Andrew Barto
Stephane Boucheron
Olivier Bousquet
Nicolò Cesa-Bianchi
Tapio Elomaa
Ran El-Yaniv
Allan Erskine
Henning Fernau
Jürgen Forster
Dean Foster
Claudio Gentile
Judy Goldsmith
Thore Graepel

Lisa Hellerstein
Daniel Herrmann
Colin de la Higuera
Sean Holden
Marcus Hutter
Sanjay Jain
Yuri Kalnishkan
Makoto Kanazawa
Satoshi Kobayashi
Vladimir Koltchinskii
Matti Kääriäinen
Wee Sun Lee
Shie Mannor
Ryan O'Donnell

Alain Pajor
Gunnar Rätsch
Robert Schapire
John Shawe-Taylor
Takeshi Shinohara
David Shmoys
Yoram Singer
Carl Smith
Frank Stephan
György Turán
Paul Vitányi
Manfred Warmuth
Jon A. Wellner
Robert C. Williamson