## **Preface**

AI 2002 is the 15th in the series of annual conferences on artificial intelligence held in Australia. This conference is the major forum for the presentation of artificial intelligence research in Australia, encompassing all aspects of that broad field. It has traditionally attracted significant international participation, as was again the case in 2002.

The current volume is based on the proceedings of AI 2002. Full length versions of all submitted papers were referred by an international program committee, each paper receiving at least two independent reviews. As a result, 62 papers were selected for oral presentation in the conference, and 12 more for poster presentation, out of 117 submissions. One-page abstracts of the posters are published in this volume, along with the full papers selected for oral presentation.

In addition to the scientific track represented here, the conference featured a program of tutorials and workshops, and plenary talks by five invited speakers: Peter van Beek (University of Waterloo, Canada), Eric Bonabeau (Icosystem Corporation, USA), Ming Li (University of California at Santa Barbara), Bernhard Nebel (Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, Germany) and Zoltan Somogyi (University of Melbourne, Australia). It was colocated with a number of related events: an AI Applications Symposium, the 6th Australia-Japan Joint Workshop on Intelligent and Evolutionary Systems, the Australasian Workshop on Computational Logic (AWCL), and the annual conference of the Australasian Association for Logic (AAL).

AI 2002 was presented by the Australian National University, the University of Canberra, and the University of New South Wales through the Australian Defence Force Academy. In addition to those institutions, we wish to thank the many people whose contribution made the conference possible, starting with the Program Committee and panel of reviewers who produced over 200 reviews of papers under time constraints. We also wish to thank our colleagues on the Conference Committee chaired by John Lloyd, and especially the Organizing Chair, Hussein Abbass.

Finally, this work is partially sponsored by the Department of the Navy Grant N62649-02-1-0009 issued by US FISC YOKOSUKA. The United States Government has a royalty-free license throughout the world in all copyrightable material contained herein.

December 2002

Robert I. McKay John Slaney

## Conference Officials

### Committee Chairs

General Chair John Lloyd (Australian National University)
Advisory Co-chairs Charles Newton (University of New South Wa-

les) and Michael Wagner (University of Can-

berra)

Organizing Chair Hussein Abbass (University of New South Wa-

les)

Technical Co-chairs Bob McKay (University of New South Wales)

and John Slaney (ANU)

AI Symposium Chair Eric Tsui (CSC, Computer Sciences Corpora-

tion, Australia)

Special Events and Workshops Ruhul Sarker (University of New South Wales)

Chair

Tutorials Chair Masoud Mohammadian (UC)

Publicity Chair Rohan Baxter (CSIRO, Commonwealth Scien-

tific & Industrial Research Organization)

Sponsorship Chair Daryl Essam (University of New South Wales)

# Program Committee

Hussein Abbass: Australian Defence Force Academy

Leila Alem: CSIRO

Mark Bedau: Reed University, USA Alan Blair: University of Melbourne Michael Brooks: University of Adelaide

Rod Brooks: Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Robert Dale: Macquarie University Paul Darwen: University of Queensland Tom Gedeon: Murdoch University John Gero: University of Sydney David Green: Charles Sturt University

Jong-Hwan Kim: Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology

Van Le: University of Canberra

John Lloyd: Australian National University

Kim Marriott: Monash University

Bob McKay: Australian Defence Force Academy Masoud Mohammadian: University of Canberra

Ann Nicholson: Monash University Mehmet Orgun: Macquarie University

Morri Pagnucco: University of New South Wales

#### VIII Organization

Marcus Randall: Bond University

Ruhul Sarker: Australian Defence Force Academy Ken Satoh: National Institute of Informatics, Japan

Abdul Sattar: Griffith University

Joaquin Sitte: Queensland University of Technology

John Slaney: Australian National University Sylvie Thiébaux: Australian National University

Paolo Traverso: IRST, Trento, Italy

Eric Tsui: CSC

Michael Wagner: University of Canberra Toby Walsh: University College Cork, Ireland

Geoff Webb: Deakin University Graham Williams: CSIRO

Maryanne Williams: Newcastle University Alex Zelinsky: Australian National University

Chengqi Zhang: Deakin University Ingrid Zukerman: Monash University

### Other Referees

Guido Governatori

David Albrecht Victor Jauregui Paolo Avesani Charles Kemp Stuart Bain Robert Kowalski Michael Barlow Padmanabhan Krishnan Marco Benedetti Rex Kwok Piergiorgio Bertoli Yuefeng Li Lawrie Brown Chunsheng Li Antonio Cerone Lee Mansfield Samir Chopra Bernd Meyer Frantz Clermont Naovuki Nide Philippe Codognet Vineet Padmanabhan Enrico Giunchiglia Andrew Paplinski

Torsten Seemann

Luciano Serafini Steve Sugden John Thornton Satoshi Tojo Rodney Topor Biao Wang Yingying Wen Akihiro Yamamoto

Ying Yang Xin Yao Shichao Zhang Zili Zhang