Preface

A new millennium has started and new tools, heirs of three decades of research and development in the Logic Programming paradigm, are bringing new solutions to cope with the increasing complexity of today's computer systems. Computational logic in general and logic programming in particular will always play a key role in the understanding, formalizing, and development of complex software.

ICLP 2001 was the 17th International Conference on Logic Programming and continued a series of conferences initiated in Marseille, France, in 1982. This year ICLP was held in conjunction with CP 2001, the 7th International Conference on Principle and Practice of Constraint Programming. A coordinated program schedule and joint events were organized in order to maximize the interaction between these two neighboring communities. LOPSTR 2001, the 11th international workshop on Logic-based Program Synthesis and Transformation was also co-located with ICLP 2001 and CP 2001 this year, bringing together a larger community to share novel research results. Seven satellite workshops were also associated to the conference and took place on the day following the conference.

We received 64 papers, among which 23 were selected for presentation at the conference and inclusion in the conference proceedings. In addition to paper presentations, the conference program also included four invited talks and four tutorials. We chose this year to celebrate the founders of the logic programming field, namely Alain Colmerauer and Bob Kowalski, who are both celebrating their 60th birthday. The other two invited talks were given by Patrick Cousot, pioneer in the field of abstract interpretation, and Ashish Gupta, who presented his industrial experience on cross-enterprise databases at amazon.com and Tavant Technologies. The four tutorials were given by Eric Villemonte de la Clergerie, V.S. Subrahmanian, Kazunori Ueda, and Jan Wielemaker.

I would like to thank all the authors of the submitted papers, the Program Committee members, and the referees for their time and efforts spent in the reviewing process, the conference chair Tony Kakas and his team at the University of Cyprus for the excellent organization of the conference, and Toby Walsh, the CP 2001 program chair, for his constant cooperation and interaction. Last but not least, special thanks to Yoann Fabre at the University of Paris 6 for taking care of installing and maintaining the paper review system.

Organization

Conference Chair

Tony Kakas University of Cyprus

Program Chair

Philippe Codognet University of Paris

Workshop Chair

Antonio Brogi University of Pisa

Program Committee

Krzysztof Apt CWI. Amsterdam Frederic Benhamou University of Nantes Veronica Dahl Simon Fraser University Bart Demoen University of Leuven Danny De Schreye University of Leuven Jürgen Dix University of Koblenz University of Padova Gilberto Filé Seif Haridi SICS, Stockholm

Manuel Hermenegildo Technical University of Madrid

Pat Hill University of Leeds

Gerard Huet INRIA

Antonis Kakas University of Cyprus
Michael Maher Loyola University Chicago

Kim Marriott Monash University

Catuscia Palamidessi Pennsylvania State University
Luis Moniz Pereira New University of Lisbon
Andreas Podelski Max-Planck Institute
V.S. Subrahmanian University of Maryland
Kazunori Ueda Waseda University, Tokyo

Pascal Van Hentenryck Brown University
Toby Walsh University of York

Referees

Salvador Abreu Roberta Gori Gilles Richard M. Aiello Frederic Goualard Francesca Rossi Hassan Aït-Kaci John Grant S. Ruggieri Jose Julio Alferes Laurent Granvilliers D. Saccá Chiaki Sakama James Bailev Gopal Gupta Francois Barthelemy Chris Hankin Vitor Santos Costa S. Billot Michael Hanus Frederic Saubion Philippe Blache Katsumi Inoue Francesca Scozzari Annalisa Bossi Gerda Janssens Alexander Serebrenik S. Brand Arnaud Lallouet Kish Shen Gerhard Brewka Evelina Lamma Jan-Georg Smaus Maurice Bruvnooghe Antonio Fernández Leiva Harald Sondergaard Roberto Bruni Vladimir Lifschitz Fausto Spoto Manuel Carro Wiktor Marek Iain Duncan Stalker Witold Charatonik Nancy Mazur Robert Stárk Livio Colussi Bernd Mever Frieder Stolzenburg Laurent Michel Agostino Cortesi Jürgen Stuber Patrick Cousot Dale Miller Terrance Swift Carlos Viegas Damásio Phan Minh Dung Paul Tarau F. de Boer Miroslaw Truszczynski Eric Monfroy Eric de la Clergerie Frank Morawietz **Hudson Turner** Pierangelo Dell'Acqua J. J. Moreno Navarro Silvio Valentini Marc Denecker Hector Munoz-Avila Ruben Vandeginste Alexander Dikovsky Hiroshi Nakashima W. J. van Hoeve Dana Nau Bert Van Nuffelen Mireille Ducassé Lyndon Drake Ilkka Niemela Sofie Verbaeten Fatma Ozcan Christine Vrain Wolfgang Faber Francois Fages Gerald Penn Enea Zaffanella Carlo Zaniolo Gérard Ferrand Enrico Pontelli M. Garcia de la Banda António Porto Jean-Daniel Zucker

Sponsors

Ulrich Geske

Roberto Giacobazzi

The Association for Logic Programming, the University of Cyprus, Cyprus Telecommunications Authority, and IBM.

Paulo Quaresma

Christian Rétoré