Preface

ECDL 2002 was the 6th conference in the series of European Conferences on Research and Advanced Technologies for Digital Libraries. Following previous events in Pisa (1997), Heraklion (1998), Paris (1999), Lisbon (2000), and Darmstadt (2001), this year ECDL was held in Rome. ECDL 2002 contributed, together with the previous conferences, to establishing ECDL as the major European forum focusing on digital libraries and associated technical, practical, and social issues. ECDL 2002 continued the tradition already established by the previous conferences in meeting the needs of a large and diverse constituency, which includes researchers, practitioners, educators, policy makers, and users.

The focus of ECDL 2002 was on underlying principles, methods, systems, and tools to build and make available effective digital libraries to end users. Architecture, metadata, collection building, web archiving, web technologies, e-books, OAI applications, preservation, navigation, query languages, audio video retrieval, multimedia-mixed media, user studies and evaluation, humanities, and digital libraries were some of the key issues addressed.

An international Program Committee was set up composed of 61 members, with representatives from 25 countries. A total of 145 paper submissions, 15 poster submissions, and 18 proposals for demos were received. Each paper was evaluated by 3 referees and 42 full papers and 6 short papers of high quality were selected for presentation.

Besides paper presentations, the program also featured two invited talks by Hector Garcia Molina (Stanford University) and Derek Law (Strathclyde University), two panel discussions, and a poster and demo session. Moreover, tutorials and workshops conveniently arranged immediately before and after the conference extended the range of subjects and opportunities for exchange of knowledge and opinions offered by the conference.

We should like here to thank all those institutions and individuals who have made this conference possible: the organizing committee, CNR-IEI, the University of Padua and the Department of Information Engineering of the same university, the DELOS NoE, ESA, ICCU, Discoteca di Stato, Pontifical Gregorian University, the Italian Ministry for Cultural Heritage, the demo and poster chairpersons, the panel chairpersons, the workshop chairman, the tutorial chairpersons, the program committee members, the additional referees, the invited speakers, the tutorialists, the panelists, the poster presenters, the demonstrators, the sponsors, and of course all the participants.

During the preparation of the proceedings we received a great deal of help from Nicola Ferro and we thank him for this. The work for a conference like this starts at least two years before the conference happens, and during all this time Tarina Ayazi supported us. We thank her for her contribution to the success of the initiative.

July 2002

Maristella Agosti and Costantino Thanos

Organization

General Chair

Costantino Thanos (National Research Council, Italy)

Program Chair

Maristella Agosti (University of Padua, Italy)

Organization Chair

Pier Giorgio Marchetti (European Space Agency, Italy)

Organization Committee

Vittore Casarosa (National Research Council, Italy) Marta Giorgi (Pontifical Gregorian University, Italy) Maria Pia Mariani (Ministry for Cultural Heritage, Italy) Giovanna Merola (Istituto Centrale per il Catalogo Unico, Italy) M. Carla Sotgiu (Discoteca di Stato, Italy)

Demo and Poster Chairs

Edward Fox (Virginia Tech, USA) Mike Papazoglou (University of Tilburg, The Netherlands)

Panel Chairs

Alan Smeaton (Dublin City University, Ireland) Rachel Heery (UKOLN, UK)

Workshop Chair

Yannis Ioannidis (University of Athens, Greece)

Tutorial Chairs

Hans-Jorg Schek (ETH-Zurich, Switzerland) Bruce Croft (University of Massachusetts, USA)

US Liaison Chair

Nick Belkin (Rutgers University, USA)

Publicity Chairs

Fillia Makedon (Dartmouth College, USA) Simonetta Cheli (European Space Agency)

Treasurer

Ettore Ricciardi (National Research Council, Italy)

Program Committee

William Y. Arms (Cornell University, USA) Daniel E. Atkins (University of Michigan, USA) Paolo Atzeni (University of Roma 3, Italy) Ricardo Baeza-Yates (University of Chile) Thomas Baker (Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, Sankt Augustin, Germany) Elisa Bertino (University of Milan, Italy) Klemens Boehm (ETH Zurich, Switzerland) Jose Borbinha (National Library of Portugal) Stefano Ceri (Politecnico di Milano, Italy) Ching-chih Chen (Simmons College, Boston, USA) Hsinchun Chen (University of Arizona, USA) Stavros Christodoulakis (University of Crete, Greece) Panos Costantopoulos (FORTH, Crete, Greece) Gregory Crane (Tufts University, Medford, USA) Alberto Del Bimbo (University of Florence, Italy) Werner A. Deutsch (Austrian Academy of Sciences) Floriana Esposito (University of Bari, Italy) Dieter Fellner (Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany) Norbert Fuhr (University of Dortmund, Germany) Wendy Hall (University of Southampton, UK) Jane Hunter (The University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia) Peter Ingwersen (Royal School of Library and Information Science, Copenhagen, Denmark) Leonid Kalinichenko (Russian Academy of Sciences) Noriko Kando (National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo, Japan) Judith Klavans (Columbia University, USA) Jaana Kekalainen (University of Tampere, Finland) Martin Kersten (National Research Institute for Mathematics and Computer Science, The Netherlands) Traugott Koch (Lund University, Sweden) Carl Lagoze (Cornell University, USA)

Ronald Larsen (University of Maryland, College Park, USA) Clifford Lynch (Coalition for Networked Information, Washington, DC, USA) Elizabeth Lvon (UKOLN, University of Bath, UK) Gary Marchionini (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA) Herman Maurer (University of Gratz, Austria) Massimo Melucci (University of Padua, Italy) Marc Nanard (LIRMM, Montpellier, France) A. Desai Narasimhalu (National University of Singapore) Erich Neuhold (Fraunhofer Gesellschaft - IPSI, Germany) Bo Ohrstrom (Danish National Library Authority) Andreas Paepcke (Stanford University, USA) Michael Papazoglou (Tilburg University, The Netherlands) Carol Peters (Italian National Research Council) Berthier Ribeiro-Neto (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil) Steve Robertson (MS Research, Cambridge, UK) Chris Rusbridge (University of Glasgow, UK) Rudi Schmiede (Technische Universitat Darmstadt, Germany) Fabrizio Sebastiani (Italian National Research Council) Timos Sellis (National Technical University of Athens, Greece) Maria Sliwinska (Nicholas Copernicus University, Poland) Alan Smeaton (Dublin City University, Ireland) Terrence R. Smith (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA) Ingeborg Solvberg (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway) Shigeo Sugimoto (University of Library and Information Science, Tsukuba, Japan) Elaine G. Toms (Faculty of Information Studies, University of Toronto, Canada) Keith van Rijsbergen (University of Glasgow, UK) Howard Wactlar (Carnegie Mellon University, USA) Stuart Weibel (Online Computer Library Center, USA) Robert Wilensky (University of California, Berkeley, USA) Robin Williams (IBM Almaden Research Center, San Jose, USA) Ian H. Witten (University of Waikato, New Zealand) Jerome Yen (The University of Hong Kong)

Additional Referees

Gianni Amati Michela Bacchin Maria Bruna Baldacci Teresa M.A. Basile Maria Carla Cavagnis Sotgiu Theodore Dalamagas Marco Degemmis Maria de Lourdes da Silveira Nicola Di Mauro Koji Eguchi Nicola Fanizzi Dieter Fellner Stefano Ferilli Nicola Ferro Ingo Frommholz Jette Hyldegaard Gerald Jäschke Predrag Knezevic Marcello L'Abbate Birger Larsen Patrick Lehti Oriana Licchelli Pasquale Lops Anne Mahoney Pier Giorgio Marchetti Christian Mönch Jocelyne Nanard Jeppe Nicolaisen Pasquale Pagano Luca Pretto Thomas Risse Piet Seiden Luciano Romero Soares Lima Erik Thorlund Jepsen Marco Zens