### **Preface**

This volume contains the proceedings of the 23rd International Conference on Application and Theory of Petri Nets. The aim of the Petri net conferences is to create a forum for discussing progress in the application and theory of Petri nets. Typically, the conferences have 100-150 participants – one third of these coming from industry while the rest are from universities and research institutions. The conferences always take place in the last week of June.

The conference and a number of other activities are co-ordinated by a steering committee with the following members: G. Balbo (Italy), J. Billington (Australia), G. De Michelis (Italy), S. Haddad (France), K. Jensen (Denmark), S. Kumagai (Japan), T. Murata (USA), C.A. Petri (Germany; honorary member), W. Reisig (Germany), G. Rozenberg (The Netherlands; chairman), and M. Silva (Spain).

Other activities before and during the 2002 conference included tool demonstrations, extensive introductory tutorials, two advanced tutorials on "Workflow Management: Models, Methods, and Systems" and "Model Checking", and two workshops on "Software Engineering and Formal Methods" and "Formal Methods Applied to Defence Systems". The tutorial notes and workshop proceedings are not published in this volume, but copies are available from the organizers. The proceedings can be found at http://www.jrpit.flinders.edu.au/CRPIT.html.

The 2002 conference was organized by the Computer Systems Engineering Centre, School of Electrical and Information Engineering at the University of South Australia, Adelaide, Australia with assistance from the Department of Computer Science, Adelaide University, Adelaide, Australia. We would like to thank the members of the organizing committee (see next page) and their teams.

We would like to thank very much all those who submitted papers to the Petri net conference. We received a total of 45 submissions from 18 different countries. This volume comprises the papers that were accepted for presentation. Invited lectures were given by W. van der Aalst, J. Desel, I. Hayes, C. Lakos, P.S. Thiagarajan, and A. Yakovlev (whose papers are included in this volume).

The submitted papers were evaluated by a program committee. The program committee meeting took place in Edinburgh, Scotland. We would like to express our gratitude to the members of the program committee, and to all the referees who assisted them. The names of these are listed on the following pages.

We would like to acknowledge the local support of Marco Kick, Bill Orrok, and Claus Schröter. Finally, we would like to mention the excellent co-operation with Springer-Verlag during the preparation of this volume.

### Organizing Committee

Carolyn Bellamy Jonathan Billington (chair)

Pierre Dauchy Guy Gallasch Bing Han Robin King

Lars Michael Kristensen

Charles Lakos

Lin Liu

Pauline Olsson Patrick O'Sullivan Chun Ouyang Laure Petrucci

#### **Tools Demonstration**

Lars Michael Kristensen (chair)

## Program Committee

Wil van der Aalst (The Netherlands)

Gianfranco Balbo (Italy) Eike Best (Germany)

Jonathan Billington (Australia)
Gianfranco Ciardo (USA)
Jordi Cortadella (Spain)
Philippe Darondeau (France)
Giorgio De Michelis (Italy)
Javier Esparza (UK; co-chair; theory)

Claude Girault (France)
Nisse Husberg (Finland)

Lars Michael Kristensen (Denmark)

Sadatoshi Kumagai (Japan) Charles Lakos (Australia:

co-chair; applications)

Jens Bæk Jørgensen

Victor Khomenko

Ekkart Kindler

Madhavan Mukund (India) Wojciech Penczek (Poland) Vladimiro Sassone (UK/Italy) Karsten Schmidt (Germany)

Sol Shatz (USA) Enrique Teruel (Spain) Alex Yakovlev (UK) Wlodek Zuberek (Canada)

#### Referees

Steven Gordon Alessandra Agostini Robert Clariso Adrianna Alexander José-Manuel Colom Marco Gribaudo Gerard Berthelot Deepak D'Souza Bing Han Michel Diaz Eric Badouel Keijo Heljanko Marek A. Bednarczyk Claude Dutheillet Zhaoxia Hu Simona Bernardi Susanna Donatelli Guv Juanole Luca Bernardinello Emmanuelle Encrenaz Jorge Júlvez

Andrzej M. Borzyszkowski Robert Esser
Roberto Bruni Joaquín Ezpeleta
Benoît Caillaud David de Frutos-Escrig
Felice Cardone Hans Fleischhack
Søren Christensen Giuliana Franceschinis
Paolo Ciancarini Rossano Gaeta

Hans Fleischhack Mike Kishinevsky Giuliana Franceschinis Hanna Klaudel Rossano Gaeta Maciej Koutny K Narayan Kumar Johan Lilius Lin Liu Louise Lorentsen Thomas Mailund Axel Martens José Meseguer Toshiyuki Miyamoto Kjeld Høyer Mortensen Alix Munier Tadao Murata Marko Mäkelä Chun Ouyang Emmanuel Paviot-Adet Denis Poitrenaud Giuseppe Pappalardo Elina Parviainen Enric Pastor

Olli-Matti Penttinen Laure Petrucci Agata Półrola Lucia Pomello Pierre-Olivier Ribet Laura Recalde Wolfgang Reisig Elvinia Riccobene Diego Rodríguez Matteo Sereno Manuel Silva Radu I. Siminiceanu Pawel Sobocinski Jeremy Sproston Jiří Srba Peter Starke Christian Stehno K.V. Subrahmanyam Ichiro Suzuki Maciej Szreter Cecile Bui Thanh P.S. Thiagarajan Fernando Tricas Teemu Tynjälä François Vernadat Kimmo Varpaaniemi Eric Verbeek José-Luis Villarroel Harro Wimmel Jozef Winkowski Bozena Wozna Fei Xia Xiaolan Xie Haiping Xu Hideki Yamasaki

# **Sponsoring Institutions**

The Australian Defence Science and Technology Organization The Adelaide City Council The University of South Australia Division of Informatics, University of Edinburgh