Foreword

This volume constitutes the proceedings of the Fourth International Symposium on Theoretical Aspects of Computer Software (TACS 2001) held at Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan in October 2001.

The TACS symposium focuses on the theoretical foundations of programming and their applications. As this volume shows, TACS is an international symposium, with participants from many different institutions and countries.

TACS 2001 was the fourth symposium in the TACS series, following TACS'91, TACS'94, and TACS'97, whose proceedings were published as Volumes 526, 789, and 1281, respectively, of Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science series.

The TACS 2001 technical program consisted of invited talks and contributed talks. In conjunction with this program there was a special open lecture by Benjamin Pierce; this lecture was open to non-registrants.

TACS 2001 benefited from the efforts of many people; in particular, members of the Program Committee and the Organizing Committee. Our special thanks go to the Program Committee Co-chairs:

> Naoki Kobayashi (Tokyo Institute of Technology) Benjamin Pierce (University of Pennsylvania).

TACS 2001 gratefully acknowledges the generous support provided by Tohoku University and Sendai Tourism & Convention Bureau, and the cooperation of the following organizations:

> Information Processing Society of Japan Japan Society of Software Science and Technology Association for Computing Machinery - SIGACT Association for Symbolic Logic

Also, we thank Alfred Hofmann of Springer-Verlag for his assistance in the publication of the proceedings. Shinya Miyakawa, Nobuto Izumi, Takuya Ohishi, and Masahiko Ohtomo of Tohoku University lent their assistance in making local arrangements and in preparing the conference web pages. Finally, we would like to express our sincere thanks to all those who helped organize, and those who participated in, the TACS 2001 symposium for their invaluable contributions.

July 2001

Takayasu Ito Symposium Chair

Preface

The program of TACS 2001 included the presentations of 21 contributed papers and 6 invited talks. The program committee, with help from additional referees, selected these papers from 59 submissions. The invited speakers – Luca Cardelli, Kazunori Ueda, Andrew M. Pitts, Christine Paulin-Mohring, Jon G. Riecke, and Daniel Jackson – were chosen by the program co-chairs in collaboration with the symposium chair.

We would like to thank the members of the program committee and the additional referees, who are listed below. Special thanks to Prof. Takayasu Ito and his staff for their advice and help.

July 2001

Naoki Kobayashi Benjamin C. Pierce Program Co-chairs

Program Committee

Zena Ariola Cédric Fournet Jacques Garrigue Masami Hagiya Robert Harper Masahito Hasegawa Nevin Heintze Martin Hofmann Zhenjiang Hu Naoki Kobayashi Martin Odersky Catuscia Palamidessi **Benjamin** Pierce François Pottier Andre Scedrov Natarajan Shankar Ian Stark Makoto Tatsuta

University of Oregon Microsoft Research Kvoto University University of Tokyo Carnegie Mellon University Kyoto University Agere Systems Edinburgh University University of Tokyo Tokyo Institute of Technology Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne Pennsylvania State University University of Pennsylvania INRIA University of Pennsylvania SRI International Edinburgh University National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo

Additional Referees

Luca Aceto Nick Benton Stefano Berardi Michele Boreale Julian Bradfield **Didier Buchs** Cristiano Calcagno Luca Cardelli Tom Chothia Svlvain Conchon Tristan Crolard Dennis Dams Steven Dawson Pierpaolo Degano Bruno Dutertre Jérôme Feret Marcelo Fiore Harald Ganzinger Paola Giannini Jean Goubault-Larrecq Robert Harper

Thomas Hildebrandt Yoshihiko Kakutani Dilsun Kırlı Michal Konecny Manolis Koubarakis Antonín Kučera Guv McCusker Leonardo de Moura Robert Muller Keisuke Nakano Kedar Namjoshi Uwe Nestmann Shin-ya Nishizaki Doron Peled Frank Pfenning Lucia Pomello John Power Rosario Pugliese Shaz Qadeer Christine Roeckl Harald Rueß

Takafumi Sakurai Isao Sasano Alan Schmitt Peter Selinger Peter Sestoft Paula Severi Peter Sewell Maria Sorea Christoph Sprenger Rick Statman Colin Stirling Thomas Streicher Koichi Takahashi Makoto Tanabe Francis Tang Ashish Tiwari Keith Wansbrough Mitsuharu Yamamoto Jianjun Zhao