Preface

The Eighth Italian Conference on Theoretical Computer Science (ICTCS 2003) was held at the University Residential Center of Bertinoro, Italy, on October 13–15 2003. The center is composed of three large historical and monumental buildings not far from one another, forming a united complex on the top of the built up area of the ancient town of Bertinoro.

Previous conferences took place in Pisa (1972), Mantova (1974 and 1989), L'Aquila (1992), Ravello (1995), Prato (1998), and Torino (2001).

The conference aims at bringing together computer scientists, expecially young researchers, to foster cooperation and exchange ideas and results. Its main topics include: analysis and design of algorithms, data types and data structures, theory of logical design and layout, computability, complexity, automata, symbolic and algebraic computation, security, cryptography, specification and verification, formal languages, foundations of functional programming, foundations of logic programming, term-rewriting, semantics, type theory, new computing paradigms, parallel and distributed computation, theory of concurrency, theory of databases, theory of knowledge bases, theory of robotics.

The program committee, consisting of 14 members, considered 65 papers and selected 27 for presentation. These papers were selected on the basis of originality, quality, and relevance to theoretical computer science. These proceedings include the revised versions of the 27 accepted papers and the invited talks by Marios Mavronicolas (*Extreme Nash Equilibria*), Martin Hofmann (*Certification of Memory Usage*), and Gérard Boudol (*On Programming Models for Mobility*).

Paper selection was a difficult and challenging task, and many good submissions had to be rejected. Each submission was referred by at least three reviewers and some had four reports or more. We are very grateful to all the program committee members, who devoted much effort and valuable time to reading and selecting the papers. In addition, we gratefully acknowledge the help of a large number of colleagues who reviewed submissions in their area of expertise. They are all listed on page VII. We apologize for any inadvertent omissions.

Following the example of ICTCS 2001, we encouraged authors to submit their contributions in electronic format. We handled the submissions with CyberChair (http://www.CyberChair.org) a free Web-based paper submission and reviewing system. With reference to this, we would like to thank Luca Padovani who helped us a lot at various stages of the whole process. His computer skills and the time and effort he invested were crucial ingredients of our ability to run the program committee.

Finally, we would like to thank all the authors that submitted their papers for making this conference possible, the program committee members, as well as all the conference participants.

October 2003 C. Blundo

ICTCS 2003

October 13–15 2003, Bertinoro, Italy

Program Co-chairs

Carlo Blundo Università di Salerno, Italy Cosimo Laneve Università di Bologna, Italy

General Chair

Roberto Gorrieri Università di Bologna, Italy

Program Committee

Carlo Blundo Università di Salerno (Co-chair)

Flavio Corradini Università dell'Aquila Mariangiola Dezani Università di Torino Raffaele Giancarlo Università di Palermo

Cosimo Laneve Università di Bologna (Co-chair)

Stefano Levialdi Università di Roma Università di Pisa Fabrizio Luccio Maurizio Martelli Università di Genova Simone Martini Università di Bologna Ugo Montanari Università di Pisa Università di Padova Andrea Pietracaprina Giovanni Pighizzini Università di Milano Roberto Segala Università di Verona Nicoletta Sabadini Università di Milano

Organizing Committee

Andrea Asperti (Chair), Luca Padovani, Claudio Sacerdoti Coen, Lucian Wishick Università di Bologna

Sponsoring Institutions

The European Association of Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) BICI: Bertinoro International Center for Informatics Department of Computer Science, University of Bologna

Dipartimento di Informatica ed Applicazioni "R. M. Capocelli"

Facoltà di Scienze MM., FF. e NN. dell'Università di Salerno

Microsoft Research

Referees

Alessandro Aldini Vincenzo Ambriola Christoph Ambühl Marcella Anselmo Andrea Asperti Paolo Baldan Martin Berger Anna Bernasconi Elisa Bertino Daniela Besozzi Claudio Bettini Gianfranco Bilardi Chiara Bodei Paolo Boldi Diego Bonura Pierre Boudes Nadia Busi Elena Camossi Daniela Cancila Felice Cardone Walter Castelnovo Barbara Catania Franco Cazzaniga Andrea Clementi Gennaro Costagliola Stefania Costantini Rosario Culmone Ugo Dal Lago Ferruccio Damiani Vincent Danos Clelia De Felice Pierpaolo Degano Giuseppe della Penna Giorgio Delzanno Roberto De Prisco Vincenzo Deufemia

Roberto Di Cosmo Alessandra Di Pierro Sophia Drossopoulou Gianluigi Ferrari Mauro Ferrari Camillo Fiorentini Riccardo Focardi Maurizio Gabbrielli Vincenzo Gervasi Giorgio Ghelli Roberto Gorrieri Concettina Guerra Stefano Guerrini Min-Shiang Hwang Bengt Jonsson Dogan Kesdogan Aggelos Kiayias Kenji Kono Lars Kristiansen Sophie Laplante Salvatore La Torre Leonardo Lesmo Luigi Liquori Michele Loreti Roberto Lucchi Gerald Luettgen Elena Machkasova Fabio Mancinelli Leonardo Mariano Fabio Martinelli Viviana Mascardi Hernan Melgratti Greg Meredieth Carlo Mereghetti Emanuela Merelli G. Michele Pinna

Marino Miculan Eugenio Moggi Angelo Montanari Karl-Heinz Niggl Mario Ornaghi Carles Padro Elena Pagani Linda Pagli Beatrice Palano Giuseppe Persiano Alfonso Pierantonio Lucia Pomello Giuseppe Prencipe Geppino Pucci Gabriele Puppis D. Romana Cacciagrano Giuseppe Rosolini Luca Roversi Antonino Salibra Davide Sangiorgi Vladimir Sazonov Ivan Scagnetto Monica Sebillo Matteo Slanina Jeremy Sproston Simone Tini Paolo Torroni Emilio Tuosto Paola Velardi Rorbert F.C. Walters Herbert Wiklicky Lucian Wishick Gianluigi Zavattaro Elena Zucca