### **Preface**

The annual colloquium on information retrieval research provides an opportunity for both new and established researchers to present papers describing work in progress or final results. This colloquium was established by the BCS IRSG (British Computer Society Information Retrieval Specialist Group), and named the Annual Colloquium on Information Retrieval Research. Recently, the location of the colloquium has alternated between the United Kingdom and continental Europe. To reflect the growing European orientation of the event, the colloquium was renamed "European Annual Colloquium on Information Retrieval Research" from 2001.

Since the inception of the colloquium in 1979 the event has been hosted in the city of Glasgow on four separate occasions. However, this was the first time that the organization of the colloquium had been jointly undertaken by three separate computer and information science departments; an indication of the collaborative nature and diversity of IR research within the universities of the West of Scotland.

The organizers of ECIR 2002 saw a sharp increase in the number of good-quality submissions in answer to the call for papers over previous years and as such 52 submitted papers were each allocated 3 members of the program committee for double blind review of the manuscripts. A total of 23 papers were eventually selected for oral presentation at the colloquium in Glasgow which gave an acceptance rate of less than 45% and ensured a very high standard of the papers presented.

The colloquium consisted of well-attended sessions on IR Models, Document Categorization, Web IR, Soft Computing and IR, Interactive IR Systems, Multimedia IR, Structured Document Retrieval, Cross Lingual IR, and Query Modification.

Browsing through the table of contents the reader will also note that in addition to contributions from European authors just over 20% of the papers presented were authored by researchers from the USA and Asia which added a slight international flavor to ECIR 2002.

## Acknowledgements

The organizing committee would like to thank all the authors who submitted their work for consideration and the participants of ECIR 2002 for making the event a great success. Special thanks are due to the members of the program committee who worked very hard to ensure the timely review of all the submitted manuscripts, and to the invited speaker Rik Belew, of the University of California at San Diego. We also thank the sponsoring institutions CEPIS-IR, BCS-IRSG, and Memex Technology for their generous financial support of the colloquium, and Glasgow City Council for civic hospitality.

# Organization

### **Organizing Institutions**

ECIR 2002 was jointly organized by the Department of Computer and Information Sciences of the University of Strathclyde, the School of Information and Communication Technologies of the University of Paisley, and the Department of Computer Science of the University of Glasgow.

#### Conference Chairs

Fabio Crestani (University of Strathclyde, UK) Mark Girolami (University of Paisley, UK) Keith van Rijsbergen (University of Glasgow, UK)

### **Sponsoring Institutions**

British Computer Society – Information Retrieval Specialist Group CEPIS-IR (Special Interest Network on Information Retrieval of the Council of European Professional Informatics Societies)
Memex Technology, East Kilbride, Scotland
Glasgow City Council

## **Program Committee**

Gianni Amati (Fondazione Ugo Bordoni, Italy)

Micheline Beaulieu (University of Sheffield, UK)

Mohand Boughanem (IRIT Toulouse, France)

David Carmel (IBM, Israel)

Matthew Chalmers (University of Glasgow, UK)

Yves Chiaramella (IMAG Grenoble, France)

Stavros Christodoulakis (Technical University of Crete, Greece)

Pablo de la Fuente (University of Valladolid, Spain)

Arjen de Vries (CWI, The Netherlands)

Sandor Dominich (University of Veszprem, Hungary)

Steve Draper (University of Glasgow, UK)

Mark Dunlop (University of Strathclyde, UK)

Leo Egghe (Limburgs Universitair Centrum, Belgium)

Hans Peter Frei (Inforcons, Switzerland)

Norbert Fuhr (University of Dortmund, Germany)

Ayse Goker (Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen, UK)

David Harper (Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen, UK)

Theo Huibers (KPMG, The Netherlands)

Peter Ingwersen (Royal School of Library and Information Science, Denmark)

Gareth Jones (University of Exeter, UK)

Joemon Jose (University of Glasgow, UK)

Cornelis Koster (University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands)

Mounia Lalmas (Queen Mary, University of London, UK)

Monica Landoni (University of Strathclyde, UK)

David Losada (San Pablo-CEU University, Spain)

Massimo Melucci (University of Padova, Italy)

Dieter Merkl (Technical University of Vienna, Austria)

Elke Mittendorf (SYSTOR, Switzerland)

Josiane Mothe (IRIT Toulouse, France)

Frank Nack (CWI, The Netherlands)

Iadh Ounis K(University of Glasgow, UK)

Gabriella Pasi (ITIM CNR, Italy)

Victor Poznanski (Sharp, UK)

Steve Robertson (Microsoft, UK)

Tony Rose (Reuters, UK)

Fabrizio Sebastiani (IEI CNR, Italy)

Alan Smeaton (Dublin City University, Ireland)

Eero Sormunen (University of Tampere, Finland)

John Tait (University of Sunderland, UK)

Ulrich Thiel (GMD Darmstadt, Germany)

Ozgur Ulusov (University of Bilkent, Turkey)

Kenneth Wood (AT&T, UK)

# Previous Venues of the Annual Colloquium

2001 Darmstadt (organized by GMD)

2000 Cambridge (organized by Microsoft Research)

1999 Glasgow (organized by Strathclyde University)

1998 Grenoble (organized by CLIPS-IMAG)

1997 Aberdeen (organized by Robert Gordon University)

1996 Manchester (organized by Manchester Metropolitan University)

1995 Crewe (organized by Manchester Metropolitan University)

1994 Drymen (organized by Strathclyde University)

1993 Glasgow (organized by Strathclyde University)

1992 Lancaster

1991 Lancaster

1990 Huddersfield

1989 Huddersfield

1988 Huddersfield

1987 Glasgow

1986 Glasgow

1985 Bradford

1984 Bradford

1983 Sheffield

1982 Sheffield

1981 Birmingham

1980 Leeds

1979 Leeds

#### VI Preface

Thanks are also due to the editorial staff at Springer-Verlag for their agreement to publish the colloquium proceedings as part of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series.

Finally thanks are due to the local team of student volunteers (in particular Heather Du and Puay Leng Lee), secretaries (Linda Hunter and Anne Sinclair), and information officers (Paul Smith, Jon Ritchie, and Naveed Khan) whose efforts ensured the smooth organization and running of the colloquium.

March 2002

Fabio Crestani Mark Girolami Keith van Rijsbergen