Preface

The AI conference series is the premier event sponsored by the Canadian Society for the Computational Studies of Intelligence / Société canadienne pour l'étude d'intelligence par ordinateur. Attendees enjoy our typically Canadian atmosphere – hospitable and stimulating. The Canadian AI conference showcases the excellent research work done by Canadians, their international colleagues, and others choosing to join us each spring. International participation is always high; this year almost 40% of the submitted papers were from non-Canadian researchers. We accepted 24 papers and 8 poster papers from 52 full-length papers submitted. We also accepted eight of ten abstracts submitted to the Graduate Student Symposium. All of these accepted papers appear in this volume.

The Canadian AI Conference is the oldest continuously-held national AI conference in the world. (ECCAI's predecessor, AISB, held meetings in 1974, but these have since become international.) Conferences have been held biennially since 1976, and annually since 2000. AI 2002 again joined its sister Canadian computer science conferences, Vision Interface and Graphics Interface, enriching the experience for all participants. The joint meeting allows us to stay informed about other areas, to make new contacts, and perhaps to investigate cross-disciplinary research. This year the conferences was held on the beautiful campus of the University of Calgary, and many participants took the opportunity to tour nearby Banff and the magnificent Rocky Mountains.

To mark the second quarter-century of the conference, we invited three of the founders of the society to give invited talks: Zenon Pylyshyn, Alan Mackworth, and Len Schubert. Their foresight and efforts, at that time and continuing until this, mark a milestone in Canadian AI worth celebrating. Canadians are reputedly overly modest (although we boast about our olympic gold medals!). However, at AI 2002, we wished to applaud those who first recognized that Canadian AI researchers need a society to support them – to give them an identity, a community, and a voice.

We are grateful to many: to the American Association for Artificial Intelligence and to the National Research Council Canada for supporting the Graduate Symposium, allowing many graduate students to attend and to display and present their work; to CSCSI's president Bob Mercer for keeping the flame, and to its treasurer Howard Hamilton for tending it; to Camille Sinanan for coordinating the local arrangements for all three conferences; to Ali Ghorbani the AI 2002 chair; to the program committee and the referees for their dedication to the vital task of assessing scientific content; to the authors for contributing the material that is the main attraction; again to our invited speakers; to Alfred Hofmann and Karin Henzold of Springer-Verlag for their assistance in preparing these proceedings; to the organizers of VI and GI conferences for their collegiality while coordinating from a distance; and to the partipants, for making all of the effort worthwhile.

Executive Committee

Conference Chair: Ali Ghorbani (UNB)
Program Co-chairs: Robin Cohen (Waterloo)

and Bruce Spencer (UNB and NRC)

Program Committee

Sue Abu-Hakima (Amika Now!)

Aijun An (York U.)

Liliana Ardissono (U. Torino) Sabine Bergler (Concordia U.)

Jennifer Chu-Carroll (IBM)

Jim Delgrande (SFU)

Chrysanne Di Marco (U. Waterloo)

Toby Donaldson (Tech BC)

René Elio (U. Alberta)

Jim Greer (U. Saskatchewan)

Randy Goebel (U. Alberta)

Scott Goodwin (U. Windsor)

Howard Hamilton (U. Regina)

Peter Heeman (OGI)

Rob Holte (U. Alberta) Froduald Kabanza (U. Windsor)

Gerhard Lakemeyer (U. Aachen)

Guy Lapalme (U. Montreal)

Elliott Macklovitch (U. Montreal)

Marzena Makuta (Microsoft)

Richard Mann (U. Waterloo)

Gord McCalla (U. Saskatchewan)

Bob Mercer (U. Western Ontario)

Evangelos Milios (Dalhousie U.)

Guy Mineau (U. Laval)

Eric Neufeld (U. Saskatchewan)

David Poole (UBC)

Fred Popowich (SFU)

Jonathan Schaeffer (U. Alberta)

Dale Schuurmans (U. Waterloo)

Fei Song (U. Guelph, Ask Jeeves)

Deb Stacey (U. Guelph)

Suzanne Stevenson (U. Toronto)

Stan Szpakowicz (U. Ottawa)

Andre Trudel (Acadia U.)

Paul Van Arragon (Mitra)

Peter van Beek (U. Waterloo)

Julita Vassileva (U. Saskatchewan)

Eric Yu (U. Toronto)

Jianna Zhang (U. Manitoba)

Reviewers

Aijun An

Mohamed Aoun-allah

Liliana Ardissono

Brad Bart

Sabine Bergler

Robert D. Cameron

Jennifer Chu-Carroll

James Delgrande

Chrysanne Di Marco

Toby Donaldson

René Elio

Michael Fleming

Randy Goebel

Scott Goodwin

Jim Greer

Howard Hamilton

Peter Heeman

Robert Holte

1000010110100

Michael C. Horsch

Jimmy Huang Froduald Kabanza

Tomohiko Kimura

Frederick W. Kroon

 ${\bf Gerhard\ Lakemeyer}$

Guy Lapalme

Elliott Macklovitch

Gord McCalla

Robert Mercer

Evangelos Milios

Guy Mineau

Chris Pal

David Poole

Jonathan Schaeffer

Dale Schuurmans

Fei Song

Pascal Soucy

Deborah Stacey Davide Turcato Kenny Wong Suzanne Stevenson Paul van Arragon Eric Yu Stan Szpakowicz Peter van Beek Jianna Zhang Andre Trudel Julita Vassileva

Sponsoring Institutions

American Association for Artificial Intelligence National Research Council Canada, Institute for Information Technology