Preface

This volume contains the papers selected for presentation at IPCO 2002, the Ninth International Conference on Integer Programming and Combinatorial Optimization, Cambridge, MA (USA), May 27–29, 2002. The IPCO series of conferences highlights recent developments in theory, computation, and application of integer programming and combinatorial optimization.

IPCO was established in 1988 when the first IPCO program committee was formed. IPCO is held every year in which no International Symposium on Mathematical Programming (ISMP) takes places. The ISMP is triennial, so IPCO conferences are held twice in every three-year period. The eight previous IPCO conferences were held in Waterloo (Canada) 1990, Pittsburgh (USA) 1992, Erice (Italy) 1993, Copenhagen (Denmark) 1995, Vancouver (Canada) 1996, Houston (USA) 1998, Graz (Austria) 1999, and Utrecht (The Netherlands) 2001.

In response to the call for papers for IPCO 2002, the program committee received 110 submissions, a record number for IPCO. The program committee met on January 7 and 8, 2002, in Aussois (France), and selected 33 papers for inclusion in the scientific program of IPCO 2002. The selection was based on originality and quality, and reflects many of the current directions in integer programming and combinatorial optimization research.

Starting with the Copenhagen 1995 meeting, IPCO proceedings have been published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science Series. The volume numbers are LNCS 920 (Copenhagen 1995), LNCS 1084 (Vancouver 1996), LNCS 1412 (Houston 1998), LNCS 1610 (Graz 1999), and LNCS 2081 (Utrecht 2001). We are grateful for the help and support of Alfred Hofmann, Executive Editor at Springer, in publishing the current volume.

> William J. Cook Andreas S. Schulz

IPCO 2002 Organization

Program Committee

William J. Cook (Chair), Princeton University
Satoru Fujishige, Osaka University
Alexander Martin, Technische Universität Darmstadt
Gerhard Reinelt, Universität Heidelberg
Andreas S. Schulz, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
András Sebö, Laboratoire Leibniz, IMAG
Jens Vygen, Universität Bonn
David P. Williamson, IBM Almaden Research Center

Local Organizing Committee

Christine A. Liberty Thomas L. Magnanti Laura A. Rose Andreas S. Schulz (Chair) Nicolás E. Stier Moses

Conference Sponsors

Office of Naval Research Sloan School of Management, Massachusetts Institute of Technology School of Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Bell Labs Innovations, Lucent Technologies IBM Research International Symposium on Mathematical Programming 2000 ILOG Direct Division – ILOG, Inc. Akamai Technologies, Inc. Sabre Inc.

External Referees

Dino Ahr Susanne Albers Kazutoshi Ando Takao Asano David Avis Dimitris J. Bertsimas Therese Biedl Endre Boros Ulrich Brenner Chandra Chekuri Joseph Cherivan José R. Correa Lisa K. Fleischer Armin Fügenschuh Toshihiro Fujito Michel X. Goemans Stephan Held Christoph Helmberg Dorit S. Hochbaum Yoshiko Ikebe Hiro Ito Satoru Iwata Volker Kaibel Kenji Kashiwabara Naoki Katoh Ekkehard Köhler Sofia Kovaleva Sven O. Krumke Christian Liebchen Thomas L. Magnanti Kazuhisa Makino Jens Maßberg Shigeru Masuyama

Tomomi Matsui Hirovoshi Miwa Markus Möller Dirk Müller Matthias Müller-Hannemann Kazuo Murota Hiroshi Nagamochi Gianpaolo Oriolo James B. Orlin Marcus Oswald Sven Pever Myriam Preissmann André Rohe Rainer Schrader Rüdiger Schultz Maiko Shigeno Akivoshi Shioura David B. Shmoys Martin Skutella Frederik Stork Benny Sudakov Christian Szegedv Akihisa Tamura Shuji Tsukiyama Marc Uetz Takaaki Uno Oliver Wegel Jürgen Werber Gerhard J. Woeginger Laurence A. Wolsev Mutsunori Yagiura Yoshitsugu Yamamoto