Preface

This workshop is the tenth in a series of international workshops. This year it takes place in Göttingen, Germany, and is organized by the University of Hannover.

Göttingen has one the most famous German universities, where very well known scientists like Lichtenberg, Hilbert, Gauss and von Neumann studied, worked and taught. It also hosts several research institutes of the Max-Planck-Society. The first electronic tube calculator G1 was built in Göttingen in 1952 by H. Billing. Additionally, Göttingen was selected because it is adjacent to the world exposition EXPO 2000 in Hannover which gives an outlook into the 21st century covering the major topics of humankind, nature and technology.

With respect to these inspiring surroundings the technical program of PAT-MOS 2000 includes 10 sessions dedicated to most important subjects of power and timing modeling, optimization and simulation at the dawn of the 21st century.

The four invited talks address the European research activities in the workshop fields, the evolving needs for minimal power consumption in the area of wireless and chipcard applications and design methodologies of very highly integrated multimedia processors.

The workshop is a result of the joint work of a large number of individuals, who cannot all be mentioned here. In particular, we would like to acknowledge the outstanding work of the reviewers, who did a competent job in a timely manner. We also have to thank the members of the local organizing committee for their effort in enabling the conference to run smoothly. Finally, we gratefully acknowledge the support of all organizations and institutions sponsoring the conference.

September 2000

Peter Pirsch Erich Barke Dimitrios Soudris

Organization

Organization Commitee

General Co Chairs: Peter Pirsch (University of Hannover, Germany)

Erich Barke (University of Hannover, Germany)

Program Chair: Dimitrios Soudris

(Democritus University of Thrace, Greece)

Finance Chair: Lars Hedrich (University of Hannover, Germany)

Publication Chair: Achim Freimann

(University of Hannover, Germany)

Audio-Visual Chair: Jörg Abke (University of Hannover, Germany)
Local Arrangements Chair: Carsten Reuter (University of Hannover, Germany)

Program Commitee

- D. Auvergne (University of Montpellier, France)
- J. Bormans (IMEC, Belgium)
- J. Figueras (University of Catalunya, Spain)
- C.E. Goutis (University of Patras, Greece)
- A. Guyot (INPG Grenoble, France)
- R. Hartenstein (University of Kaiserslautern, Germany)
- S. Jones (University of Loughborough, United Kingdom)
- P. Larsson-Edefors (University of Linköping, Sweden)
- E. Macii (Polytechnic of Torino, Italy)
- V. Moshnyaga (University of Fukuoka, Japan)
- W. Nebel (University of Oldenburg, Germany)
- J.A. Nossek (Technical University of München, Germany)
- A. Nunez (University of Las Palmas, Spain)
- M. Papaefthymiou (University of Michigan, United States)
- M. Pedram (University of Southern California, United States)
- H. Pfleiderer (University of Ulm, Germany)
- C. Piguet (CSEM, Switzerland)
- R. Reis (University of Porto Alegre, Brazil)
- M. Robert (University of Montpellier, France)
- A. Rubio (University of Catalunya, Spain)
- J. Sparsø (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark)
- A. Stempkowsky (Academy of Sciences, Russia)
- T. Stouraitis (University of Patras, Greece)
- J.F.M. Theeuwen (Philips, The Netherlands)
- A.-M. Trullemans-Anckaert (University of Louvain, Belgium)
- R. Zafalon (STMicroelectronics, Italy)

Steering Committee

- D. Auvergne (University of Montpellier, France)
- R. Hartenstein (University of Kaiserslautern, Germany)
- W. Nebel (University of Oldenburg, Germany)
- C. Piguet (CSEM, Switzerland)
- A. Rubio (University of Catalunya, Spain)
- J. Sparsø (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark)
- A.-M. Trullemans-Anckaert (University of Louvain, Belgium)

Sponsoring Institutions

European Commission Directorate – General Information Society IEEE Circuits and Systems Society