## **Preface**

IFM 2000, the second in a series of international conferences on Integrated Formal Methods, was held at the 18th-century château of Schloss Dagstuhl, Saarland, Germany, from the 1st to the 3rd of November 2000.

The conference programme consisted of invited talks from Sir Tony Hoare FRS and Wolfram Schulte, along with 22 papers selected from 58 submissions.

Applying formal methods may involve the modelling of different aspects of a system that are expressed through different paradigms. This motivates us to research the combination of different viewpoints of a system, either by the creation of hybrid notations, by extending existing notations, by translating between notations, or by incorporating a wider perspective with the innovative use of an existing notation.

The integration of formal methods promises great benefits to systems modelling and software development. Regardless of the approach taken, however, significant issues can arise in areas such as semantic integration, the tractability of our notations, the integration of tool support, the integration of proof systems, consistency, and completeness. Issues arise equally in our conceptualisation of systems at different levels of abstraction and the development of these conceptualisations through the process of refinement.

The stated theme of IFM'99 was the integration of state-based and behavioural formalisms. For IFM 2000 this was widened, and the submitted papers have been grouped in five technical sessions, covering the linking and extending of notations, methodology, the foundation of one formalism in another, semantics, and aspects of verification and validation.

We hope that these proceedings will be of benefit both to the conference participants and to the wider community of workers in the field. The production of these proceedings would not have been possible without the invaluable help of the programme committee and external referees, and of all the contributors who submitted papers to the conference.

November 2000

Wolfgang Grieskamp Thomas Santen Bill Stoddart

## Organization

Wolfgang Grieskamp, Technical University of Berlin, Germany Thomas Santen, Technical University of Berlin, Germany Bill Stoddart, University of Teesside, UK

## **Program Committee**

Keijiro Araki (Kyushu, Japan) Didier Bert (Grenoble, France) Egon Börger (Pisa, Italy) Jonathan Bowen (London, UK) Micheal Butler (Southampton, UK) Jim Davies (Oxford, UK) John Derrick (Kent, UK) Jin Song Dong (Singapore) Heiko Dörr (Berlin, Germany) John Fitzgerald (Newcastle, UK) Andy Galloway (York, UK) Chris George (Macao) Wolfgang Grieskamp (Berlin, Germany) Henri Habrias (Nantes, France) Susumu Hayashi (Kobe, Japan) Maritta Heisel (Magdeburg, Germany) Mike Hinchey (Omaha, USA) Bernd Krieg-Brückner (Bremen, Germany) Michel Lemoine (Toulouse, France) Shaoying Liu (Hiroshima, Japan) John McDermid (York, UK) Dominique Méry (Nancy, France) Thomas Santen (Berlin, Germany) Steve Schneider (London, UK) Wolfram Schulte (Redmond, USA) Jane Sinclair (Warwick, UK) Graeme Smith (Brisbane, Australia) Bill Stoddart (Teesside, UK) Kenji Taguchi (Uppsala, Sweden) W J (Hans) Toetenel (Delft, Holland) Heike Wehrheim

(Oldenburg, Germany)

## Additional Reviewers

Richard Banach
Christie Bolton
Dominique Cansell
David Carrington
Marc Cavazza
Michael Cebulla
Steve Dunne
Carla Ferreira
Dennis Furey
He Jifeng
Monika Heiner
Steffen Helke

Dang van Hung
Tomasz Janowski
Markus Lepper
Liu Jing
Brendan Mahony
Stephan Merz
Michael Meyer
zu Hoerste
Tim Mossakowski
Steve Paynter
Jean-Claude Reynaud
Dean Rosenzweig

Mark Saaltink
Holger Schlingloff
Carron Shankland
Kim Soon-Kyeong
Carsten Sühl
Ulrich Ultes-Nitsche
Jacob Wieland
Qiwen Xu
Hirokazu Yatsu
Shoji Yuen