## Preface

Object-Orientation has for a number of years now been accepted as the industry standard in many areas. Coming from the area of simulation it showed its strengths in the design of graphical user interfaces and is now taken for granted in Internet applications. Object-oriented programming has positioned itself as the main programming paradigm in many universities and many students are introduced to programming through an Object-Oriented language. The importance of Object-Orientation and its fundamental ideas have now also been firmly recognized by the research community. This year both the IEEE John von Neumann Medal and the ACM Turing Award have been awarded to Ole-Johan Dahl and Kristen Nygaard for the pioneering work they did in the 1960s when designing the programming language Simula 67:

19 November 2001 – IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers): Ole-Johan Dahl and Kristen Nygaard have been awarded the IEEE's 2002 John von Neumann Medal "For the introduction of the concepts underlying objectoriented programming through the design and implementation of SIMULA67."

New York, February 6, 2002 – The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) has presented the 2001 A.M. Turing Award, considered the "Nobel Prize of Computing," to Ole-Johan Dahl and Kristen Nygaard of Norway for their role in the invention of object-oriented programming, the most widely used programming model today. Their work has led to a fundamental change in how software systems are designed and programmed, resulting in reusable, reliable, scalable applications that have streamlined the process of writing software code and facilitated software programming.

2002 will thus be remembered as an exceptional year in the history of Object-Orientation and it is an honor to have Kristen Nygaard as this year's banquet speaker.

This year we had 96 submitted papers of which 24 were accepted for publication after a thorough review process. In addition to the reviewed papers there are invited talks given by José Meseguer and Clemens Szyperski. The wide spread of topics in this year's conference will hopefully also illustrate the acceptance of Object-Orientation in all areas of Computer Science and Software Engineering and confirm ECOOP as a broad conference for all aspects of Object-Oriented Programming.

Organizing an international conference involves a lot of work carried out by a large group of people, most of which is not directly visible. I would like to extend my gratitude to the PC committee members, who spent endless hours reviewing the papers, Antonio Vallecillo and the local organization, who made everything work at the conference, and Richard van de Stadt, with his CyberChair system, which made my work so much easier when preparing these proceedings!

April 2002

# Organization

ECOOP 2002 was organized by the Department of Computer Science of the University of Málaga, and the Department of Computer Science of the University of Extremadura, under the auspices of AITO (Association Internationale pour les Technologies Objets).



#### **Executive Committee**

Conference Chair:	José M. Troya (University of Málaga)
Program Chair:	Boris Magnusson (Lund University)
Organizing Chair:	Antonio Vallecillo (University of Málaga)

#### **Organizing Committee**

Tutorial Chairs:	Ernesto Pimentel (University of Málaga)			
	Hanspeter Mössenböck (University of Linz, Austria)			
Workshop Chairs:	Juan Hernández (University of Extremadura)			
	Ana Moreira (Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal)			
Exhibit Chair:	Manuel Díaz (University of Málaga)			
Demonstration Chair:	Lidia Fuentes (University of Málaga)			
Poster Chair:	Juan M. Murillo (University of Extremadura)			
Panel Chair:	Francisco Durán (University of Málaga)			
Sponsorship Chair:	Javier López (University of Málaga)			
Advertizing, Web Site:	Fernando Sánchez (University of Extremadura)			
Registration Chair:	Carlos Canal (University of Málaga)			
<b>Operational Support:</b>	José M. Álvarez	Luis Llopis	Mónica Pinto	
	Mercedes Amor	Pablo López	Roberto Rodríguez	
	Manuel F. Bertoa	Antonio Maña	Bartolomé Rubio	
	Alfonso Gazo	Antonio Nebro	Blas C. Ruíz	
	Francisco Gutiérrez	Juan J. Ortega		

## **Program Committee**

John Boyland University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee, USA Gilad Bracha Sun Microsystems, USA Krzysztof Czarnecki DaimlerChrysler AG, Germany Bjørn N. Freeman-Benson University of Washington, USA HP Labs. USA Svend Frølund Erich Gamma **OTI** International. Switzerland Görel Hedin Lund University, Sweden Urs Hölzle University of California at Santa Barbara, USA Eric Jul University of Copenhagen, Denmark Kai Koskimies Tampere University of Technology, Finland Kresten Krab Thorup Trifork Technologies, Denmark State University of New York, USA Doug Lea Jørgen Lindskov Knudsen Mjølner Informatics, Inc., Denmark Satoshi Matsuoka Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan Mira Mezini Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany Ana Moreira Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal Linda Northrop Software Engineering Institute, USA Arnd Poetzsch-Heffter Fern Universität Hagen, Germany Tore Risch Uppsala University, Sweden Houari A. Sahraoui University of Montreal, Canada Douglas Schmidt University of California at Irvine, USA Bran Selic Rational Software Corporation, USA Jan Vitek Purdue University, USA John Vlissides IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA Wolfgang Weck Oberon microsystems, Switzerland

### **Sponsoring Organizations**



#### Referees

João Araújo Dirk Bäumer Lars Bendix Joshua Bloch Salah Bouktif Chandrasekhar Boyapati Coral Calero Muñoz Bogdan Carbunar Garv Chastek Shigeru Chiba Robert Clark Cliff Click Sholom Cohen Aino Corry Erik Corry Wim De Pauw Misha Dmitriev Karel Driesen Torbjörn Ekman Chapman Flack Matthew Flatt Alexander Garthwaite Aaron Greenhouse Dominik Gruntz Pedro Guerreiro Markku Hakala Roger Henriksson Scott Hissam David Holmes Wilson Hsieh Yuuji Ichisugi Anders Ive Ralph Keller Gregor Kiczales Joseph Kiniry Georgios Koutsoukos Reed Little Erkki Mäkinen Kai-Uwe Mätzel Eva Magnusson Thomas Mailund Jeremey Manson

Gergana Markova Fuvuhiko Maruvama Hidehiko Masuhara Jörg Mever Hafedh Mili Todd Millstein Gabriel Moreno Peter Mueller Anders Nilsson James Noble Lennart Ohlsson Kasper Østerbye Krzysztof Palacz Jens Palsberg **Tony Printezis** William Pugh Awais Rachid Nicole Rauch William Retert Sven Robertz Jim Rumbaugh Kenneth Russell Markku Sakkinen Alexandru Salcianu Ichiro Sato Ursula Scheben Petri Selonen Paulo Sérgio Almeida Judith Stafford Tarja Svstä Michiaki Tatsubori Kenjiro Taura Petko Valtchev Tom VanDrunen Andre Weinand Adam Welc Michel Wermelinger Lei Wu Francesco Zappa Nardelli Tian Zhao Yoav Zibin