Preface

Knowledge discovery and data mining have become areas of growing significance because of the recent increasing demand for KDD techniques, including those used in machine learning, databases, statistics, knowledge acquisition, data visualization, and high performance computing. In view of this, and following the success of the five previous PAKDD conferences, the sixth Pacific-Asia Conference on Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining (PAKDD 2002) aimed to provide a forum for the sharing of original research results, innovative ideas, state-of-the-art developments, and implementation experiences in knowledge discovery and data mining among researchers in academic and industrial organizations.

Much work went into preparing a program of high quality. We received 128 submissions. Every paper was reviewed by 3 program committee members, and 32 were selected as regular papers and 20 were selected as short papers, representing a 25% acceptance rate for regular papers. The PAKDD 2002 program was further enhanced by two keynote speeches, delivered by Vipin Kumar from the Univ. of Minnesota and Rajeev Rastogi from AT&T. In addition, PAKDD 2002 was complemented by three tutorials, XML and data mining (by Kyuseok Shim and Surajit Chadhuri), mining customer data across various customer touchpoints at e-commerce sites (by Jaideep Srivastava), and data clustering analysis, from simple groupings to scalable clustering with constraints (by Osmar Zaiane and Andrew Foss). Moreover, PAKDD 2002 offered four international workshops on "Knowledge Discovery in Multimedia and Complex Data", "Mining Data across Multiple Customer Touchpoints for CRM", "Toward the Foundation of Data Mining", and "Text Mining". Articles from these workshops have been published separately.

All of this work would not have been possible without the dedication and professional work of many colleagues. We would like to express our sincere appreciation to all contributors to the conference for submitting papers, offering tutorials, and organizing workshops. Special thanks go to our honorary chairs, David C. L. Liu from the National Tsing Hua University and Benjamin Wah from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, for their leadership and advice on planning this conference. We are also deeply grateful to Huan Liu for serving as the Workshop Chair, Yao-Nan Lien for being the Tutorial Chair, Chia-Hui Chang and Vincent Tseng for serving as the Industrial Chairs, Show-Jane Yen and Yue-Shi Lee for being the Publication Chairs, and Chun-Nan Hsu for acting as Local Arrangement Chair. Last but not least, we are indebted to the Steering Committee Members (Chaired by Hongjun Lu) for their timely guidance and unwavering support. All of them deserve our very sincere gratitude.

Finally, we hope you all had a very pleasant stay at PAKDD 2002 in Taipei, and we wish you great success in your KDD endeavors.

May 2002

Arbee L. P. Chen Jiawei Han Ming-Syan Chen Philip S. Yu Bing Liu

PAKDD 2002 Conference Committee

Honorary Chairs:

VI

David C. L. Liu National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan

Ben Wah University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA

Conference Co-chairs:

Arbee L.P. Chen National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan

Jiawei Han University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA

Program Chairs/Co-chairs:

Ming-Syan Chen National Taiwan University, Taiwan (Chair)

Philip S. Yu IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA (Co-chair)

Bing Liu National University of Singapore, Singapore

(Co-chair)

Workshop Chair:

Huan Liu Arizona State University, USA

Tutorial Chair:

Yao-Nan Lien National Chengchi University, Taiwan

Industrial Chairs:

Chia-Hui Chang National Central University, Taiwan Vincent S. M. Tseng National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan

Publication Chairs:

Show-Jane Yen Fu Jen Catholic University, Taiwan Yue-Shi Lee Ming Chuan University, Taiwan

Local Arrangement Chair:

Chun-Nan Hsu Academia Sinica, Taiwan

PAKDD Steering Committee:

Hongiun Lu Hong Kong University of Science & Technology,

Hong Kong (Chair)

Hiroshi Motoda Osaka University, Japan (Co-chair)

David W. Cheung The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Masaru Kitsuregawa The University of Tokyo, Japan Rao Kotagiri University of Melbourne, Australia Huan Liu Arizona State University, USA University of Tsukuba, Japan

Graham illiams CSIRO, Australia

Ning Zhong Maebashi Institute of Technology, Japan

Lizhu Zhou Tsinghua University, China

PAKDD 2002 Program Committee

Roberto Bayardo IBM Almaden Research Center, USA

Michael Berthold U.C. Berkeley, USA

Chia-Hui Chang National Central University, Taiwan

Edward Chang UCSB, USA

Meng-Chang Chen
David W. Cheung
Umeshwar Dayal
Guozhu Dong

Academia Sinica, Taiwan
The University of Hong Kong
Hewlett-Packard Labs, USA
Wright State University, USA

Ada Fu Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Yike Guo Imperial College, UK

Eui-Hong Han University of Minnesota, USA

Jiawei Han University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA

Indian Institute of Science, India

David Hand Imperial College, UK

Javant Haritsa

Robert Hilderman

Howard Ho

Se-June Hong

Kien Hua

Howard Ho

University of Regina, Canada

IBM Almaden Research Center, USA

IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA

University of Central Florida, USA

University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Masaru Kitsuregawa University of Tokyo, Japan

Willi Klosgen GMD, Germany

Kevin Korb Monash University, Australia Rao Kotagiri University of Melbourne, Australia Vipin Kumar University of Minnesota, USA

Wai Lam Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

C. Lee Giles Penn State University, USA
Chiang Lee Cheng-Kung University, Taiwan
Suh-Yin Lee Chia-Tung University, Taiwan

Chung-Sheng Li

IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA

Qing Li

City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

T. Y. Lin

Huan Liu

Arizona State University, USA

Arizona State University, USA

Ling Liu

Georgia Tech Institute, USA

Xiaohui Liu

Hongjun Lu

Yuchang Lu

Hiroshi Motoda

San Jose State University, USA

Arizona State University, USA

University of Brunel, UK

Hong Kong UST, Hong Kong

Tsing Hua University, China

Osaka University, Japan

Raymond Ng UBC, Canada

Yen-Jeng Oyang National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Zhongzhi Shi China

Kyuseok Shim KAIST, Korea Arno Siebes Holland

Ramakrishnan Srikant IBM Almaden Research Center, USA

Jaideep Srivastava University of Minnesota, USA

Einoshin Suzuki Yokohama National University, Japan

VIII Conference Organization

Ah-Hwee Tan Kent Ridge Digital Labs, Singapore

Changjie Tang Sichuan University, China Takao Terano University of Tsukuba, Japan

Bhavani Thurasingham MITRE, USA

Hannu T. T. Toivonen Nokia Research, Finland

Shin-Mu Tseng Cheng-Kung University, Taiwan

Anthony Tung National University of Singapore, Singapore

Jason Wang New Jersey IT, USA

Ke Wang Simon Fraser University, Canada

Kyu-Young Whang KAIST, Korea Graham Williams CSIRO, Australia

Xingdong Wu Colorado School of Mines, USA

Jiong Yang IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA

Yiyu Yao University of Regina, Canada Clement Yu University of Illinois, USA Osmar R. Zaiane University of Alberta, Canada Mohammed Zaki Rensselaer Poly Institute, USA Zijian Zheng Blue Martini Software, USA

Ning Zhong Maebashi Institute of Technology, Japan

Aoying Zhou Fudan University, China Lizhu Zhou Tsinghua University, China