# **Preface**

The 2002 VLDB workshop on Technologies for E-Services (VLDB-TES 02) is the third workshop in a series of annual workshops endorsed by the VLDB Conference. It serves as a forum for the exchange of ideas, results and experience in the area of e-commerce and e-business.

VLDB-TES 02 took place in Hong Kong, China. It featured the presentation of 14 regular papers, focused on major aspects of e-business solutions. In addition, the workshop invited five industrial speakers to share their vision, insight, and experience with the audience.

The workshop would not have been a success without help from many people. Special thanks go to Fabio Casati, who recruited the world-class speakers from various e-business fields, Ludger Fiege who served as the publicity and publication chair, and Eleana Kafeza, who organized and planned the local arrangements. We also thank the authors for submitting their papers and the members of the program committee and external reviewers for their thorough work, which greatly contributed to the quality of the final program.

We hope that the participants found the workshop interesting and stimulating, and we thank them for attending and for contributing to the discussions.

Juli 2002

Ming-Chien Shan Mei-Chun Hsu Alejandro Buchmann

# Organization

# Workshop Officers

#### General Chair

Ming-Chien Shan, Hewlett-Packard shan@hpl.hp.com

## **Program Chairs**

Mei-Chun Hsu, Commerce One Meichun. Hsu@commerceone.com

Alejandro Buchmann, Darmstadt University of Technology buchmann@informatik.tu-darmstadt.de

#### **Industrial Track Chair**

Fabio Casati, Hewlett-Packard casati@hpl.hp.com

#### Local Arrangements Chair

Eleana Kafeza, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology kafeza@cs.ust.hk

#### **Publicity Chair**

Ludger Fiege, Darmstadt University of Technology fiege@gkec.tu-darmstadt.de

# **Program Committee**

Gustavo Alonso, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Jean Bacon, Cambridge University, UK

Martin Bichler, IBM, USA

Christof Bornhoevd, IBM, USA

Paul Brebner, CSIRO, Australia

Christoph Bussler, Oracle Corp., USA

Arvola Chan, TIBCO, USA

Jen-Yao Chung, IBM, USA

Umesh Dayal, Hewlett-Packard, USA

Oscar Diaz, U. del Pais Vasco, Spain

Asuman Dogac, Middle East Technical University, Turkey

Peter Fankhauser, Fraunhofer IPSI, Germany

Dan Fishman, Avaya Labs., USA

Matthew Fuchs, Stele Corp., USA

Dimitrios Georgakopoulos, Telcordia, USA

Bob Glushko, Commerce One, USA

Eleana Kafeza, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China

Roger Kilian-Kehr, T-Systems Nova, Germany

Johannes Klein, Microsoft, USA

Winfried Lamersdorf, Hamburg University, Germany

Frank Leymann, IBM, Germany

Christoph Liebig, SAP, Germany

Oded Shmueli, Technion, Israel

Joe Sventek, Agilent, UK

Stefan Tai, IBM, USA

Aphroditi Tsalgatidou, U. of Athens, Greece

Dick Tsur, Real-Time Enterprise Group, USA

Steve Vinoski, IONA, USA

Hartmut Vogler, SAP Research Lab, USA

Claus von Rieger, SAP, Germany

Gerhard Weikum, U. of the Saarland, Germany

#### **Additional Referees**

George Athanassopoulos Yildiray Kabak Nuri Gokhan Kurt Gokce Banu Laleci Thomi Pilioura

Thoma Thoura

Uwe Wilhelm