Preface

The papers collected in this volume were presented at the fifth European Workshop on Case-Based Reasoning (EWCBR2K) held Trento, Italy. EWCBR2K was the last episode of a series of very successful meetings held previously in Kaiserslautern (1993), Paris (1994), Lausanne (1996) and Dublin (1998) that traditionally attract European and international researchers and practitioners in case-based reasoning.

Case-based reasoning is a recent field of research with a long history of applications. The organization of the volume is consistent with this vision of the field and, after an initial part devoted to the invited papers, the two main parts contain research and application papers respectively. The overall result is a representative snapshot of current research and state-of-the-art applications. The merit for this volume goes to the authors of the papers, the Program Committee and all the additional reviewers whose combined effort produced this high-quality scientific work.

The organizers would like to thank all the people who contributed to the success of the workshop: in particular, Francesco Ricci who originally proposed to have EWCBR2K in Italy; Fausto Giunchiglia, Paolo Traverso and Oliviero Stock who backed the proposal and assured the institutional committment of ITC-irst and University of Trento; Paolo Avesani, Mehmet Goeker and Michel Manago who developed the traditional industrial-day into the first edition of Innovative Customer Centered Applications (ICCA), a co-located event with a focused target on industry people; Giampaolo Avancini, Sara Beatrici, Morena Carli, Carola Dori, Alessandro Tuccio, of ITC-IRST and Fabrizio Di Bartolo of University of the Eastern Piedmont who were effective, professional and friendly while providing technical and administrative support for the organization of the event.

We would like to offer thanks for the support provided by EWCBR-98, MLNET, the Italian Association for Artificial Intelligence (AI*IA) and the Department of Advanced Sciences and Technologies (DISTA) of the University of Eastern Piedmont (Università del Piemonte Orientale "A. Avogadro"). A special thank to the invited speakers Barry Smyth and Qiang Yang and to all the chairs of the sessions and finally, to Springer-Verlag for their help and their enthusiastic agreement on the publication of this volume.

June 2000

Enrico Blanzieri and Luigi Portinale

Program Chairs

Enrico Blanzieri, ITC-IRST, Italy Luigi Portinale, Università del Piemonte Orientale "A. Avogadro", Italy

Program Commitee

Agnar Aamodt, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

Robert J. Aarts, Nokia Telecommunications, Finland

Klaus-Dieter Althoff, Fraunhofer IESE, Germany

David W. Aha, Naval Research Laboratory, USA

Kevin Ashley, University of Pittsburgh, USA

Paolo Avesani, ITC-irst, Italy

Ralph Bergmann, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany

Carlos Bento, University of Coimbra, Portugal

Karl L. Branting, University of Wyoming, USA

Susan Craw, Robert Gordon University, Scotland UK

Padraig Cunningham, University of Dublin, Ireland

Mehmet Goeker, DaimlerChrysler, USA

Boi Faltings, EPF Lausanne, Switzerland

Mark Keane, University College Dublin, Ireland

David Leake, Indiana University, USA

Brian Lees, University of Paisley, UK

Ramon Lopez de Mantaras, IIIA-CSIC, Catalonia, Spain

Michel Manago, Acknosoft, France

Alain Mille, Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1, France

Bart Netten, TNO-TPD Delft, The Netherlands

Enric Plaza, IIIA-CSIC, Catalonia, Spain

Francesco Ricci, ITC-irst, Italy

Jerzy Surma, Technical University of Wroclaw, Poland

Henry Tirri, University of Helsinki, Finland

Brigitte Trousse, INRIA Sophia Antipolis, France

Maarten van Someren, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Ian Watson, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Stefan Wess, TecInno, Germany

Additional Reviewers

Josep Ll. Arcos, Stefano Aguzzoli, Ole André Brevik, Riccardo Bellazzi, Paolo Busetta, Amilcar Cardoso, Alessandro Ebranati, Pere Garcia, Paulo Gomes, Christiane Gresse von Wangenheim, Conor Hayes, Penousal Machado, Paolo Massa, Stefania Montani, Petri Myllymaki, Markus Nick, Pavel Petrovic, Pinar Ozturk, Anna Perini, Thomas Roth-Berghofer, Rainer Schmidt, Sascha Schmitt, Andrea Sboner, Barry Smyth, Frode Sørmo, Francisco Camara Pereira, Ivo Vollrath, David C. Wilson, Martin Würthner