Preface

The papers in this volume were selected for presentation at the 6th Annual International Computing and Combinatorics Conference (COCOON 2000), in Sydney, Australia from July 26 - 28, 2000. The topics cover many areas in theoretical computer science and combinatorial optimization.

There were 81 high quality papers submitted to COCOON 2000. Each paper was reviewed by at least three program committee members, and the 44 papers were selected. It is expected that most of them will appear in a more complete form in scientific journals. In addition to the selected papers, the volume also contains the papers from two invited keynote speeches by Christos Papadimitriou and Richard Brent.

This year the *Hao Wang Award* was given to honor the paper judged by the program committee to have the greatest merit. The recipient is "Approximating Uniform Triangular Meshes in Polygons" by Franz Aurenhammer, Naoki Katoh, Hiromichi Kojima, Makoto Ohsaki, and Yinfeng Xu. The first *Best Young Researcher* paper award was given to William Duckworth for his paper "Maximum Induced Matchings of Random Cubic Graphs".

We wish to thank all who have made this meeting possible: the authors for submitting papers, the program committee members and the external referees, sponsors, the local organizers, ACM SIGACT for handling electronic submissions, Springer-Verlag for their support, and Debbie Hatherell for her assistance.

July 2000

Ding-Zhu Du Peter Eades Xuemin Lin

Sponsoring Institutions

University of New South Wales University of Newcastle University of Sydney Computer Science Association of Australasia

Conference Organization

Program Committee Co-chairs

Ding-Zhu Du (University of Minnesota, USA) Peter Eades (University of Sydney, Australia) Xuemin Lin (University of New South Wales, Australia)

Program Committee

David Avis (McGill, Canada)

Jianer Chen (Texas A&M, USA)

Francis Chin (Hong Kong U., Hong Kong)

Vladimir Estivill-Castro (Newcastle, Australia),

George Havas (UQ, Australia)

Hiroshi Imai (Tokyo, Japan)

Tao Jiang (UC Riverside, USA)

Michael Juenger (Cologne, Germany)

Richard Karp (UC Berkeley, USA)

D. T. Lee (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)

Bernard Mans (Macquarie U., Australia)

Brendan McKay (ANU, Australia)

Maurice Nivat (Université de Paris VII, France)

Takeshi Tokuyama (Tohoku, Japan)

Roberto Tamassia (Brown, USA)

Jie Wang (UNC Greensboro, USA)

Shmuel Zaks (Technion, Israel)

Louxin Zhang (NUS, Singapore)

Shuzhong Zhang (CUHK, Hong Kong)

Binhai Zhu (City U. Hong Kong, Hong Kong)

Organizing Committee

Vladimir Estivill-Castro (Conference Co-chair, University of Newcastle) Arun Sharma (Conference Co-chair, University of New South Wales) Hai-Xin Lu (University of New South Wales)

Referees

Kazuyuki Amano Joffroy Beauquier Francois Bertault Christoph Buchheim

S.W. Cheng
L. Devroye
Matthias Elf
Stanley Fung
Yehuda Hassin
Seokhee Hong
Tsan-Sheng Hsu
Wen-Lian Hsu
Ming-Tat Ko
Joachim Kupke
Thierry Lecroq
Weifa Liang
Frauke Liers
Chi-Jen Lu

Hsueh-I Lu

Marcus Oswald Andrzej Pelc David Peleg

Stephane Perennes

Z.P. Qin Bruce Reed Maurice Rojas James L. Schwing

Rinovia M.G. Simanjuntak

Slamin

Rinovia Simanjuntak

Peter Tischer Da-Wei Wang John Watorus Martin Wolff Yinfeng Xu Ding Feng Ye Hong Zhu