Preface

DISC, the International Symposium on DIStributed Computing, is an annual forum for research presentations on all facets of distributed computing. DISC 2001 was held on Oct 3–5, 2001, in Lisbon, Portugal. This volume includes 23 contributed papers. It is expected that these papers will be submitted in more polished form to fully refereed scientific journals. The extended abstracts of this year's invited lectures, by Gerard LeLann and David Peleg, will appear in next year's proceedings.

We received 70 regular submissions. These submissions were read and evaluated by the program committee, with the help of external reviewers when needed. Overall, the quality of the submissions was excellent, and we were unable to accept many deserving papers.

This year's *Best Student Paper* award goes to Yong-Jik Kim for the paper "A Time Complexity Bound for Adaptive Mutual Exclusion" by Yong-Jik Kim and James H. Anderson.

October 2001 Jennifer Welch

Organizing Committee

Chair: Luis Rodrigues (University of Lisbon)
Publicity: Paulo Veríssimo (University of Lisbon)
Treasurer: Filipe Araújo (University of Lisbon)
Web: Alexandre Pinto (University of Lisbon)
Registration: Hugo Miranda (University of Lisbon)

Steering Committee

Faith Fich (U. of Toronto) Michel Raynal (vice-chair) (IRISA)
Maurice Herlihy (Brown U.) André Schiper (chair) (EPF Lausanne)
Prasad Jayanti (Dartmouth) Jennifer Welch (Texas A&M U.)

Shay Kutten (Technion)

Program Committee

Marcos K. Aguilera (Compaq SRC)

Mark Moir (Sun Microsystems Laboratories)

Lorenzo Alvisi (U. Texas, Austin)

Stephane Perennes (CNRS U. de Nice INRIA)

Hagit Attiya (Technion)

Benny Pinkas (STAR Lab, Intertrust Technologies)

Shlomi Dolev (Ben-Gurion U.)

Ulrich Schmid (Technical U., Vienna)

Tamar Eilam (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center)

Philippas Tsigas (Chalmers U.)

Amr El-Abbadi (U. California, Santa Barbara)

Jennifer Welch (chair) (Texas A&M U.)

Panagiota Fatourou (Max-Planck Inst. Informatik)

Pierre Wolper (U. Liege)

John Mellor-Crummey (Rice U.)

Outside Referees

Adnan Agbaria Fred Annexstein Ken Arnold Joshua Auerbach Zvi Avidor Sumeer Bhola Vita Bortnikov B. Charron-Bost Wei Chen Murat Demirbas J. Durand-Lose Shimon Even Alan Fekete Guillaume Fertin Faith Fich Arie Fouren Roy Friedman Eli Gafni

Juan Garay Cyril Gavoille German Goldszmidt Abhishek Gupta Indranil Gupta Vassos Hadzilacos Maurice Herlihy S. T. Huang Colette Johnen Michael Kalantar Idit Keidar Roger Khazan Ami Litman Keith Marzullo Marios Mayronicolas Giovanna Melideo Mikhail Nesterenko Ronit Nosenson

Rafail Ostrovsky M. Paramasivam Boaz Patt-Shamir Andrzej Pelc Eric Ruppert André Schiper Peter Sewell Nir Shavit Alex Shvartsman Cormac J. Sreenan Rob Strom Tami Tamir Mark Tuttle John Valois Roman Vitenberg Avishai Wool