Preface

Multi-criteria optimization deals with multiple, often conflicting objectives which naturally arise in a real-world scenario. The field of multi-criteria decision making (MCDM) is well established, investigated by many researchers and scientists, and widely applied in practice. Unlike in single-objective optimization, a multi-criteria optimization problem gives rise to a number of optimal solutions, known as Pareto-optimal solutions, of which none can be said to be better than the others with respect to all objectives. Thus, one of the primary goals in multi-criteria optimization is to find or to approximate the set of Pareto-optimal solutions. Since evolutionary algorithms work with a population of solutions. they have been used in multi-criteria optimization for more than a decade. To date, there exist a number of evolutionary approaches and application case studies, demonstrating the usefulness and efficiency of evolutionary multi-criteria optimization (EMO). Due to the growing interest in EMO, the general chairs envisaged organizing this first-ever international conference covering all aspects of the intersection of evolutionary computation and classical MCDM. The aim was to promote and share research activities in this promising field.

The first international conference on evolutionary multi-criteria optimization (EMO 2001) was held in Zürich at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) on March 7–9, 2001. This event included two keynote speeches, one delivered by Ralph E. Steuer on current state-of-the-art methodology and the other delivered by Ian C. Parmee on real-world applications of evolutionary techniques. Furthermore, two extended tutorials were presented, one on classical multi-criteria decision making methodologies by Kaisa Miettinen and another one on evolutionary algorithms by Carlos A. Coello Coello.

In response to the call for papers, 87 papers from 27 countries were submitted, each of which was independently reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. This volume presents a selection of 45 of the refereed papers, together with contributions based on the invited talks and tutorials.

We would like to express our appreciation to the keynote speakers who accepted our invitation, to the tutorial organizers, to all authors who submitted papers to EMO 2001, and to Marco Laumanns and Monica Fricker for their invaluable help in organizing the conference.

March 2001

Eckart Zitzler, Kalyanmoy Deb, Lothar Thiele, Carlos A. Coello Coello, and David Corne

Organization

EMO 2001 took place from March 7th to 9th, 2001 at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zürich, Switzerland, and was organized in cooperation with ACM/SIGART, IEEE Neural Network Council, and the International Society for Genetic and Evolutionary Computation (ISGEC).

General Chairs

Kalyanmoy Deb IIT Kanpur, India Lothar Thiele ETH Zürich, Switzerland Eckart Zitzler ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Executive Program Committee

Hojjat Adeli Ohio State University, USA Carlos A. Coello Coello CINVESTAV-IPN, Mexico David Corne University of Reading, UK

Carlos Fonseca Universidade do Algarve, Portugal

David E. Goldberg University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign,

USA

Jeffrey Horn Northern Michigan University, USA

Sourav Kundu Mastek Limited, Japan

Gary B. Lamont Air Force Institute of Technology, USA

Shigeru Obayashi Tohoku University, Japan Ian C. Parmee University of Plymouth, UK Carlo Poloni University of Trieste, Italy

Günter Rudolph University of Dortmund, Germany

J. David Schaffer Phillips Research, USA

Hans-Paul Schwefel University of Dortmund, Germany

El-ghazali Talbi Université des Sciences et Technologies de Lille,

France

Program Committee

Enrique Baeyens University de Valladolid, Spain

Tapan P. Bagchi IIT Kanpur, India

Peter J. Bentley University College London, UK Jürgen Branke University of Karlsruhe, Germany

Nirupam Chakraborti IIT Kharagpur, India William A. Crossley Purdue University, USA

VIII Organization

Dragan Cvetkovic Nicole Drechsler Rolf Drechsler Peter Fleming Kary Främling

Antonio Gaspar-Cunha

Prabhat Hajela Thomas Hanne

Alberto Herreros Evan J. Hughes Hisao Ishibuchi Andrzej Jaszkiewicz Joshua D. Knowles Petros Koumoutsakos

Rajeev Kumar
Bill Langdon
Marco Laumanns
Mark Sh. Levin
Daniel H. Loughlin
Filippo Menczer
Martin Middendorf
Tadahiko Murata
Pedro Oliveira
Andrzej Osyczka
S. Ranji Ranjithan

S. Kanji Kanjiman Katya Rodriguez-Vazquez Carlos Mariano Romero

Ralf Salomon Marc Schoenauer Pratyush Sen Hisashi Tamaki Kay Chen Tan Dirk Thierens Mark Thompson Thanh Binh To

Marco Tomassini

David A. Van Veldhuizen

Soliton Associates Ltd., Canada University of Freiburg, Germany

Siemens AG, Germany University of Sheffield, UK

Helsinki University of Technology, Finland

University of Minho, Portugal

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA

Institute for Techno- and Economathematics, Germany University of Valladolid, Spain Cranfield University, UK

Osaka Prefecture University, Japan Poznan University of Technology, Poland

University of Reading, UK ETH Zürich, Switzerland IIT Kharagpur, India

University College London, UK ETH Zürich, Switzerland Ben-Gurion University, Israel

North Carolina State University, USA

University of Iowa, USA

University of Karlsruhe, Germany Ashikaga Institute of Technology, Japan

Universidade do Minho, Portugal

Cracow University of Technology, Poland North Carolina State University, USA

IIMAS-UNAM, Mexico

IMTA, Mexico

University of Zürich, Switzerland Ecole Polytechnique, France University of Newcastle, UK Kobe University, Japan National University, Singapore

Utrecht University, Singapore
Utrecht University, The Netherlands
Sheffield Hallam University, UK

Institute of Automation and

Communication Magdeburg, Germany University of Lausanne, Switzerland

US Air Force, USA