Preface

These are the proceedings of the Sixth International Conference on Logic Programming and Nonmonotonic Reasoning (LPNMR 2001). The conference was held in Vienna from 17th to 19th of September, 2001. It was collocated with the Joint German/Austrian Conference on Artificial Intelligence (24th German/9th Austrian Conference on Artificial Intelligence), KI 2001.

LPNMR conferences aim to promote research in logic-based programming languages, database systems, nonmonotonic reasoning, and knowledge representation. LPNMR 2001 was the sixth conference in the series. The previous meetings were held in Washington, DC, in 1991, in Lisbon, Portugal, in 1993, in Lexington, Kentucky, in 1995, in Dagstuhl, Germany, in 1997, and in El Paso, Texas, in 1999.

The technical program of LPNMR 2001 was comprised of five invited talks that were given by Jürgen Dix, Georg Gottlob, Phokion Kolaitis, Maurizio Lenzerini, and Chiaki Sakama. It also contained 23 technical presentations selected by the program committee during a rigorous review process. Finally, as a part of the technical program, the conference featured a special session comprised of nine presentations and demonstrations of implemented nonmonotonic reasoning systems. All these contributions are included in the proceedings.

Many individuals worked for the success of the conference. Special thanks are due to all members of the program committee and to additional reviewers for their efforts to produce fair and thorough evaluations of submitted papers. Furthermore, we would like to thank the members of the Knowledge Based Systems Group of the Vienna University of Technology, which took care of the local organization. We particularly appreciated the never tiring effort of Elfriede Nedoma, secretary to the group. We would also like to thank Gerd Brewka for his supportive role in arranging the collocation of the conference with KI 2001. Last, but not least, we thank the sponsoring institutions for their generosity.

September 2001

Thomas Eiter Wolfgang Faber Mirosław Truszczyński

Conference Organization

Program Co-chairs

Thomas Eiter (Vienna University of Technology, Austria) Mirosław Truszczyński (University of Kentucky, USA)

Program Committee

Alexander Bochman (Holon Academic Institute of Technology, Israel) Piero Bonatti (Università degli Studi Milano/Crema, Italy) Gerhard Brewka (University of Leipzig, Germany) James Delgrande (Simon Fraser University, Canada) Marc Denecker (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium) Norman Foo (University of New South Wales, Australia) Michael Gelfond (Texas Tech University, USA) Katsumi Inoue (Kobe University, Japan) Antonis Kakas (University of Cyprus) Nicola Leone (Università degli Studi della Calabria, Italy) Vladimir Lifschitz (University of Texas at Austin, USA) Fangzhen Lin (The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China) Victor Marek (University of Kentucky at Lexington, USA) Zhang Ming-Yi (Guizhou Academy of Sciences, China) Ilkka Niemelä (Helsinki University of Technology, Finland) Luís Moniz Pereira (Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal) Marco Schaerf (Università di Roma "La Sapienza," Italy) Torsten Schaub (University of Potsdam, Germany) Francesca Toni (Imperial College, London, U.K.) Li-Yan Yuan (University of Alberta, Canada)

Publicity Chair

Wolfgang Faber (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)

Additional Reviewers

José Alferes Cristina Baroglio Krysia Broda Maurice Bruynooghe Francesco Buccafurri Carlos Damásio Emmanuel De Mot Yannis Dimopoulos Esra Erdem Wolfgang Faber Daya Gaur Jens Happe Tomi Janhunen Joohvung Lee Nicola Leone Thomas Linke Thomas Lukasiewicz Paolo Mancarella **Cristinel Mateis** Rob Miller

Mehmet Orgun Maurice Pagnucco Viviana Patti Nikolay Pelov Gerald Pfeifer Fabrizio Riguzzi Riccardo Rosati Giuliana Sabbatini Fariba Sadri Chiaki Sakama Francesco Scarcello Tommi Syrjänen Andrea Tettamanzi Bert Van Nuffelen Helmut Veith Gerard Vreeswijk Kewen Wang Jia-Huai You Dongmo Zhang

Sponsoring Institutions

We would like to acknowledge financial support for the conference from the European Office of Aerospace Research and Development (EOARD), under contract F61775-01-WF077, the Austrian Computer Society (OCG), the European Commission, the Austrian Ministry of Transport, Innovation & Technology, and Microsoft.