Preface

This volume contains the proceedings of the ACM SIGPLAN Workshop on Languages, Compilers, and Tools for Embedded Systems (LCTES 2000), held June 18, 2000, in Vancouver, Canada. Embedded systems have developed considerably in the past decade and we expect this technology to become even more important in computer science and engineering in the new millennium.

Interest in the workshop has been confirmed by the submission of papers from all over the world. There were 43 submissions representing more than 14 countries. Each submitted paper was reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. The expert opinions of many outside reviewers were invaluable in making the selections and ensuring the high quality of the program, for which, we express our sincere gratitude. The final program features one invited talk, twelve presentations, and five poster presentations, which reflect recent advances in formal systems, compilers, tools, and hardware for embedded systems.

We owe a great deal of thanks to the authors, reviewers, and the members of the program committee for making the workshop a success. Special thanks to Jim Larus, the General Chair of PLDI 2000 and Julie Goetz of ACM for all their help and support. Thanks should also be given to Sung-Soo Lim at Seoul National University for his help in coordinating the paper submission and review process.

We also thank Professor Gaetano Borriello of the University of Washington for his invited talk on Chinook, a hardware-software co-synthesis CAD tool for embedded systems.

January 2001

Jack Davidson Sang Lyul Min

Program Committee

Neil C. Audsley University of York, UK Jack Davidson University of Virginia, USA Alan Davis Texas Instruments, USA

Susanne Graf Verimag, France

Seongsoo Hong Seoul National University, Korea

Alan Hu University of British Columbia, Canada

Inhye Kang Soongsil University, Korea

Tei-Wei Kuo National Chung Cheng University, ROC

Jane Liu University of Illinois, USA Sharad Malik Princeton University, USA

Peter Marwedel University of Dortmund, Germany Sang Lyul Min Seoul National University, Korea

Ramesh Peri Intel, USA

Peter Puschner Technical University of Vienna, Austria

Gang-Ryung Uh

Uppsala University, Sweden

Lucent Technologies, USA

Uppsala University, Sweden

List of Reviewers

Tobias Amnell Pavel Atanassov Neil C. Audsley Iain Bate Dean Batten Guenter Bauer Bryan Bayerdorffer Johan Bengtsson Guillem Bernat Clark Coleman Jack Davidson Alan Davis Sri Doddapaneni Julien d'Orso Jakob Engblom Heiko Falk Jose Fridman Gregor Goessler

Susanne Graf

Jason Hiser Marc Hoffman Seongsoo Hong Alan Hu

Sanjay Jinturkar
Bengt Jonsson
Inhye Kang
Changhwan Kim
Chanho Kim
Saehwa Kim
Tei-Wei Kuo
Yassine Lakhnech
Fredrik Larsson
Chang-Gun Lee
Seung-Hyoun Lee
Sheayun Lee
Rainer Leupers

Wei Li

Sung-Soo Lim

Jane Liu
Sharad Malik
Peter Marwedel
Chris Milner
Sang Lyul Min
Sven Olof Nystrom
Roman Pallierer
Jungkeun Park
Ramesh Peri
Peter Puschner
Kevin Scott
Yangmin Seo
Joseph Sifakis
Christopher Temple
Gang-Ryung Uh

Lars Wehmeyer Wang Yi