### **Preface**

We are pleased to bring you this collection of papers for the Ninth International Conference on Conceptual Structures (ICCS), representing continued excellence in conceptual structures research. We have adopted the title "Broadening the Base," acknowledging the importance of contributions from scholars in many research areas. The first ICCS meetings focused primarily on Sowa's conceptual graphs; in recent years, however, the ICCS conference series has intentionally widened its scope to stimulate research across domain boundaries. We hope that this stimulation is further enhanced by ICCS 2001 continuing the long tradition of lively conferences about Conceptual Structures.

We wish to express our appreciation to all the authors of submitted papers, to the general chair, to the members of the editorial board and the program committee, and to the additional reviewers for making ICCS 2001 a valuable contribution to the knowledge processing research field. We would also like to acknowledge the leadership of Guy Mineau and Bernhard Ganter in providing a solid framework for an open and effective reviewing process. Very special thanks go to the local organizers for making the conference possible and, furthermore, an enjoyable and inspiring event. We are grateful to the University of Alabama in Huntsville, and the University of Karlsruhe for their generous support.

May 2001 Harry Delugach Gerd Stumme

# Organization

The International Conference on Conceptual Structures (ICCS) is the annual conference and principal research forum in the theory and practice of conceptual structures. Previous ICCS conferences have been held at the Université Laval (Quebec City, 1993), the University of Maryland (1994), the University of California (Santa Cruz, 1995), Sydney (1996), the University of Washington (Seattle, 1997), Montpellier (1998), at Virginia Tech (Blacksburg, 1999), and at Darmstadt University of Technology (2000).

## **Program Chair**

Harry S. Delugach The University of Alabama in Huntsville, U. S. A. Gerd Stumme Universität Karlsruhe, Germany

### Local Chair

Robert G. Spillers Woodside, CA, U.S.A.

### **Editorial Board**

Galia Angelova (Bulgaria) Deborah McGuinness (U.S.A.) Michel Chein (France) Guy Mineau (Canada) Peter Eklund (Australia) Bernard Moulin (Canada) John Esch (U.S.A.) Marie-Laure Mugnier (France) Bernhard Ganter (Germany) Heather Pfeiffer (U.S.A.) Roger Hartley (U.S.A.) Uta Priss (U.S.A.) Mary Keeler (U.S.A.) John Sowa (U.S.A.) Lotfi Lakhal (France) Bill Tepfenhart (U.S.A.) Wilfried Lex (Germany) Rudolf Wille (Germany)

## **Program Committee**

Jean-François Baget (France) Carole Goble (U.K.) Tru Cao (U.K.) Robert Godin (Canada) Claudio Carpineto (Italy) Michel Habib (France) Paul Compton (Australia) Ollivier Haemmerlé (France) Dan Corbett (Australia) Adil Kabbaj (Morocco) Judy Dick (Canada) Adalbert Kerber (Germany) David Genest (France) Sergei Kuznetsov (Germany) Pavel Kocura (U.K.) Olivier Gerbé (Canada)

Wolfgang Lenski (Germany) Graham Mann (Australia) Philippe Martin (Australia) João P. Martins (Portugal) Ralf Möller (Germany) Aldo de Moor (Netherlands) Amadeo Napoli (France) Lhouari Nourine (France) Peter Øhrstrøm (Denmark) Silke Pollandt (Germany) Susanne Prediger (Germany) Richard Raban (Australia) Anne-Marie Rassinoux (Switzerland)
Daniel Rochowiak (U.S.A.)
Eric Salvat (France)
Ulrike Sattler (Germany)
Peter Patel-Schneider (U.S.A.)
Stuart Shapiro (U.S.A.)
Finnegan Southey (Canada)
Thanwadee Thanitsukkarn (Thailand)
Petko Valtchev (Canada)
Michel Wermelinger (Portugal)

Karl Erich Wolff (Germany)

#### Further Reviewers

Alex Borgida (U. S. A.) Siegfried Handschuh (Germany) Ralf Molitor (Switzerland)