Preface

The 2001 International Conference on Case-Based Reasoning (ICCBR 2001, www.iccbr.org/iccbr01), the fourth in the biennial ICCBR series (1995 in Sesimbra, Portugal; 1997 in Providence, Rhode Island (USA); 1999 in Seeon, Germany), was held during 30 July – 2 August 2001 in Vancouver, Canada. ICCBR is the premier international forum for researchers and practitioners of case-based reasoning (CBR). The objectives of this meeting were to nurture significant, relevant advances made in this field (both in research and application), communicate them among all attendees, inspire future advances, and continue to support the vision that CBR is a valuable process in many research disciplines, both computational and otherwise.

ICCBR 2001 was the first ICCBR meeting held on the Pacific coast, and we used the setting of beautiful Vancouver as an opportunity to enhance participation from the Pacific Rim communities, which contributed 28% of the submissions. During this meeting, we were fortunate to host invited talks by Ralph Bergmann, Ken Forbus, Jaiwei Han, Ramon López de Mántaras, and Manuela Veloso. Their contributions ensured a stimulating meeting; we thank them all.

This conference continues the tradition that ICCBR has established of attracting high-quality research and applications papers from around the world. Among the 81 (24 application + 57 research) submissions, 23 were selected for (9 long and 14 short) oral presentation and an additional 27 for poster presentation. This volume contains the papers for all 50 presentations. Also included are papers from some of the invited speakers and an invited paper by Petra Perner on image interpretation, a topic on which we wish to encourage additional community participation.

ICCBR 2001's first day consisted of the 2001 Innovative Customer-Centered Applications Workshop (ICCA 2001). This workshop, which was expertly co-chaired by Mehmet Göker (Americas), Hideo Shimazu (Asia & Australia), and Ralph Traphöner (Europe and Africa), focused on reports concerning mature applications and technology innovations of particular industrial interest.

The second day's events included five workshops focusing on the following research interests: Authoring Support Tools, Electronic Commerce, Creative Systems, Process-Oriented Knowledge Management, and Soft Computing. We are grateful to the Workshop Program Co-chairs, Christiane Gresse von Wangenheim and Rosina Weber, for their efforts in coordinating these workshops, along with the individual workshop chairs and participants. Materials from ICCA 2001 and the workshops were published separately and can be obtained from the ICCBR 2001 WWW site.

The Conference Chair for ICCBR 2001 was Qiang Yang of Simon Fraser University, while the Program Co-chairs were David W. Aha (U.S. Naval Research Laboratory) and Ian Watson (University of Auckland). The chairs would like to thank the program committee and the additional reviewers for their thoughtful and rigorous reviewing during the paper selection process. We also gratefully acknowledge the generous support of ICCBR 2001's sponsors, and Simon Fraser University for providing the venue. Many thanks to Penny Southby and her staff at the Simon Fraser University Conference Services for their tremendous assistance with local arrangements. Finally, thanks to Vincent Chung of the University of Auckland for his assistance with the conference WWW site.

May 2001

David W. Aha Ian Watson

Program Chairs

David W. Aha, Naval Research Laboratory. Washington DC, USA Ian Watson, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Conference Chair

Qiang Yang, Simon Fraser University, Vancouver, Canada

Industrial Chairs

Mehmet Göker, Kaidara International, Palo Alto, USA Hideo Shimazu, NEC Corporation, Ikoma, Japan Ralph Traphöener, Empolis, Kaiserslautern, Germany

Workshop Chairs

Christiane Gresse von Wangenheim, Uni. do Vale do Itajaí, Brazil Rosina Weber, University of Wyoming, USA

Program Committee

Agnar Aamodt Norwegian Uni. of Science and Tech. Robert Aarts Nokia Telecommunications, Finland Klaus-Dieter Althoff Fraunhofer IESE, Germany Kevin Ashley University of Pittsburgh, USA Paolo Avesani **IRST** Povo, Italy BSR Consulting, Germany Brigitte Bartsch-Spörl University of Coimbra, Portugal Carlos Bento Ralph Bergmann University of Kaiserslautern, Germany Enrico Blanzieri Turin University, Italy L. Karl Branting University of Wyoming, USA Derek Bridge University College, Cork, Ireland Michael Brown SemanticEdge, Berlin, Germany Robin Burke California State University, Fullerton, USA Hans-Dieter Burkhard Humboldt University Berlin, Germany Bill Cheetham General Electric Co. NY, USA Michael Cox Wright State University, Dayton, USA Susan Craw Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen, Scotland Pádraig Cunningham Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland Walter Daelemans CNTS, Belgium **Boi** Faltings EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland Ashok Goel Georgia Institute of Technology, USA Andrew Golding Lycos Inc, USA C. Gresse von Wangenheim Uni. do Vale do Itajaí, Brazil

| Alec Holt | University of Otago, New Zealand |
|-------------------------|--|
| Igor Jurisica | Ontario Cancer Institute, Canada |
| Mark Keane | University College Dublin, Ireland |
| Janet Kolodner | |
| | Georgia Institute of Technology, USA |
| David Leake | Indiana University, USA |
| Brian Lees | University of Paisley, Scotland |
| Michel Manago | Kaidara International, Paris, France |
| Ramon López de Mántaras | IIIA-CSIC, Spain |
| Cindy Marling | Ohio University, USA |
| Bruce McLaren | OpenWebs Corp. Pennsylvania, USA |
| David McSherry | University of Ulster, Northern Ireland |
| Erica Melis | University of the Saarland, Germany |
| Alain Mille | Claude Bernard University, France |
| Héctor Muñoz-Avila | University of Maryland, USA |
| Petri Myllymaki | University of Helsinki, Finland |
| Bart Netten | TNO-TPD, The Netherlands |
| Petra Perner | ICVACS, Germany |
| Enric Plaza | IIIA-CSIC, Spain |
| Luigi Portinale | University of Eastern Piedmont, Italy |
| Lisa S. Purvis | Xerox Corporation, NY, USA |
| Francesco Ricci | IRST Povo, Italy |
| Michael M. Richter | University of Kaiserslautern, Germany |
| Edwina Rissland | University of Massachusetts, USA |
| Rainer Schmidt | University of Rostock, Germany |
| Barry Smyth | University College Dublin, Ireland |
| Einoshin Suzuki | Yokohama National University, Japan |
| Rosina Weber | University of Wyoming, USA |
| David C. Wilson | University College Dublin, Ireland |
| | |

Additional Reviewers

Connor Hayes Markus Nick Sascha Schmitt Armin Stahl Pietro Torasso Ivo Vollrath Gabriele Zenobi

Conference Support

ICCBR 2001 was supported by the American Association for Artificial Intelligence (AAAI), AI-CBR, ChangingWorlds, eGain, Empolis, the European Coordinating Committee for Artificial Intelligence (ECAI), Kaidara International, the INRECA Center, the Haley Enterprise, the Machine Learning Network, the Naval Research Laboratory, Simon Fraser University, Stottler Henke Associates Inc. and the University of Auckland.