## Foreword

This volume contains one invited and fifteen submitted papers presented at the Tenth International Conference on Inductive Logic Programming (ILP 2000). The fifteen accepted papers were selected by the program committee from the 37 papers submitted to the conference. Each paper was carefully reviewed by three referees.

ILP 2000 was held at Imperial College, London, 24-27 July 2000 and was integrated with the First International Conference on Computational Logic (CL 2000). With ILP's strong roots in computational logic, this was a natural marriage. CL 2000 was a five-day extravaganza, incorporating both the Sixth International Conference on Rules and Objects in Databases (DOOD 2000) and the Tenth International Workshop on Logic-based Program Synthesis and Transformation (LOPSTR 2000) and featuring eight invited speakers, twelve tutorials, and seven affiliated workshops. Registrants for CL 2000 and ILP 2000 could move freely between the two events, the main distinction between the events being separate conference proceedings.

We wish to thank all the authors who submitted their papers to ILP 2000; the program committee members, and other reviewers who did a thorough job in spite of demanding deadlines; and our invited speaker, David Page. Thanks also to Alfred Hofmann, and everyone else at Springer for their smooth handling of these proceedings. We would also like to thank the organisers of CL 2000, whose cooperation brought the two events together: John Lloyd (Program Chair), Marek Sergot (Conference Chair), Frank Kriwaczek and Francesca Toni (Local Organisers), Femke van Raamsdonk (Publicity Chair) and Sandro Etalle (Workshop Chair). Finally, we are grateful to our sponsors for their financial support.

May 2000

James Cussens & Alan Frisch Program Chairs ILP 2000

## ILP 2000 Program Committee

Henrik Boström (University of Stockholm, Sweden)

Ivan Bratko (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia)

James Cussens (University of York, UK)

Shan-Hwei Nienhuys-Cheng (University of Rotterdam, Netherlands)

William Cohen (Whizbangs Labs, USA)

Luc DeRaedt (University of Freiburg, Germany)

Sašo Džeroski (Jožef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana)

Peter Flach (University of Bristol, UK)

Alan Frisch (University of York, UK)

Koichi Furukawa (University of Keio, Japan)

Roni Khardon (University of Edinburgh, UK)

Jörg-Uwe Kietz (Swiss Life, Switzerland)

Nada Lavrač (Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia)

John Lloyd (Australian National University, Australia)

Stan Matwin (University of Ottawa, Canada)

Raymond Mooney (University of Texas, USA)

Stephen Muggleton (University of York, UK)

David Page (University of Wisconsin, USA)

Bernhard Pfahringer (University of Waikato, New Zealand)

Céline Rouveirol (Université de Paris-Sud, France)

Claude Sammut (University of New South Wales, Australia)

Michèle Sebag (École Polytechnique, France)

Ashwin Srinivasan (University of Oxford, UK)

Prasad Tadepalli (Oregon State University, USA)

Stefan Wrobel (University of Magdeburg, Germany)

Akihiro Yamamoto (University of Hokkaido, Japan)

## Additional Referees

Érick Alphonse (Université de Paris-Sud, France)

Liviu Badea (National Institute for Research and Development in Informatics, Romania)

Damjan Demsar (Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia)

Elisabeth Goncalves (Université de Paris-Sud, France)

Marko Grobelnik (Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia)

Claire Kennedy (University of Bristol, UK)

Daniel Kudenko (University of York, UK)

Johanne Morin (University of Ottawa, Canada)

Tomonobu Ozaki (Keio University, Japan)

Edward Ross (University of Bristol, UK)

Ljupco Todorovski (Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia)

Véronique Ventos (Université de Paris-Sud, France)

## Sponsors of ILP 2000

ILPNet2, The European Network of Excellence in Inductive Logic Programming MLNet, The European Network of Excellence in Machine Learning CompulogNet, The European Network of Excellence in Computational Logic